We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Breakers(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$196
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$136
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$255
$139
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
$105
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$307
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$182
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$133
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$258
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Q1 Resort and Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$162
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveler rating
1,015
1,356
648
224
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
1,356
648
224
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe gold coastroom servicebuffet breakfastocean viewpool areaper daygreat place to staywould stay againtram stopcavill avenueoutriggerbalconysurfersconciergeconferenceaustralia
Filter
Updating list...
2,945 - 2,950 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've stayed a number of times at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise when it was a Holiday Inn property, and spent another 3 nights there in January. The rooms are looking a little more worn than in the past but still comfortable. Housekeeping is interesting - they took less than 90 seconds to "service" our room one day. Bed was left half tucked in, towels were changed and that was that. No wiping of bench tops or vacuuming of the floor. The staff were all friendly. The biggest disappointment was the pool area which has been left to slowly fall apart without any physical maintenance. The approach to the area (oddly through a side door in the building) features an old garden area with large cracks in the concrete surrounds, and the 2 pools both have multiple tiles missing from the bottom. Sad to see because this used to be a very tidy little hotel. The other letdown is the empty shopping mall that you walk through to get to Surfers Paradise. It's been a white elephant since the day it was built but is 99% empty these days - really depressing to walk through (and in no way the hotels fault). Having 2nd thoughts about returning, even though the rates are always good.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Both the northerly and southerly aspects have good views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Lowball,

Sincerest thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am extremely disappointed to read your comments on housekeeping as the staff are allocated 15 minutes for a daily service and 30 minutes for a check out clean and more time if the room requires.

The pool area is undergoing a significant change with all pool furniture being replaced by 3rd week of February, all pool pergola covers have been replaced, 10 large pool umbrellas installed and by the 2nd week of May all pools will have had all the missing internal tiles replaced, resealed and re-grouted. The pool surround tiling was reseated and re-grouted before Christmas

We could not agree more about the shopping center and really hopeful the representatives of the new owners will take action to have the center fully tenanted in the coming months.

I certainly hope you stay with us again to see the changes in the pool area, painting of rooms (95 completed so far) and corridors and other works being planned with the body corporate

Kind regards and sincere thanks for the constructive feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Outrigger. We booked 7 nights through Webjet at an affordable rate and were really pleased with the quality of the room, the location of the hotels, and the view from our floor (though the orientation of the hotel is such that you'd struggle not to get a good view).

We had an easy walk to everything we wanted in Surfers including the beach, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, and the bus to the themeparks and down the coast.

The balcony felt very private with excellent sunset views (we faced south down the coast) to sip a G&T over before heading out to dinner.

The pool was expansive and significantly warmer than the ocean but, while there was a pool bar, we couldn't figure out when it operated.

All things considered we were rapt with our stay and would go back to the Outrigger in a jiffy.

Room Tip: Our room was a south facing ocean view room. We got to overlook all the amazing new buildings of Surfers, right down the coast. I think this view was premium to the north facing rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear AndrewP,

Your feedback is welcomed and we are really happy you had such a great stay. I will address the pool bar hours at the pool area and not just in our compendium. This is very valuable feedback for us.

The vast majority of our rooms have great views of the ocean from the balcony and it is just at night that you either have the views over central Surfers or over the Slingshot entertainment area. Location is a real positive for us, in general one or two blocks to most entertainment options in central Surfers Paradise.

We look forward to your next break away from Melbourne, and being originally from Melbourne, great to get away during those really hot ot cold periods.

Kind regards and again many thanks for the great feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed here one night, room was clean.
Pool area was very nice but hard to enjoy with 10 plus young guys/drinking and throwing a ball around and having to constantly watch out you weren't hit with the ball, so couldn't swim or relax and people with children had to move there kids to smaller pool so not hit or subjected to there language.
Young Lady at the bar was very helpful and very happy and made the place.!
Was very annoyed as had a late checkout thru the agency I booked thru and at 9.20 a cleaner charged into the room while I was half naked and partner in the shower , she just just slammed the door closed. I left a note of this with my checkout envelope and I received no apology or acknowledgment.
Parking has to be paid for and you have to use a separate lift that there's only one of and takes a long time once you get this down you enter the foyer and then have anther set of elevators to the room which were
very quick and a large size.
Was a bit disappointing but a clean well kept place. I think it's more suited to the under 25's for partying and drinking at the bar by the pool as wasn't relaxing

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jetski1200r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Jetski1200r,

Manay many thanks for your feedback and apologies for the behaviour of the young men in the pool When you stay with us again, if anything similar occurred, please let our staff know and we will immediately address as we want ALL guests to enjoy their stay with us. I will alo pass on your comments to Ari who is one of our relly great team.

If you could email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au your room number and date of stay and I will personally address the room attendant coming into your room as they are all aware that they are not to enter any rooms, departure or daily clean until after 10.00am, unless we have confirmed that guest has checked out. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this occured and that non one has apologised from your note. This will also be addressed.

I am continually talking to the new owners of the shopping centre (car park) to have them upgrade the lift and areas in the car aprk and believe works will commence in the not too distant future.

Our property services people of all ages, nationaility and business types and certaainly not just the 25 year age group. My apologies that they did impact on your stay, but stay with us again and if you have any issues, let our team know and they will address.

Kind regards and thanks for the great feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A clean hotel mean giving the cleaners enough time to clean and get staff proper trainer and the right chemical.it possible it achieve the quality need in this market. Your staff were very friendly and helpful but meed to deal with fire as there was a alarm scare but the visitor were not shore were to stand no guidence from staff.

Room Tip: Would be nice to give your cleaner a realist time to clean the rooms and hallways.the dust and overall cleaness.bed to hard.but the was fablous and catered to my allergies.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear KellieG

I sincerely appreciate your feedback, but would like to confirm we do give our team sufficient time to service rooms and if room requires additional effort, that is is also provided. we have also implemented the teams working in pairs to add additional support and focus. Our chemical company Ecolab is nationally known and recognised and provides regulra training to our room attandants and kitchen staff and whenever new products re introduced, train all staff and supervisory staff.

I will address the fire alam with our reception staff, but I know that PA announcements were made advising guests that they did not need to evacuate and could return to their rooms. I was actually involved with this false alarm and know that our managers and supervisors were making guests aware of the alarm via PA and restaurant guests were spoken to as they started to leave the restaurant. I will however make sure our guest service agents and concierge ensure all guests in the lobby and entry are clearly communicated with.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback that is used and will be discussed with our teams.

I also really do appreciate the comments re time and chemicals, but please be assured our room attendants are provided time to do the daily and departure cleans.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed for one night last minute for only $115 which is a pretty good price in peak season. nice room with balcony and nice bathroom with bath tub. easy walking distnace to shops, cafes and clubs. Was woken early in morning by a group of people coming back to room and continuing to party but this was promptly resolved after contacting reception. overall great place to stay with excellent location

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear DivaD

I was very pleased that you had a great stay and that our staff and security quickly addressed the noisy guests. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay and appreciate that some people forget about the comfort of others, but great our team addressed.

Our location has to be one of the best, one block from the beach and the entertainment centre of Surfers Paradise. we are also doing all possible to upgrade the hotel with corridor and room painting, soft furnishing upgrades and the pool furniture replacement on weeks to completion.

Looking forward to your future stays with us.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews