We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
63
25
6
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
25
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barboutique hotelking suitefree parking and breakfasthot breakfastwalking distance to surfersbreakfast was includedgold coastrestaurants and barsrelaxing stayfirst floorroom servicefantastic hotelpacific fairnerang riverrooms are spaciousdown stairs
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 102 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We have just had our wedding at The Island - the ceremony in the Mountain View Room and the reception in the Ocean View Room, both in The Penthouse and it was the most incredible day.

We fell in love with The Island the day we dropped by unannounced, one Sunday afternoon. Adam, the Operations Manager was on duty and took the time to show us up to the Penthouse and through all the facilities. When it came to planning, Emma, the Wedding Co-ordinator was with us every step of the way. Nothing was too much trouble and the word “absolutely” became her catch phrase.

The day of the wedding came and we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble. Our bridal suite was perfect and the Penthouse looked incredible - its so glamorous and styled up beautifully and our guests drew breath when the room was revealed.

The wait and bar staff were absolutely fantastic – so attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

And then- the food. Wow! What an incredible job the chef and his team did at turning out volume catering at fine dining quality. All of our guests have remarked how delicious and perfectly cooked it all was – not just for a function- but for a top restaurant – and that’s really difficult to do

We danced till the wee hours; no-one wanted to leave and we didn’t want the night to end.

The young team at the Island understand customer service, how to completely personalise a function and how to host an event. They helped us have the most wonderful wedding.

“Best wedding ever”, “What a find The Island is” and “what a place” are just some of the comments we had from our guests.

Keep doing what you are doing team- you made a little bit of magic last week with us and we will remember it forever.And of course- we’ll back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Public Relations Manager at The Island Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joanne, firstly congratulations on your big Day!! We hope it was everything you dreamed of.

We are thrilled to also hear that your guests enjoyed the day and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon at the Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We could not fault this Hotel. The staff were very friendly and our check in was done very quickly. We were upgraded and the suite was fantastic. Our Breakfast was included in our room price and if we wanted a hot breakfast it was only a extra $12. We also did not have too pay for parking. The bed was very comfy and we had a nice view. I would definately recommend this hotel. Just could not fault it in anyway.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 212Jilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Public Relations Manager at The Island Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jilly

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please do drop by again some time soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We stayed here as an extended family group in two rooms. Both of the rooms were roomy, with great views. The beds were the most comfortable hotel room beds we've ever stayed in. The hotel is across the road from Cavill Avenue and also close to the tram stop, for easy access to Pacific Fair, Dreamworld Movie World etc. Our rate included breakfast, which was delicious.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank MayLouise6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Public Relations Manager at The Island Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi MayLouise
Thank you for your glowing review and for staying with us at the Island.
We hope to see you again soon at the Island :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Loved every minute of our stay at The Island from the moment we checked in, to the moment we reluctantly checked out at the end of our stay!

Firstly, the staff are so welcoming and hospitable - allowing us to check in early due to our flight arriving early morning from Sydney. A few days into our stay, they were very helpful when we required an extra bed in the room for another visiting friend, and the cleaning staff were equally as friendly and 'no worries' attitude about it. We had a suite on the 10th floor, with two large beds, a kitchenette, double balcony overlooking Surfer's Paradise and surrounding area, and spacious bathroom. The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished and is very tastefully done.

The hotel is in a great location and central to everything. I had never visited the Gold Coast before, and having the light rail conveniently located in front of the hotel makes it very easy to travel to various areas.

This hotel is a must, and is such excellent value for money. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Public Relations Manager at The Island Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sheds
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on tripadvisor - we're thrilled that we could help make your stay memorable.

Please do stop by and visit us again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

As we were leaving the room we grabbed the do not disturb hanger and put it on the door handle, cleaners were already waiting outside and saw us put it on the door knob, we came back to all our stuff moved around and no hanger on the door, no respect for privacy and was woken up to screaming at about 2AM that lasted about 30 mins, not going to stay here again

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews