We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Valuable Accomdation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valuable Accomdation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Check-in when arrival. Not strictly at 2 pm for check in. Check out at 10 am. Facilities provided such as swimming pool, spa though we did not utilise it. Great Location! Close to Centro and beach. Nice reception. Great for friends trip or family trip. Charged wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    102
    89
    47
    58
See reviews for
74
99
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed in the Islander twice but 10 days apart. The first time I had a room at the front of the hotel. It did get noise from passing traffic, and the feeling of the room was a bit shabby. The second time I stayed I asked for and got a room at the back. This had been more recently refurbished. Both rooms were clean and comfortable. The Islander is good for a short stay as its in a central position, close to Cavill Ave. and shops. I also chose this hotel for its closeness to the bus terminal, located in the street behind the hotel. Tea/coffee making facilities available in each room. Its easy to get a few extra supplies from the supermarket across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Surfers Paradise. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the streets from our balcony. The main shopping streets and beach was all in easy walking distance aswell as the bus stops. We had some noisy neighbours in neighbouring rooms who got a wee bit loud during the nights drinking, partying etc, but we were still able to sleep fine. We would stay here again - as its pretty good value for money :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrownlee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location, though entry to main hotel (there is also a backpacker section with separate entry) is difficult to locate, the rooms are clean and offer kitchenettes though the bathroom and some furnishings are very dated and in need of upgrading! The hotel is very centrally located above a licensed establishment that is open to 5am - so noise from patrons coming and going onto the street tends to be loud ALL NIGHT - even with doors and windows closed on the 6th floor!
If noise through the night isn't a problem and you don't require all modern facilities then this is a value for money hotel!
P.s the fire alarm went off at 6.30am (with a false alarm) and continued until firemen arrived to turn it off - we were up and leaving that day anyway but felt for those that weren't.

Room Tip: Higher floors may help reduce noise factor from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family. We didn't spend much time here, just for sleeping and resting since we had so many places to visit. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. I actually slept at the living room and left the sliding doors open, the cool beach breeze was very calming despite the noises. Not bad, really!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Syahzani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are young, want to party and look for an accomodation which will be cheap but still in the centre of the Gold Coast - The Islander will be a good choice for you.
We spent 3 night there with kids and it was too noisy for us.
Young boys and girls are partying, drinking and shouting all night - terrible!
The rooms are very basic but clean.
The lobby is a disgrace!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with my two children in July. Thought the location was fantastic, if a little noisy. Very clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Great basic accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay again.......just make sure you take ear plugs :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyBilly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Property: Islander Resort Hotel
Address: Islander Resort 3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing