We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on View Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Surfers City Motel(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Centrepoint Resort(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Diamonds Resort(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveler rating
1,015
1,356
648
224
157
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
1,356
648
224
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe gold coastroom servicebuffet breakfastocean viewpool areaper daygreat place to staywould stay againtram stopcavill avenueoutriggerbalconysurfersconciergeconferenceaustralia
Filter
Updating list...
3,052 - 3,057 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Arrived 10th May all very quiet as not many people were staying in the hotel. Staff very good, stayed on the 20th floor room ok. The building quite run down damp on the ceilings as you got out of the life carpet tied, Pool area not tidy or inviting and tennis courts terrible.Stayed here when it was the Holiday INN seemed to be in better condition then. Food not good, terrible breakfast & dinner. To many places to say on the Goldie at the price we payed so will not be recommending it or staying again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherlock378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sherlock378

Your feedback on your recent stay is sincerely appreciated. The team at the hotel do all possible to make our guests stay special and I am very pleased with your comments.

While I appreciate the comments, I can advise that we are undertaking and have completed major works on the hotel since we commenced some 15 months ago. This work has included replacement of 80+% of all beds, complete replacement of all balcony tables and chairs, replaced of all guest room locks and upgrade of airconditioning systems. We have just commenced the painting of guest corridors and hope to have these completed by last this year or early next year. Guest room painting has also commenced and the gym has been fully upgraded with new equipment.

The pool and tennis court area has not been neglected, unfortunately this is due to a very slow insurance process and approval to commence the repairs to pool and tennis court areas, this has taken more time than acceptable to be able to start. The process starts this week to replace pergola awnings, surface tiles and also we commence a full upgrade on the pool operating equipment (pumps, filters) and heaters. the tennis court will commence in 2 weeks with all fencing replaced on court 1 and then we will look at resurfacing.

I am extremely disappointed to see your comments on restaurant as I know the food and beverage team will be as well as they do all possible to provide great service and exceptional product and I would appreciate you emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au to obtain details so they can be discussed with the team.

Again my sincere thanks for taking the time to provide the review and while I understand your comment, do hope you will stay again to see that your comments have been listened to and acted on and I look forward to your email.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Arrival here was an absolute breeze. Staff were professional, friendly and extremely courteous. Our room, which was on the 11th floor, was clean, modern and presented well. Undercover and secure parking was provided at no cost. The facilities were excellent, the pool and spa being the focal point for us. Centrally located, though the attached shopping level was deserted. All shops were vacant. The breakfast smorgasbord also left something to be desired, sausages seemed to have been boiled and were tasteless, bacon was over cooked. Room was adequate, bathroom good with a lovely deep bath. Air conditioning worked a treat and television / internet was easy to use and operate. Plenty to see and do within a short walking distance. Supermarket for essential supplies nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagboy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Jagboy1961,

Your feedback on your recent stay is very much appreciated and be assured your comments on the buffet breakfast will be realyed to the Executive Chef and team so he can address.

The situation with the adjoining shopping centre is disappointing as it is in receivership, but over the past months, albeit slow, there have been some new tenants, existing tenants have upgraded and we believe ther eare more new tenants to move into the central core.

The location is really one of the best in Surfers Paradise, one block from the beach and the entertainment precinct but as you said one block from shopping, supermarket and antertainment options when weather may be wet. We are also close to public transport and by early next year will have the light rail in full operation from Griffith University to Pacific Fair and Broadbeach.

We look forward to your future stays and again and many thanks for feedback

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 for 3 nights with a secret hotel booking for $99/night. We were very grateful to be able to check in at 11am as we had family to meet with.

The room was clean with spare pillows and extra towels in the drawers - had city view room but could still see plenty of ocean!

Bathroom had mouldy seals and mouldy bath plug - yuck! Why have blinds on the outside of the bathroom?

The pool area seems a little neglected - a few pool towels made available to guests would have been nice, instead of having to call housekeeping for more bath towels. The kids enjoyed the one heated pool (out of three).

The location is really convenient to shops, supermarket and cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsbellsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear HelsbellsSydney,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. My apologies re bathroom and this will be addressed with housekeeping immediately.

The pool and tennis court area has not been neglected, unfortunately this is due to a very slow insurance process and approval to commence the repairs to pool and tennis court areas, this has taken more time than acceptable to be able to start. The process starts this week to replace pergola awnings, surface tiles and also we commence a full upgrade on the pool operating equipment (pumps, filters) and heaters. the tennis court will commence in 2 weeks with all fencing replaced on court 1 and then we will look at resurfacing.

The location is a real plus, one block from the beach and the centre of Surfers

We hope to have you stay with us again and many thanks for the feedback which is used to improve and review our performance

Kind regards

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I checked out of this hotel this morning after a two night stay, which was booked online as a "secret hotel deal".

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were modern and clean, the views from the 11th floor were great, and the facilities were generally up to scratch. The lifts were also very fast, and we loved the express check-out service.

There were a few little disappointments I feel inclined to mention. Our children had to eat their cereal out of water glasses both mornings because our room supplied no plates or bowls of any kind. It would have been nice to have these provided by default, since not everyone has the budget to eat out or buy off the hotel menu.

Assumably being due to off-peak season, there was also a lot of taped off areas which made the pool level look a bit like a crime scene (see photos) and the tennis court was clearly not in a usable state. The pool bar was also permanently shut (my husband spotted the notices for food/beverage licensing, all expired midway through 2012) and gave the area a bit of an "abandoned" feel, especially since both times we went down to use the hot spa, there was never any other guests down here. Very isolated and empty feeling! On the other hand, it was also nice to have the spa all to ourselves.

The parking is not free, $8 a day, as the hotel utilises the car park of the (abandoned) shopping centre next door. And what a tight little car park it is to get in and out of!

Despite these little disappointments, the room service was fantastic, and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were also very comfortable and it was fairly quiet in general. And the prices were nothing short of fantastic, thanks to the secret hotel deal which made it possible.

Overall I *would* recommend this hotel to others, since it provided all the basics - a good location, good service and a good night's sleep!

Thank you for accommodating us this week :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedTrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear RedTrinity

Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay and be assured it is used to address issues and also to recognise good performance or teams that are doing well.

Apologies that we don't have crockery, other than tea cups and glasses etc in the room, but as these are standard hotel rooms we do not have the functionality in them to clean additional crockery, but our room service team would assist in providing limited crockery for our guests.

The issues with the pool and tennis court are as a result of recents storms and we are just awaiting insurance approval to rectify which we are confident will be this week.

The most rewarding comments are about the friendly and helpful staff and I know they do all possible to make a guest stay great.

I appreciate you would recommend us and we look forward to your future stays with us.

many thanks and kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a short break and thought the hotel was great from arrival. From the grand foyer, easy quick check in (we were a few hours early, expecting to have to leave our bags and return but the room was already available for us which was great!), nicely presented very clean room (there was some wear but unless the room's brand new it's expected) with super comfy bed and pillows to the very quick express check out (they pop an envelope under your door for the morning of check out to let you know you have no outstanding fees and invite you to express check out by popping your key cards in the envelope and leaving it in the box provided in the foyer. Note: there's a small note on the envelope to explain it all and confirm you're all paid up). The balcony had a small table and two chairs which was great to enjoy the views of the water. Other things to note: there was no mini-bar option (which we preferred) and the shower was one of those bath/shower combos with the half glass screen (personally not a fan of climbing into the bath for a shower) and the lift areas were all very cold for some reason. Although somewhat pricey ($2 for 30 seconds) we did like the luggage scale in the foyer to see how much our spending had added to our luggage weight limit - weighed our three bags easily in the 30 seconds.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the great views!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Casi0

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay and really appreciate the comments re bedding as we have nearly completed the replacement of all beds.

While we do not have mini bars in the room, we do offer a mini bar servive by calling room service. we are also currently painting guest corridors and will commence room painting in the coming weeks.

Again I appreciate your comments and we hope you stay with us again.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews