We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Satisfactory hotel, excellent service from staff. My room was on the 19th floor and outdated. Needs an upgrade from mattresses to bathtub and sink. Great facilities in hotel and you are in walking distance to beach, restaurants and shops. Car park is a busy place as it is part of the shopping centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    609
    319
    111
    87
See reviews for
448
529
95
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan.

The location is fantastic & we received a free upgrade to a recently refurbished Ocean Deluxe Room on the 33rd floor, the views were stunning. Everything was just perfect!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel as it's so close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear SteveMHerts,

Reading your kind review has really made my day!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise. I am so glad you enjoyed the stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for a weekend away. Rooms are old, but clean. Check in staff very helpful. couldn't check in until 2pm, but could leave baggage and they took it to our room while we were out.
Room service got our order wrong twice!
Location is perfect for bars, shops, beach.
We stayed in a basic twin room but had a great view of the ocean from the balcony.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear RebeccaS,

Thank you for this review of your recent visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you as well for your nice comments about our helpful staff.

I was disappointed to read that your order from room service was incorrect twice. I have passed on this information to our Food and Beverage Manager so that she may ensure our team is taking careful note of all orders.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

nice great hotel with great location. but the room is so so and also abit old.
got a big bed in the room 2 queen size at the time so when you order twin that kind you will get.
easy way to go anywhere near surfer paradise. and also any crowd place. nice staff and very friendly and helpfull. you can go to the right side and find a hard rock surfer paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oline_widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Oline_widi,

Thank you for this lovely review of your recent visit to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great that you liked the location so much, and that it was so convenient for you.

I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago and even though the room was outdated, everything was very clean, the hotel facilities are terrific with the pool, spa, tennis courts and gym. The position is second to none as it is located in the heart of surfers and right near the shopping complex so you feel quite safe even when venturing out at night as there is always plenty of people around and also the beach is a stone throw away! The views from the balcony... beautiful. We are actually staying here again at the moment again as I found a good deal and the room is spectacular, all newly refurbished with even better views of the ocean!!....and I paid less! The only 'weird ' thing is that the bathroom has a clear window so if you're sitting in the bedroom you can see through to the bathroom which for some reason we found quite hysterical! I'm staying with my daughter so its all cool. The staff are SO warm, friendly and helpful, in particular the concierge, as nothing is too much trouble. For a prime location, great facilities with excellent service I would indeed recommend staying here again:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonsynTianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCSP-Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear DonsynTianz,

Thank you for you great review of your stay with the Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise.
I was so pleased to read that you liked your stay so much that you have returned again so soon! It is great that you were able to find a deal this time. January is usually one of the busiest months and this can of course cause the price to rise a bit.

I was laughing out loud as I read your description of the window we have added to the bathroom of the renovated rooms. There is a blind which can be lowered if privacy is needed, and if not then you can enjoy the gorgeous views while brushing your teeth!

Thank you again for your review and for the very kind words about our facilities, and staff. I will be sure to pass this on to the team. We look forward to your next visit again soon.

Best regards,

Peter Yared
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed just the one night whilst heading to Brisbane.
Stayed in a deluxe two room suite.
Room was very clean, great views from the 35 th floor.
Bathroom was a little on the small side.
Be warned Mums and Dad's, even though the description is two rooms, there are no doors on either bedroom!
Excellent location, right in the heart of Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12821Kingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was interested to see what this hotel would be like given some of the reviews - it was great. I was on the sixth floor. The bathroom was a little dated but very clean. Other reviews have noted the fridge next to the sink. This is in a separate area to the toilet and bath/shower. I didn't see this as a problem. The room itself was huge with a terrace. Again very clean and whilst not the most modern furniture it didn't seem that dated either. There was a flat screen tv - a little on the small side but ok. The best thing about the hotel was its staff, particularly the concierge. Could not have been more helpful with storage of luggage and very friendly which made you feel like a valued customer. The location of the hotel is excellent in the centre of surfers paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darnley2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Boulevard and Hanlan Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise is situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise surrounded by pristine beaches, iconic theme parks and an energetic nightlife. Conveniently located just a 150 metre walk to the beach, the hotel offers an extensive range of state of the art leisure facilities for guest’s enjoyment. Relax by the swimming pool and spa, or get active in the well-equipped fitness centre and full size tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing