We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$320
$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$146
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$194
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$112
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$116
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$105
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$504
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,349)
Filter reviews
3,349 results
Traveler rating
996
1,336
643
220
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
996
1,336
643
220
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe gold coastroom servicebuffet breakfastocean viewpool areaper daygreat place to staywould stay againtram stopcavill avenueoutriggerbalconysurfersconciergeconferenceaustralia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,858 - 2,863 of 3,349 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We recently stayed at the outrigger. We had stayed here in the past but a few years ago.
The hotel is in a great location with great views of the surfers paradise beaches however this is about the only positive.
The front of house staff were slow and kept us waiting for quite a while on check in.
Our room was nice,great views,tiny balcony and no mini bar!!
The bed was like a piece of concrete the hardest hotel bed I have ever slept in.
We ordered room service after being out all night... A toasted sandwich with chips... On arrival it was the most disgusting room service... Basically an onion sandwich with a bag of crisps thrown on the top!!! We complained the next morning and after a long heated discussion with the front desk did not have to pay for this.
Food at this hotel is very ordinary breakfast was not much better.
My advice if you stay here is to definately have breakfast at one of the cafés around the corner.
We will definately NOT return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Hardysontour,


I was extremely disappointed to read your review, especially as we are undertaking refurbishments etc, with room painting, corridor recarpeting and painting, pool area upgrades etc. We have replaced mattresses and bases in approx. 90% of rooms, but not all as yet. Could you please email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au with the room number so I can address immediately.

I hope you do return to the hotel and give us a second chance, as you said you stayed with us in the past and this would then allow us to show you the Outrigger hospitality that you have experienced.

I really appreciate the time taken to provide reviews, and I can assure you we use these to improve.

Kind regards and I sincerely look forward to a future visit and also your reply on room number.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Truly an experience to give a miss. Customer care and service is lacking, rooms are tired and bedding not fresh. Located next to a noisey theme park. Having plates scraped at the table by untrained staff was deplorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neathgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Neathgran

Apologies that your stay was less than acceptable and be assured we are working on the hotel upgrade, with guest floor corridors currently being recarpeted and painted. Guests rooms repainted with some 176 completed this far and approx. 10 -12 per week being completed. The pool area is being upgrades with all pool area tiling etc to be finalized by the end of May and planters and walls being quoted on at present.

This is the first complaint we have had re the rides park 2 blocks over, and assume this noise would have been from the guests on the slingshot etc.

Your comments on the plates being scraped are acknowledged and have been addressed with the restaurant manager, supervisors and the new staff member we have had and this will not happen again.

Kind regards and many thanks for the comments which are and will be used to improve the hotel and service provided.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

First impression, it stank. On a closer look, nothing had been cleaned. The bathroom was mouldy with a layer of scum in the sink, the vanity hadn't been wiped, mouldy roof, marks on the bedsheets, handprints on the headboards, curtains and walls had something splattered across them, and opened the draw to get a cup and cockroaches came out. Attempt at a refurb is poor with a cheap coat of paint suppose to look new but cracking and peeling off the walls. Don't be tricked by the pretty foyer. Would have been cleaner staying at a backpackers.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms first. We prepaid so didn't have options.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaileyM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear HaileyM85,

My sincerest apologies for the issues you faced and this is not the normal standard or acceptable. I would sincerely appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can identify the room and inspect personally.

We are undertaking a repaint of guest rooms and I can assure you it is not a cheap process and as such would like to inspect this particular room. I can also guarantee that we undertake a regimented program of pest control with Elders, particularly as we have the fly in cockroach (as we advise on the stickers on the balcony doors) and again need to check this room.

I look forward to your email and again sincerest apologies and sincerely hope you will stay with us again to see this is not the normal standard.

Sincerely

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed 2 nights. Centre city.clean tidy.classy hotel.. lst night.8th floor.sun streamed in and so did the noise. Theme rides till late , traffic ,construction and Jack hammers.upgraded for 2nd night paying another $90.pushing to get on other side.to be told room allocation couldn't be made till later. Left bags in lobby. Came back late in day to check into new room to be told. U guessed it. Same side.19th floor. Less noise they reckoned. Nope...not at all. Worse if anything.was given voucher for buy 1 get 1 free breakfast . Not exactly same as what I paid to upgrade.but that was all they could do. Oh and said sorry.apart from that all good..wouldn't stay again in case it happened again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank waves2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Waves2u,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay. Apologies re the noise and assume, unfortunately that this relates to the Light Rail Construction. We have been advised that all light rail construction around the hotel will be finished in less than 3 weeks, with night works due to finish very shortly. This project has had significant impact on all businesses in Surfers Paradise for 2 years and we cannot wait for it to finish.

I appreciate your comments about clean and classy and with our current upgrade projects (corridor painting and carpeting, room painting) and pool retiling, as well as further improvements to rooms and public areas.

We hope to have you stay with us again as after may all construction will be finished and the light rail operations.

Kind regards and many thanks for the valued feedback which is used with our teams .

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We got a deal through booking.com at $135/night and were overall impressed with stay. We were given a twin room with an ocean view at around the 14-18th level (can't remember exactly!) which was amazing. Although it was a little disappointing that we only had a side view of the ocean from the balcony, we thought that the price we paid was fair enough. The hotel rooms look a little bit dated but at least the front desk looked newly renovated; and staff were friendly and warm. Would definitely return again to escape from the hustle and bustle of Brisbane city and to look forward to waking up to sounds of the ocean waves beneath us. All in all, wonderful experience!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chenny063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Chenny063

It was great to read we contributed to a break from the hustle and bustle of Brisbane. The tem at the hotel are really focussed on providing friendly and helpful service.

I appreciate the views are all from the balcony, due to the position of the hotel, but know how spectacular they can be. One block from the beach and central Surfers. We are working on the rooms at present with 176 having been painted and completing approx. 10 -15 per week, all rooms have had light upgrades and sheer curtains replaced and we have an interior designer currently working on further refurbishment plans.

We look forward to your next break from Brisbane.

Kind regards and thanks for the great feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews