We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Overall Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rooms in the hotel are good. Service is good and prompt. We stayed for three nights and it was inclusive of breakfast. The Chef has to learn to vary the menu in the breakfast, it was the same for all the three days. The management must learn from South east Asian country hotels and follow there example.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeevsoni73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear rajeevsoni73,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. I certainly hope you could afford me a little more time by emailing me at Grant.James@outrigger.com.au and further expanding on your comment “The management must learn from South East Asian country hotels”. We are always willing to improve and learn and this one of the reasons we are active on TripAdvisor and our own internal customer review – Leisure Trends.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will review your comments with our team.

I look forward to your email and certainly hope you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    954
    476
    164
    116
See reviews for
666
839
130
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the old Holiday Inn - located in central Surfers Paradise. Nice rooms and modernised bathrooms. Certainly close to 4 Star and certainly good for a short stay. Great view of the beach from our room - and the balcony was a nice feature. Room service was a little slow - but not too bad.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodogbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Bodogbodog,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback which is greatly appreciated. The location is certainly a favourite with guests being 100 metres from the beach and one block from central Surfers Paradise and the entertainment precinct.

We are currently installing new beds, balcony tables just completed and the installation of Wi-Fi (supporting current hard wired) to all guest rooms which will be completed in the coming months which will further enhance the AAA 4 1/2 star rating. I will discuss with our Food & Beverage team the comment re room service being slow and address.

I look forward to your furture stays with us and again many thanks for taking the time to post the review.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice hotel, very clean however rooms need quite a bit of renovation to keep up with the Outrigger standard. The hotel was formerly the Holiday Inn and it shows. The restaurant is very nice with a lovely al fresco area, breakfast & dinner buffets are generous in variety. Pool and tennis court are in need of refurbishment. With time & renovation this will be a great hotel due to the staff and fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear newbag,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and appreciate your comments on the need for refurbishment from Holiday Inn operation. We commenced our operation of the hotel in January 2012 and so far have completed or commenced, replacement of all balcony tables, new beds are currently being installed and will be completed by end of October. Also by the end of October installation of Wi-Fi to all guest rooms (lobby, 2nd and 4th floors already completed) and TV and movie upgrade will be completed by end of first quarter 2013.

In conjunction with the Body Corporate we are currently undertaking major lift upgrade and airconditioning upgrade. In 2013 we will undertake corridor upgrades and also start room repainting program.

I will talk to our Exec Chef and team and pass on your positive comments re buffets as the team are really focussed on fresh local produce.

Location as communicated by so many guests is brilliant being one block from Surfers Paradise beach and the entertainment precinct. There are night clubs ad frestaurants for the adults and Timezone, Infinity and Strike bowling for the families as well as great access to public transport.

Our teams will be really appreciative of your comments about them and I will personally relay this to the department head on Monday.

We look forward to your future visits and further feedback in how we are progressing.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a night stay here and we loved it. Our room was on the 20th floor and the view was fabulous! My husband was upset that his request of the chocolates being in the room on arrival was not supplied and he also had requested a bottle of champagne. As soon as this was bought to the staffs attention though it was rectified and delivered while we were at our buffet dinner that was part of the package. The dinner was lovely and the staff were happy and friendly. My husband said the crab had no taste at all but that was his only complaint. We had the full hot room service breakfast and it was delicious! All in all a great place to stay within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Shannii,

I am thrilled the team addressed the concerns so quickly re champagne and chocolates, and I have already spoken to the Exec Chef concerning the spanner crab so he can address with our supplier.

Our location is one of our greatest assets, to me after the friendly staff we have.

We look forward to your future stays with us and congrats to your husband on the surprise stya.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide the review which has already been used with our team for further improvement.

Kind regards

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

First time staying in Outrigger Surfers Paradise with family. Clean & spacious room with balcony and a view of ocean and the rest of the town with a little view of hinterland too. My room was at 17th floor facing the ocean. Breakfast was good enough for us. coffee making machine was a plus point for as I can take away coffee after my breakfast. Staff was very friendly at the front desk and gave us tips as to where to go for good food. Room was made very promptly and tidly. Hotel is located right in the centre of surfers paradise blvd so shops and eatries are just within walking distance. Overall, a warm and comfy stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_Jayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear ChristopherJayam

I am thrilled you enjoyed your first stay with us and your feedback will be shared with our teams, as they will appreciate the comments on their friendliness and providing you information on the local area. When time permits I would appreciate your emailing me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au to gain some further feedback on breakfast to make it great.

Our location is an absolute plus with us being one block from Surfers Paradise beach, the entertainment center of Surfers, as well as so close to good public transport.

We look forward to your future stays with us and I also look forward to additional information on breakfast.

many thanks and kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel however we didn't have breakfast the last time. So I'll start with the breakfast. Very high quality, lots of variety and tasty. Ours was buy one get one free so good value too. The dining room staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The hotel staff were also very helpful and friendly.
The room, clean and nicely presented. The bathroom clean, not totally refurbished but updated in all the right places so no problem with it.
This was excellent for what it cost, I give it a 5 rating.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GwynethW278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear GwynethW,
Our team will be very happy to read your review, especially the chef and food and beverage team as they are passionate and committed to use of fresh local produce with great variety.

While the hotel is not brand new, we believe our focus on providing the best possible standards in our rooms, food and beverage outlets and hotel services and providing great service via friendly, pleasant and professional employees is what our guests want more than a new building.

We have just completed replacement of all balcony tables and at present are in the process of replacing beds to the final 250+ rooms, which should be completed by November. Over the next 2 months we will install WiFi to all guest rooms and in the first quarter of 2013 will upgrade our television system to digital capability with all free to air TV channels available in Surfers Paradise, Foxtel channels and an improved Pay Movie system.

We certainly hope to have you stay with us again and many many thanks for the 5 star rating.

Kind regards

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is night 2 of 3 at Outriggers, Surfers Paradise. The check in was fast (arrived about 7pm), the staff pleasant, professional and efficient. The lifts all work and are fast. The room is well appointed, well prepared and well designed. It is good to see cruelty free toiletries, the ocean view is impressive and the provision of desk, comfortable arm chair and large bench useful. I particularly like the pillow menu, and the bed is of good quality. The aircon' holds a chosen 26C with no problem. A couple of niggles, though very minor: the pillow order no. on the menu is wrong (actually 5 not #5), & personally I would prefer mugs rather than coffee cups for a decent drink of tea.
There are 3 vegetarian options on room service. Two more than I usually find. The breakfast in the restaurant was adequate. Service was very good and unobtrusive. The use of Grinders coffee was very pleasing, esp' if it is organic as the T-shirts say. Three short mac's later and quality has been consistently good all day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear ChrisJH1

Hope the final night was as good as the first two and many thanks for your comments. I am investigating the change of cups to mugs for guest rooms with Grinders and I can assure you that the coffee at Coffee Spot is organic.

I will be providing a copy of your review to our teams so they see their efforts in being pleasant and professional are noticed and appreciated.
We look forward to your future visits and reviews.

Kind regards

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish décor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the à la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing