We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If I had to sum my stay up in one word it would be WOW!!! From the moment I walked into the hotel I was greeted with happy staff who were more than happy to assist me with directions and my luggage. The view and the Room are both amazing. The food? I have never tasted such delightful food in my life and the range was amazing. I will be making my stay with QT a regular event. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for making my family weekend escape a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Cliffy A,

Another awesome shout out from our neighbours in Brisvegas. Thanks so much for supporting the hotel.

Yay to our staff! They are doing such an fantastic job. With so many wonderful views on here that are relating to the team members we can be nothing but absolutely delighted in them.

I bet they are really looking forward to having you back. You sound like great fun.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    872
    281
    92
    64
See reviews for
404
1,119
108
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is fabulous! All the staff are very polite, check in is quick and easy and I really love the lemonade. The hotel is beautiful and very modern, with large rooms, comfy beds and beautiful views from the balcony. My partner is in a wheelchair and they were really accommodating, they brought us a shower chair to the room straight away and for a non accessible room it was pretty accessible (they all have a roll in shower!) This also has to be the best breakfast we have had anywhere, loads of choice, all fresh and interesting and great for vegetarians. I love that they have a different juice and smoothie every day. The only negative thing I could say about the whole place was that we did go for dinner at Bazaar but left fairly rapidly as the veggie choices are limited to pizza and salad so not worth $70 per person but the staff were super about it and the room service food we had instead was really good and there's no tray charge. I am sure Bazaar is great for dinner if you do eat meat and seafood, it just wasn't for us. If we go back we wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else, it was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieBeth1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hey CarrieBeth 1986,

You guys look like fun, fun, fun! I am so glad we were able to provide you with the services you needed to make your stay comfy. We always try to make sure everyone has everything they need.

Bazaar does have a fantastic amount of vegetarian options. Loads and loads of salads and the smoothies are amazing ;)

We hope you come and visit us again next time you are in Australia. Hope you have a reallt safe trip back to the UK.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything in this place exudes such a groovy aura! Starting in the lobby with the self serve lemonade to the funky furniture and cool uniforms of the reception staff. Our room was crisp and clean with a really different minibar experience. The decor of the room was in sync with the rest of the hotel and gorgeous bathroom products complemented the style. Staff were courteous and helpful and room service was prompt... Be sure to try their onion ring/chips...yum! Overall a very comfortable stay and great value for your $$.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Sabrina R,

OMG the onion rings in Stingray! I had completely forgotten about them. They are the absolute best. Yum!

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay, and thanks also for the note about the decor. A lot of work went into the hotel so it is always really great to hear that we are hitting the mark.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLDH36D
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a good one night stay in an ocean floor room up on floor 17.

Positives:
- Sensible price, further discount available if you join their rewards program (it's free)
- Stingray bar, good vibe, good drinks and only a short stumble to the elevator
- Bazaar, a unique dining experience, makes sure you ask lots of questions otherwise you will get very confused
- Well stock gym

Negatives:
- Everything in room you have to pay for and I couldn't help feeling attempts were being made to trick you using things, e.g. the plastic bottles of mineral water on the bedside tables (included on minibar price list), postcards left scattered across the desk , nespresso coffee pods.
- Building works outside at the moment

I would definitely stay there again, compared to other Surfers options its great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDH36D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
HI MLD36D,

Thanks for a really comprehensive and even handed review. We are really happy that you got to enjoy the bazaar experience while you were in the hotel. It really is something to behold. So much amazing food, and so fresh.

Thanks also for the note on the price. We think that it is wonderful value for the offering.

We look forward to seeing you when you are next in town.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Aussie
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I spent a couple of nights at QT in February 2013, and really enjoyed it. The rooms were very well appointed and spacious enough. The Japanese restaurant was brilliant, as was the selection for breakfast in the morning (loved the breakfast).

It's not too close to the main Surfers strip, but that is fine.

I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BensAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hey BensAdventures,

Sounds like you have a very fun life, and we love that a Senior Contributor has had such a great time at the hotel and has taken the time to share it with both us and the wider traveller community. It is really awesome!

Yamagen (our Japanese option is a really remarkable restaurant. It is a very authentic experience, right in the heart of the Gold Coast. It is a real pleasure to eat here.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballandean, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently had my third stay at the QT and, as much as I love the decor and the wonderful, friendly staff, I have to say I'm disappointed that we experienced yet another 'glitch' this time.

As part of my birthday celebrations, we booked two ocean view rooms (2 king) online and received our email confirmations for those rooms. Later we booked two more ocean view rooms so some more friends could join us (1 king, 1 queen twin) but we received confirmation of three rooms. We now had five confirmation emails and numbers for four rooms.
On phoning and explaining that we had received three confirmations for two rooms, a polite staff member looked our booking up on the computer, confirmed the error and said she would delete the third booking.All sorted we thought.

Upon my arrival, we went to check-in to the first two rooms, our other friends were arriving later, and were given 1 king and 1 queen twin, both ocean view. When I queried this I was told that it was all they had booked in my name. I assumed our other guests had arrived early and there'd been a mix up...then they arrived! We were told there were only two rooms booked in my name and that the hotel was booked out.

Whilst the duty manager was very polite she seemed reluctant to admit that the hotel had messed up our bookings. It appears that after the telephone conversation about confirmations for three rooms instead of two someone decided that we only needed two rooms in total and cancelled my orignal booking without checking with me first. It was suggested that our friends could stay nearby at the Marriott (almost twice the price) and still join us for dinner. After applying a lot of pressure the duty manager was able to find one queen twin room for the two couples. As they weren't keen to share a room the duty manager said she'd see if she had another cancellation and, if not, offered to pay for their dinner and they could drive back to Brisbane afterwards, which is what they chose to do in the end. When my husband went to pay our bill on checkout he had to enter into some hefty discussions over what we were charged, despite the promises of the night before.

We had a lovely night - cocktails at Stingray, dinner at Bazaar, after dinner drinks at Stingray - but what a shame these guys can't get this bit right. Each time I have stayed at QT there has been some kind of glitch that should never have happened and it appears to always involve reception/billing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi ozyvette,

Oh no! Our first negative review in ages, What a bummer. I am so very sorry that these mix ups happened with your booking. There is absolutely no excuse for it, so all I can say is that we will improve on this, and that it is not a regular occurrence at the hotel.

We would love to take care of you again, and hopefully with a better all round result.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed for one night in this hotel with my husband, daughter and son inlaw, great hotel, fantastic location, rooms are clean and well stocked, bed very comfortable, just how I like it! View was ok, we were only on the forth floor but still a good view of the beach. Hotel was easy to find as it's just off the main drag and check in and parking were fuss free. We walked to a seafood restaurant for dinner and then back to the hotel because it was a beautiful night. In the morning (sunday) we went to breakfast in the hotel restaurant and this is my only gripe, there was more than enough to choose from as the buffet was huge, you could want for nothing....except a plate! we waited between 5 and 10 minutes for the plates to come out of the washer, the staff were very apologetic and eventually we were fed, apart from this glitch, I'd highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip_stjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hey phillip_stjames,

All the way from the UK! Too fun! And you loved it. Even more fun.

Thanks for all the wonderful notes on the service and dining options at the hotel. I am so sorry that you had to wait for plates! We must have been having an extra special busy night. I know we are regularly booked out in Bazaar and we must have had a lot of people using a lot of plates that night.

It really is an awesome location. Five minutes walk into Surfers Paradise, and just far away enough that you are off the main drag.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Aus.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing