We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the funkiest hotel on the Coast”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms are lovely and the views spectacular but clearly the best part about QT is the very retro cool renovation that has created the funkiest ground floor of any hotel on the Coast. I liked the little unusual touches - instead of standard white paper and pens in the room they left black paper and a white pencil and some interesting things in the mini bar. great to see some thought and innovation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satrinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,724)
There are newer reviews for QT Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,091 - 2,097 of 2,724 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

A big surprise - refurbished hotel now with very quirky & stylish rooms/general areas. The staff in all areas could not have been more friendly & helpful. Its a great couples & family place - kids are looked after but not in your face - ill be back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukey_j2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Don't pass on the QT Gold Coast on your next holiday, especially with such attractive rates. We have just returned from a mediocre holiday due to an ex tropical cyclone and thank goodness we had a fantastic place to hang out as the beaches were closed.

My partner and I stayed in a King Suite, on the 18th floor for four nights. Our reservation was made direct with the property which generously included breakfast daily and two dinners at Bazaar. The reservation was handled professionally and confirmation was sent immediately. The room is spacious, nicely decorated with comfy beds and a huge bathroom with rain shower and a separate deep tub with amazing views of the skyline.

The staff at the hotel are young, engaging and very friendly and helpful - from housekeeping, to Concierge, to the team at Bazaar. I must say we were a little disappointed with the check in process - not as switched on and as thorough as they should be for this standard of hotel. No explanation about breakfast, location of lifts, help with baggage etc etc. I was also advised that a security deposit of $100 would be held against my credit card. The next day i noticed a hold of around $695 on my card - half of the total stay amount - and upon enquiring about this, I was given a very sketchy explanation. Not really a big issue however hotels need to remember that travellers don't have limitless lines of credit that when held without notice, can leave one out of pocket. Who knows it could've been a new staff member?

Food and beverage is excellent. We ate at Yamagen, Bazaar and even used room service a few times. Good value for money and excellent serving sizes. Housekeeping were great, calling our room to enquire if we would like our towels and toiletries refreshed as we had the DND sign up. Little things like this just made the stay.

A special thanks to whoever organised our complimentary bottle of Proseco and Macaroons when we arrived in honour of our anniversary. Great attention to detail.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved the place. Loved the feel of it and it gave a fun atmosphere. Wasn't too far from the main strip and received really friendly service. Would definitely stay there again. Very clean and the rooms where really great and funky.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank channy_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked for a week here after reading great reviews, but we have to admit we were disappointed. The hotel itself, and our room, were great - funky, bright and clean, but we often didn't have our toiletries re-stocked each day and were surprised to have to pay for the coffee in our room.

On arrival, we were given a voucher for a drink in the Stingray bar, only to found that it was for precisely that - ONE free drink per couple!

For most of our stay, we had very noisy neighbours who often had a room full of people and played their music loudly. In all, we had to contact the reception several times to ask them to resolve the issue, but this seemed to be done in a very half-hearted way; in the end, we just put up with it.

We visited the Stingray bar most evenings before heading out in to Surfer's, but on one evening we were refused admission as my husband was wearing shorts - although they were smart, dress shorts, and much smarter than those wearing jeans in the bar! Obviously, as paying guests, we found this rather insulting so didn't bother visiting the bar for the remainder of our stay.

The pool area was in need of a good clean, as were the changing rooms, throughout our stay.

So, yes, it's a colourful, 'fun' looking hotel, but it does need to show a little more appreciation to its guests who are paying above average to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had such a fabulous five night stay. The room was amazing, views amazing, staff well dressed, polite and professional. We loved the decor in this hotel. The pool was fabulous especially for my toddler and bed really comfy. Especially being 8 months pregnant I couldn't be more comfortable. After walking in the heat to the nearest attractions we always came back into the foyer and had a very refreshing complimentary homemade lemonade!! The lady who was on the majority of the time from 8th January made it perfectly!!!! Everything was ideal about our stay. I couldn't fault this hotel in any way. Will definately return and tell all of our friends.

Room Tip: We became a QT member and got a great rate, fabulous ocean view room, complimentary drink on arrival...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

As a coast local I don't often stay in hotels here but I was lucky enough to experience QT last night with an interstate friend. Such a great atmosphere for a girls night! We enjoyed cocktails at Stingray and dinner at Bazaar. We loved the lemonade stand in the foyer and the mini bar selection in our room was adorable! Such cute ideas with the lollies and mini spirit selection. I agree with other reviews that if you look close enough this hotel is a case of mutton dressed up as lamb. You can tell its an old hotel. Having said that though I think they have done a fabulous job refurbishing it and just love the atmosphere - from the staff uniforms, moped props to the overall colourful decor. It has a funky retro beach hotel kind of feel going on and I love it. Not only is it fun to look around but the amenities are top notch. The bed was comfy, the tv was bigger than I've come to expect from hotels, the bathroom was renovated well with lots of space. I also enjoyed the fact that you could purchase pretty much everything you saw if you wanted to recreate some of the look of the hotel back at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends coming to visit in the future!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $138 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing