We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place to Stay on the GC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay on the GC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had an excellent few days at the outrigger, from arrival we were very happy, the staff were welcoming & always willing to help, got complimentary late check out although it was only for an extra hour till 11. The room itself was spacious, comfortable beds & furniture and a clean bathroom, it seemed to be recently refurbished. I did find a problem with the bad water pressure & shower head which sprayed in every direction, & also that there seemed to be a lot of noise, given it was a Saturday night, we could clearly hear the doors banging & people yelling from the street, but it was not an issue on Sunday night.
The location is fantastic, short walk from all main attractions, as well as tram station & bus stops.
Managed to get a good deal from wotif, offered free upgrade to an ocean view room which I couldn't find anywhere else. Ended up on the 17th floor, although it would've been nice to be in a south facing room overlooking the city, still had amazing views & was fun watching the slingshot & vomitron just across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    746
    357
    129
    84
See reviews for
450
646
99
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

A friend and myself stayed for 1 night a few weeks ago. From our brief stay we rather liked the Outrigger. The staff were helpful, even letting us check in early, the room service was very nice. The only disappointing moment was when housekeeping arrived at our room at 9 a.m. when checkout was at 10 a.m. They waited outside our door urging us to leave earlier then we had planned. The Outrigger was worth the price we paid, there were a few parties in the rooms around us but we expected as much from the Gold Coast on a Saturday night.

Room Tip: The North facing rooms had quite a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azhurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise hotel for 3 nights and had a very good experience! The reception is open 24 hours so when we arrived at 2am, there was no hassle checking in.
The hotel is in the middle of Surfers Paradise, so you can literally walk to anywhere.
Sheets, bathroom, and the room in general was clean. Beds are comfortable. Our room was bigger than I expected. It had a balcony with a breakfast table and a view of the ocean.
The staff were friendly and always smiling.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spreekitik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. This is a fantastic place to stay. The room was really spacious and I loved the walk in dressing room we kept all the luggage in there and the room stayed tidy and organised.

Room Tip: We chose a room with two televisions so the kids could relax away from us in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in July 2014, the last Saturday of the school holidays and had booked last minute so was expecting it to be busy. We were in one of the older rooms, which had not been refurbished and it showed. The bathroom was poorly designed and when you had a shower most of the bathroom floor got soaked and was quite slippy, there was also no bath. We only paid $155 for the night so not expecting the Ritz.

We traveled with kids and ended up next to a room full of lads who were there for a night out on the town and as a result very little sleep was had, however the hotel security did ask them to be quite at 4:30am, after 30 minutes of excessive noise, they did quieten down, but the room was interconnecting so the noise buffering was not great and we were still kept awake. You would think that they could have a booking system where families were all located on 1 floor and singles, etc are on a separate floor.

The front office staff were fantastic and very friendly and the service excellent. The location was good, very handy for the theme parks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mena,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise, and I am sorry that you experienced noise problems with the room next door to yours. Unfortunately it is difficult to know which guests may be noisy. We do occasionally also receive comments from other Guests when we have families with kids next door, so it is a situation which we try to manage. However I understand your concern, and should you choose to stay with us again please let me or reservations know that you would like to ensure a quiet room and we will do our very best to accommodate you to make sure that you have a peaceful stay. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments on our front office staff and our service, they are much appreciated , and I will share them with the staff.
Again my apologies.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stay at the Outrigger - this time we stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday and have some winter sun. The reason why we come back is that the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are always clean, beds comfy and rooms have great views over the ocean.
This time around we were a little disappointed to find out on arrival that the hotel was undergoing major air conditioning change over and that we would have limited fan/heat (no cooling) operating for the entire duration of our stay - I had booked directly with the hotel (in advance) and nothing was said at the time of my booking. We had a few times where there was no air at all (fan/heat or cool) and then a capacitor in our room unit blew up, which put an electrical burning smell through our room. Luckily the air con contractors were on site at the time.
Another disappointment was the lighting in the rooms - I know some people might like 'mood' lighting, but our loungeroom area only had a small floor lamp and even smaller table lamp which made it almost impossible to read or see anything at night. We were given another floor lamp to increase the lightning - slightly - but it was still quiet dull at night. Perhaps the hotel could add some wall lights into their rooms to increase the lighthing for those of us who like it a bit brighter.
On the positive side, the hotel management (Katie) and staff were very accommodating and did attend to our issues quite quickly. We were given free breakfast on one day and late checkout.
Although this hotel is a favourite for us, we may rethink staying at the Outrigger next time we visit Surfers.

Room Tip: Rooms on southern side have great ocean views and look over towards Cavill Avenue and out to the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This isn't the best hotel in surfers but for $130-$150 a night it's a good deal for the price. I've stayed here twice now - the first time on new years eve & the second last weekend and will stay again when on a budget. The rooms are spacious enough, the beds comfortable & the hotel is in a good location. Haven't eaten at the restaurant but just around the corner the Clock Hotel has really good pub food at good prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliAnneMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish décor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the à la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing