We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and awful security guards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Unfortunately, the Outrigger Hotel in Surfers Paradise was a highly unpleasant stay for myself and friends. Problems ranged from a near total lack of room service, major issues with hotel reception who forced us to buy another room and perhaps worst of all - corrupt security guards who took bribes and bullied both our room and others with threats of eviction. Would never recommend/10.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear HarryA,

I am extremely concerned about your comments on security and insinuations of bribe etc and treat matters such as these extremely seriously and would appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I have information to investigate.

Over the schoolies period we have received many postive comments from both schoolies and non schoolies guests on the professionalism of our staff and security, as well as generally very positive comments on schoolies.

At no time do I believe we have threatened anyone with eviction, but can confirm we did evict 3 rooms in week 1 due to balcony hopping.

While I have seen very positive feedback, I also will investigate your comments once I have received you email to do so.

Sincerely

Grant

Grat S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,803)
There are newer reviews for Mantra on View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Me and one of my people stay on this hotel when we had our event in Gold Coast for a day...the price is cheap (might of the promo) than what I've expected after I saw the lobby,the room and everything if they ...they all nice specially the ambiance is really cool..loves it!

Room Tip: Room-so nice and comfy even if we here for event,the view is perfect,nice ambiance with the breeze o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilda2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Nilda2K,

Many thanks for your positive commentson your recent stay with us.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Many thanks for taking the time to post the review

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed for 2 nights-7,8th Nov.2013.Asked for milk from room service,told to call front desk. On calling ,was hung up the phone.Same response ,when asked for international adaptor.In the evening i went down to front desk to ask for adaptor, The receptionist on duty told me that she is very busy with new guests and all adaptors had been given to rooms,although there was nobody else except me. She was rude also.this was a shock to me .I will never stay there in future,though location is excellent ,2 mnt to beach & visible from room as well.

Room Tip: stayed on 11th floor-no.1110.room was spacious,quiet,beach view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jyotsna907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Jyot907,


I was extremely disappointed to read you review and would appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain additional information and be able to address personally with the employee and the front desk management team.

This is not the acceptable standard of service and it will be addressed.

I look forward to your email so I can obtain further details

Sincerely

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night in November 2013. We had the good fortune of being upgraded to a higher floor - I think this was because we booked through the hotel directly rather than using Wotif or Scoopon type vouchers.

The building is designed in a way that all rooms above the 10th floor are capable of having ocean views one way or another. The service upon check-in was great, very enthusiastic and helpful.

The rooms are perhaps slightly dated but the bathrooms have been refurbished and are well-equipped. Bed was comfortable and room was spotless. The lobby has been well maintained and really adds a sense of class to the place.

Parking is a bit tricky but not ridiculous - there is some confusion as to whether or not this is free for guests of the hotel. Apparently it is not complimentary with all bookings.

The tennis court has been recently refurbished but it is so close to the beach that the wind will take your tennis balls and blow them all over the place. The pool was nice but is probably due for an upgrade - missing tiles at the bottom of the pool etc.

Was warned to expect noise from Light Rail construction - no trouble for us but I am not sure a lot of work was happening while we were staying.

Great location, walking distance to all of Surfers Paradise. Will be an even better location once the Light Rail is up and running.

I would say this hotel is good value in terms of its location and you won't leave feeling ripped off.

Room Tip: The higher the better - as close to the beach end as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wadsworth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Wadsworth25,


Your feedback is greatly appreciated and a number of the things you commented on are being addressed now, with us reseating and grouting the pool after Schoolies and before Christmas, rooms painting has commenced, along with sheer curtain replacement and then we look at bed runner, pillow bolster and cushion replacement in 2014.

Our location as you said is great, one block from the beach, central Surfers Paradise and right next to the new Light Rail (due to commence June 2014).

I really appreciate your final comment, good value, location and won't be ripped off.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Kind regards and many thanks

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay here once again. The rooms are so comfortable, clean and bright and the views are spectacular. Very central location. You need to weigh these things up when reading previous reviews about rail works - there were minimal works during the day when we were there and they weren't very intrusive, and no night works. This is a really good value hotel and we will certainly be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank em_luvs_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear em_luvs-holidays

Firstly, love your reviewer name I certainly appreciate previous reviews about the light rail, as it has been disruptive in access and noise, and while we continually tried to ask the project to not have night works, this was not accepted by them. However we have been told that all night works have now been completed, and for the past 3 weeks true, and that all major constriction in our area will be completed by the end of November. Once the project is completed I believe it will be a benefit to many of our guests.

I will also pass on your comments to housekeeping who really do all possible to do a great job.

We look forward to more of your visits and comments on the property

Kind regards,


Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, affordable, great location, central to everything you need. Studio room was enough for an overnight stay.
Great modern rooms that we loved! Unfortunately didn't have time to use amenities.
Would definitely love to go back to this resort again for a longer stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KJGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear KJGoodwin,

We look forward to you coming back and staying with us as that is the aim of the team - guests enjoying their stay and coming back again. The hotel and area has a lot to offer, and the next visit hopefully will allow you to explore those things. A Bike ride out to the spit, fish and chips near SeaWorld or just relax by the pool.

I will share your feedback with our teams as I know they appreciate the feedback received.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were warned about noise re the construction of the Gold Coast tram lines but were not disturbed by any noise. Efficient check in and friendly staff.
The hotel is a little in need of refurbishment and the rooms are a little tired but spotlessly clean nevertheless. Look out for red hot deals as these can be as low as $95 a night and well worth it.

Lots of eating places minutes away catering for all sorts of tastes. Easy access to shopping mall and not far from Pacific Fair , Robina and Harbour Town. Easy driving distances on good roads.

Room Tip: Northerly or Easterly rooms for that sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear PeterH,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and very happy you had a great stay. We are hopeful that ALL night works by the Light Rail project have concluded, with all major construction in the area due to be completed by the end of November.

We are currently in the process of works on our guest rooms with painting, replacement of sheer curtains and in early 2014 will look at replacement of bed runners, bolster pillows and cushions.

Our tennis court is fully refurbished and open, pool pergola covers replaced, pool bar refurbished (open Saturdays until 26/12 then 7 days per week), weather dependent and we are working on new pool furniture, hopefully early 2014.

Please accept our many thanks and we look forward to your future stays with us

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Address: 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $100 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation you can choose from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Fantastic amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool, fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon, conference rooms and an on site Restaurant - NOSH Pan Asian, which offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Mantra on View Hotel is also one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. whatever the reason for your stay, you will have an memorable time at Mantra on View Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing