We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poor Service and not really a hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Islander Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islander Resort Hotel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service and not really a hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Not a great place to stay and certainly we am not going back there ever again. Its not a hotel really. I would probably say its a upgraded backpacker's hostel. The rooms requires upgrade immediately. The building is old and I doubt there was any maintenance/refurbishment in there in past 20 years. One of the lifts was "out of service" the whole time (3 days) we were there. The other lift was often congested and packed and it really didn't help since we were located on the 10th floor.

We paid for an ocean view room. Ocean view....yeah right... may be there was ocean view in late 80s. With all the big blocks of apartments/hotels, you can hardly see any view of the ocean.

it may be a fabulous place for backpackers/ young people who are after cheap accommodation. But definitely its not a place to be if you are travelling with family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AR29_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear AR29_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a response about your experience. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I totally agree that having an elevator out of service for 3 days is not acceptable, in fact the elevator was not operational for a total of 7 days in this instance and resulted in a flurry of correspondence to our contractors. I am pleased to advise that the required part was eventually delivered and has been operational since.

The electronic modernisation of our guest elevators was completed in 2006 which has resulted in excellent all year round performance, unfortunately the breakdown that occurred during your stay was genuinely an extraordinary situation. Due to the age of the building, our rooms are constantly being upgraded and our last major soft refurbishment works were completed in 2009. We have currently submitted requests to the owner for bathroom upgrades.

We do not actively promote through any of our own correspondence that we have “ocean view” rooms, being one block back from the beach does give glimpses of ocean but given the density of surrounding buildings this can be very patchy as indicated. I am truly sorry for this communication break down and will double check what collateral we have in the market.

We do appreciate your feedback and apologise for the circumstances surrounding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    101
    89
    47
    58
See reviews for
74
99
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I booked this hotel and was told it included parking. In fact the carpark was full of people who were not staying at the hotel! The staff were all parking in guest spots and somehow a whole pile of people had been given the code to get in. Gee I wonder how that happened. The staff were completely unapologetic - gee I wonder why. The pool was dirty and at 11am had bottle tops and rubbish from the night before on the bottom. A dump all round. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucass_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, General Manager at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Lucas_10,

We apologise for the communication breakdown on our car parking facility and the way that staff has verbalised this with you.

We only promote the availability of limited car parking as we do not have enough allocated car parks for all of our Hotel rooms. After reviewing your feedback, we have also amended the nominated amount of car parks allocated to a car rental company that leases space at the Hotel which often occupies available parking.

We will also be reviewing the allocation of staff parking and thank you for raising the issue with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Islander over New Years and were very disappointed with our stay. Although the location was great every other aspect of the hotel was not up to standard. First when we arrived the receptionist tried to charge us more than the room cost which is just unacceptable. When we finally went up to the room we very even more disappointed..the furniture is very old and stayed, the wood panelling on the walls was coming off and the bathroom was tiny. Also our air conditioning was not working and this was extremely frustrating as it is extremely hot in Gold Coast and air conditioning is a must. It did eventually get fixed however this should not have happened and we did not want to deal with this as it was late at night and we had come from a long trip.
Next the housekeeping wasn't very efficient, we had hung out a 'please service my room' sign three times around 10-11 am, however no one had come to clean the room. We called the reception to ask them to have our room cleaned around 1pm and they informed us that housekeeping had gone home for the day. This is unacceptable.
Also the rooms have VERY thin walls and we could hear everything in the rooms surrounding us, including stuff being dropped on the floor in the room above us, and showers in the rooms next to us, and this is not an exaggeration. We could also hear everything happening on the street including drunk revellers and rubbish trucks, despite being on a high level of the hotel.
The conditions of the hotel may have been acceptable had we been staying in the backpackers, however we were staying in the hotel bit and paid a premium price for our stay. It was definitely not worth the amount of money we paid and will not be staying there again. Overall very disappointing stay, would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank do1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, Director of Sales at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thank you kindly for the effort you have gone to in commenting on your recent stay at the Islander Resort Hotel. We hope you had a great New Years on the Gold Coast.

Your constructive feedback is greatly appreciated as the views and comments of our guests are valuable to us. A copy of your review has been passed onto our management team, to assist us in the further refinement and improvement of all of our facilities and services, especially in the matters of housekeeping and maintenance that you have raised.

I will not elaborate on every comment you have made but do want to point out that we are a 3 star property which adheres to AAA star rating standards. The Islander Resort Hotel is an older style building that is constantly undergoing refurbishments to improve all our rooms and facilities. We have many guests that enjoy our product and hospitality on a daily basis and we are sorry that this did not occur during your stay.

Unfortunately the noise is something we can not control as this is part of the privilege of our central location. We advise future guests that holiday seasons such as New Years are very busy in Surfers Paradise and can result in higher levels of general street noise. We can reassure you though that you can not hear the direct sound or music from any nightclubs or bars.

I thank you once again and for taking the time to document your thoughts and wish you a pleasant New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is in a great location right near Cavill Av. so easy access to the main shops, the beach, etc. The apartment had plenty of room but it was nothing too fancy. We were on a higher level so we did not have any noise from below.

This hotel is great if you are looking for something basic, close to everything and for a good price. Don't be expecting the best, as part of the hotel is actually a hostel so things are simple. But I would stay here again for the price and location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_ange23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, Director of Sales at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Greetings to you the_ange23,

Thank you for your review and pointing out some of the advantages of staying at our property.

We would like to clarify to future travellers that there is in fact a backpackers on site but this is located in a separate building to the hotel and is called Islander Backpackers Resort.

As we are located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Boulevard, this also allows us to have a completely different reception area for the backpackers. Our backpackers is very quiet and we do not allow drinking around the public areas so guests staying at Islander Resort Hotel can be confident that the backpackers will have no impact on their stay.

The_ange23 we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel part of the Islanders, in a room with a queen sized bed and a twin. The queen bed was extremely uncomfortable, you could feel the springs, but the blankets and pillows were good. The bathroom is tiny, old and fills with steam but the showerhead is great. The balcony was nice to sit out on but the railing is a bit sketchy and things could easily slip through it. Overall the room was in desperate need of upgrading, but it was clean and good for two nights. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper! Buffet breakfast not really with it, its quite small with not many options. The location is great, very close to the beach, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, Director of Sales at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Happy New Year Courtaf,

We hope you had a wonderful holiday season on the Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property.

We are a 3 star property accredited by AAA Tourism and abide by these standards.We endeavor to provide clean, tidy and comfortable rooms along with friendly service for our guests.

At this point I would like to advise that some of the hotel rooms have recently undergone a soft refurb including work such as new paint, updated bathrooms and kitchens, new tiles and cupboards. The rest of the hotel will be completed once occupancy allows.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Islander Resort Hotel in the future and if there is anything further you wish to discuss please let us know.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

So my partner and I had to make a brief stop in surfers on our way up the coast! I was looking for something fairy reasonable and close to where I had to be! I used hotels.com and this was one of the cheaper suggestions! I was a bit sceptical at first but booked it anyway it was only 2night and since we were arriving late it really only felt like one! Pleasantly surprised the room was really clean with immaculate white linen on our bed the air-con was working fine and the bathroom although small was perfectly fine and tonnes of hot water and decent pressure ( don't waste water in Queensland ) it was literally a two min walk from the beach and really cool views of the skyscrapers from our balcony. Cheap cheerful and clean all in all a great spot especially if your on a tight budget!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, Director of Sales at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Good Afternoon Tommyoconnor,

It is wonderful to hear that the Islander Resort Hotel was the perfect place for your short stay in Surfers Paradise. As you mention, our rooms are clean, tidy and affordable and we are very lucky to Surfers Paradise beach just at the end of the street.

We appreciate your review and thankyou also for pointing out the importance of conserving water here in Queensland. We trust the rest of your trip up the coast was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here overnight as we had a Christmas party function to attend on the coast... I would never stay in this hotel again. Firstly when we arrived at 4pm we were told that our room was not ready and would not be ready until sometime between 5.30 and 6pm. Check in time stated upon booking was 1pm and if I am paying $150 for a hotel I expect to be able to get into my room at that time. Also we were told that there was no carparking available and that we could park in the public carpark for $2 per hour or to just pay the $36 weekly parking rate. The hotel advertises free undercover parking, one of the reasons why we chose to stay at this hotel.
As for the state of the rooms... the bathroom was so old and dingy we were too scared to have a shower, the room smelt like vomit, the tv aerial had been ripped out of the wall and the mirror was on the wall had dropped out of the frame. As for Airconditioning yes their is an airconditioner in the room, but you have to go to reception to get the key to be able to use it.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koby809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irh, Director of Sales at Islander Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Good Afternoon Koby809,

I would firstly like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the disappointment caused by the matters you have raised.

We are very appreciative of guest feedback and I can assure you that your comments have not gone un-noticed as this is certainly not the standard of service that we pride ourselves on. I will not go into each comment individually however I would like to advise that during the day of your stay our property encountered a highly unusual 90% guest turn around which unfortunately resulted in late check-in.

Regarding the air conditioning, each room key issued has a smaller key attached, specifically for the air-conditioning. We use the key system to conserve power whilst a guest is not in a room and in this instance I believe that your missing key had gone un-noticed by Reception prior to your arrival.

On our website we advertise that we do have limited undercover parking and I apologise if this was not clearly advised by your travel agent or boldy displayed on an on-line booking site.

All of the issues you have raised Koby 809 are clearly unacceptable and please be assured that your comments have been passed on to our General Manager and the appropriate department heads for follow-up.

Once again thankyou for your comments and if you would like to discuss any further please feel free to contact me directly on mail@islander.com.au.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 2,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Resort Hotel

Property: Islander Resort Hotel
Address: Islander Resort 3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Islander Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
Islander Resort Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing