We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where was the Coffee?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Where was the Coffee?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for a week with a large golfing group. Very obliging staff, nice rooms, GREAT beds and as good a breakfast as I have had anywhere in the world. Australia must be the last country on the planet that charges for Wi Fi, sadly, QT is no exception. This is also the only hotel in the world I have stayed at that does not provide complimentary coffe in the kitchenette. All to try and sell you a pod at $1.50 a pop. They also blotted their copybook by trying to sell warm beer at a private function. If not for these 3 issues I would have rated the place 5 stars instead of 4.

Room Tip: Lifts are noisy, ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,334
    832
    267
    83
    61
See reviews for
386
1,077
99
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went here for a work related conference and it was a lot of fun. The whole feel of the motel, from the moment we drove into the driveway was pretty fantastic. I stayed here for 5 days, and I think the only gripe I really had was the initial check in where the girl that checked me in was a bit narky. After that all the other staff I met were awesome, happy and friendly - the bar/cafe/restaurant all served amazingly great looking and tasting food and the spa was freaking amazing, as were the lovely ladies there. I really enjoyed my time here and loved all the little quirks that made it a different and fun place to 'work' for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suse N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the QT last night with my husband and infant in room 502. Was greeted at the front entrance by the funky porters wearing board shorts and beachy t-shirt. I arrived by myself with my baby so it was a welcome relief when they took the luggage.

Parked the car in the hotel car park ($8 per day) and took the lift from the car park into the hotel lobby. Walking into the lobby I was blown away with just how funky it was! Very retro. Big bold colours, a soda stand, funky furniture and beautiful wood flooring.

Check in was a breeze. The young staff member was so very friendly and helpful. He explained to me what my Priority Club membership entitled us to which was appreciated as I'd completely forgotten. He asked how my day was and saw that I had a wrist band on from the Supanova Expo and he asked how it was. We had a little chat and he then wished us a pleasant stay.

The Room was just as funky as the lobby. With a beautiful, soft and UBER comfy king size bed, large cane sitting/reading chair with cushion, huge shower (though I'm not a fan of the "open" shower where it has just a piece of glass and not a door as water tends to go all over the bathroom floor). The tiling in the shower was bold black and white tiles. Floor tiles were non-stick which were great considering the wet floor from the shower.

Dotted throughout the room were quirky additions like; a cockatoo night light, retro metal cups, cocktail stirrers, funky mini bar with games like pick up sticks, deck of cards. Hanging in a material bag were pairs of thongs (flip flops) (to purchase of course), note pad was cool too - black paper with a white pencil!

We ordered room service as our little one was sound asleep. The food arrived pretty quickly too. Absolutely amazing food. Hubby ordered a rib eye on the bone which came with woodfired green beans, cob of corn and shoestring fries. I had ribs which was nice (tiny bit dry though and not served with it's own sauce - was tomato sauce). And the spicy wings too. They were good and hot!!

Next morning we went down for breakfast buffet. WOW. Huge selection of "homemade" goodies. Presentation of the food and the kitchen was lovely too. Real scrambled eggs, homemade rosti, sausages, relish & sauces & condiments, bottles of juices, milks, smoothies. Mmmmmm yummy!

Check out was just as smooth as checkin and the staff were once again delightful and friendly.

Cannot wait to go back to your hotel for the weekend!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as it was a little noisy on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathnjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My partner and I have travelled quite a bit and stayed a number of hotels along the way and I honestly would go as far to say that for the price, this is the best hotel we've stayed in. I can't say enough good things about it; the staff are uber friendly and attentive, even just walking through the hotel they say hello, and absolutely nothing is a problem. We chose the package in the junior suite that included breakfast, dinner on one night and a $50 bar tab and I'm so glad we did, as we got to experience everything. The breakfast and dinner are in the same format where it is much like a market/buffet; the food is of such a high standard. I have food allergies, which is normally a nightmare eating out, but you get to speak to the chefs that cook your food and they can tell you exactly how it was cooked. The beds are really comfortable, the shower pressure is perfect, we had a HUGE bath in our room and the location is superb.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room away from the lifts and the busy bar if you are a light sleeper. Join the loy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Second time here and I must admit it was a much pleasant experience. Reception staff could have been a bit more friendlier. However room was great, bed was comfy. Hotel had a great quirky vibe. Very cool. Great location and bars were very cool

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Amazing is the only word to describe this place.
Service was great, and the beds were even better!
The only downfall was the pool! Was a little bit chilly - but the swim up bar made up for it
Cute little things like homemade lemonade in the rooms... a lot of little touches that make this place great.
The pubby restaurant downstairs is also really nice and has cheap delicious pizzas on Sundays!
Would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_KOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Final hotel for my Honeymoon - choice was between an expensive Hilton or a classy styled QT ! Chose the styled QT andddd my wifeeeee lovedddddddddddd itt!! service , interiors , location , the whole package and the brand in it self. To top that the manager Chris, gave us freebies and we ended our honeymoon with what we rate the best hotel for young couples in Australia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rishabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing