We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & not expensive - if that's what you are looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is located very close to Cavill Ave and all the action of Surfer's Paradise. That's about it really. It was not expensive and so expectations were not high. That said, it was quite loud (we were in an ocean facing room) and the bathroom was in average condition (mouldy walls, cracked tiles etc) however it was clean. Due to an emergency back home we had to change flights and so requested an extra hour for check out which was flatly refused - I guess they must get it all the time, but the request was poorly handled and it left a bad taste and a desire to never return. There are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitkatwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear kitkatwalk,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I will address your concerns with the Housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you for providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly on 07 5539 0444.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,833 - 2,839 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at the Vibe in late January.
On arrival we arrived at 10am due to really early flights that day. We went to the hotel to ask if we could leave our luggage there to checkin time, though the desk clerk did one better and upgraded us to a better room that was available immediately so we could check in straight away.
The Vibe does not look like the newest of buildings, but we can't knock the room or facilities - all were clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Andrew L,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. As we enjoy hearing great news of our hotel.
I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and facilities along with quick efficient service when you checked-in, plus the added upgrade!

We look forward to seeing you again at Vibe Gold Coast

Kind Regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just across the road is Cavill Ave with many shops and restaurants. The beach is also just down the road. 

If you are a light sleeper, don't get the room facing the main road as you can hear the traffic quite loudly. In saying that, I don't know how much better the river view rooms were since I didn't stay in them. 

The room was comfortable enough as long as you are not expecting too much. The shampoo and conditioner bottles were half empty when we first arrived but the next day, house keeping gave us extra bottles so that was alright. Our king bed was actually made up of 2 single beds joined together. The room was spacious. There were not many electrical sockets around. I couldn't find any easily accessible ones near the bed. 

The service ranged depending on who you got. The first hotel receptionist just stared at me when I first went to check in. There was no greeting at all. He spoke politely enough I guess. The guy who spoke to when I checked out was much friendlier and warmer. 

Carpark is $8 per night. Just be aware that you may get double parked as the carpark is very small. The hotel staff will move any cars that are double parking other cars but it can be troublesome. 

If you are just looking for a hotel in a good location and you don't need anything fancy, I would recommend the Vibe Hotel. 

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear C A,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In regards to the issues you have pointed out. I have taken on board your comments about the service, mini bar and housekeeping, and have shared the feedback with each of the departments to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you for providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. I would like to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast when you are next in Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Vibe was central and came recommended, so my partner and I decided to stay here for 4 nights during a visit to the Gold Coast.

The staff were very friendly, but we were unimpressed with the room. The decor was dated, some of the furniture was mouldy, and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

A pool was advertised but we found it to be very small and crowded, so didn't end up using it at all.

I feel this hotel is overpriced for what it is, and won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Matt A,

I would like to thank you for providing this feedback, as it's always nice to read how wonderful the Front Desk staff are.

If you would like to discuss the rooms in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

We would like to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast when you are next in Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Vibe is what you would expect from you average hotel and is priced accordingly, it is nothing too fancy and although the rooms are clean they need some attention to detail and the hotel is quite old..The staff were just awesome on check in but a real let down on check out when they tried to overcharge me, overall a pleasant trip and i love the gold coast so hardly spend any time in the room, this place offers good value and is in a GREAT location near to the main bus stop and a short walk to everything!

Room Tip: high level room with a lake view as it is quieter and much nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you Nick255103 for your recent feedback on trip advisor, we at the Vibe Gold Coast regard any feedback as good feedback because if we don’t know how our guest experience was during their stay we cannot improve.

It is also great to hear that our staff were helpful and that the hotel offers good value and is in a great location, close to everything one needs when holidaying on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was reasonable quiet considering location, rooms were clean and we had plenty of room.

The bed gave us a good nights sleep, and the breakfast buffet was very good for the price.
Parking onsite was only $8.00 per day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you just_brisbane for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing great news.

I'm very glad you enjoyed your bed and the great parking prices!

Kind regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights for a business trip. My room was very modern with a lovely view on a high floor overlooking the river. The room was spotless, King size bed very comfortable and shower excellent. My compliments also to the chef - I had room service meals several times - both from the healthy and the standard menu. The food was top notch with a great wine selection. The location was fantastic close to shops and the esplanade. I was so impressed I have already booked again for my next work trip in a few weeks.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the river was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear finsavvy,

The team at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you would stay with us again on your next visit, please feel free to book with us directly next time you travel to Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $88 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing