We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no wifi in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

What made me choose this hotel is because of its location. Superb location, just beside the bustop where buses go almost everywhere and also walking distance to the beach and the heart of surfers paradise where there is practically everything. We got rm 1811 with awesome unblocked view of the Nerang River n the rest of the Gold Coast. You can also catch the sunrise and sunset too. Room doesnt look too brand new but its ok. They also provide iphone dock in the room. Toilet is okay. Aircon and shower hearer works really good.

Downside of the hotel is there is no wifi in the room. Can only get it in lobby for only half an hour for every 24 hours. Or you could use the computer at the lobby for aud$2 every 15 mins (expensive) but do take note the desktop works slow. For a great hotel with at least 4 stars, they gotta work on getting wifi in the room coz without it, im not really sure if i will go back to Vibe the next time im there. Even the Macdonalds has free wifi all day round.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mimie_amellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear dolche-chicqa,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and the room.

We also appreciate your comment regarding our WIFI service and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. However, we are looking into making some changes to our WIFI service in future so that our guests can have more free WIFI in all areas of the hotel.

Should you wish to further discuss your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,760 - 2,766 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have just stayed for 4 nights with a friend at the Vibe Hotel in Surfers which I can highly recommend. It is very conveniently located and offers great value at the price.

The hotel's customer service was a pleasure too which in my opinion makes all the difference to one's experience.

I loved the fact the lift which services 22 floors was so fast and efficient. This is often a problem in larger hotels. We never had to wait more than a minute for a lift to arrive.

The breakfast buffet was amazing at $12.50 pre-booked. It is highly recommended.

The price for an Internet connection like most Australian hotels is ludicrously expensive. One does get 30 minutes free wireless time per day if you sit in the hotel lobby but I was never able to get this to work. I guess I could have asked reception to assist but I chose not to.

One of us did try and use the spa and could not seem to get it to work although I did see others use it at various times.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a very busy road so I would advise requesting a room as high up as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear MarcusOnTheMoon,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome stay with us and will be highly recommending Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My partner and I saw a special on for a monday night for a free upgrade and 2 drink cards. The location was awesome and the view good to, would definately stay there again. Thanks to Ben White for sorting us out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PXR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear PXP87,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

I have passed your comments to Ben and he was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the special and had a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back and please feel free to contact us directly with any future reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only for the night when visiting Surfers. Very close to the beach and the shops. 5min walk from the main bus station. Nice room although was facing the road so was quite noisy. Balcony was a bonus.
Shame that I had to duck when using the shower as it was very short - am only 5'8''
Good choice for breakfast!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lizzie_R_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Lizzie_R_16,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

It is good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the room and the breakfast.

I also appreciate your comment regarding the shower and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and please feel free to contact us directly for any future reservation.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Partner and I stayed for a long weekend and purchased a suite on one of the top floor, room was very large, comfortable and clean. Check in was easy and friendly and the hotel is only a short walk from the beach and all amenities.
Overall I cannot fault the hotel and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Rohcub,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

I have passed on your comments to our team and they were very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vibe so please feel free to call us directly next time you travel to Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I honestly can not think of anything that could have been improved on. We came late January, early February and stayed for a week. Our flight landed early, which meant that we arrived at the hotel before check in was available at the room we had paid for, so the wonderful lady at reception, who noticed how tired we looked, upgraded us for free to a room which was available! And wow, the view was incredible!! The breakfast buffet is a must, it is reasonably priced and the scrambled eggs are to die for! The customer service is amazing. The room service food is prompt and delicious. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, so you can easily get around to the theme parks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear nicpud,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay.

Our team are delighted to hear that you have a great stay with us and highly scored our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and ask you contact us directly for any future reservations.


Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Room:
Got a room on the 7th level, with a balcony facing the river. Room is clean. Fresh towels everyday. Sufficient room space for a couple. Cleaners would not clear the unwanted food left on the table unless you discard it into the bin. Also, they will only change towels if you place them in the bathtub.

Service:
Staffs are friendly and helpful. I would say majority Australians are very friendly and courteous.
You can buy tickets for airport transfer / to theme parks at the reception, with no extra charges.

Location:
Tickets for Airport transfer (Con-X-ion) can be bought at the airport. Board the bus from the airport, stop at Vibe hotel (Aud$49 per person). It takes about 1.5hrs. Very convenient and safe. Same pickup point & rate back to the airport.
Vibe hotel is around 15min walk to surfers paradise beach. On the way to the beach, there are supermarkets (Coles/ Woolworth), retail shops, money exchanger, & restaurants in the area. McDonald is just opposite the beach. Walkable to skypoint observation deck too.

Since cabs are rather expensive, we rented a car nearby. (Can ask the receptionist for directions. It's about 10mins walk) Rented a Hyundai i20 for Aud$115 for 2days. Hotel parking is Aud$8 per day.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jayjaykoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Jade_kuok,

Thank you for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.
I’m glad to hear that you were happy with our service, your room and our location.

I will also pass on your appreciation and other feedback to our team regarding your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Vibe Hotel so please don't hesitate to contact either myself or the hotel for you next booking on 07 5539 0444.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $97 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing