We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is my third time staying at the former Holiday Inn now Outrigger. This time unfortunately was the worst and I will unlikely return as a result. This hotel is still good just not as good as before and a lot of this was due to transitional pains which they have clearly not mitigated sufficiently. So the highlights of issues are

1) check in: when I booked it was still holiday inn and upon check in was told that I may need to pay more than my agreed rate. This was ridiculous and the service reps command of English was very poor. Compounding this was the supervisor Bobby who stood there and watched the whole drama a metre away without intervening. Mate, I really do think when your staff is struggling and your guests facing a ridiculous situation you should step in. So a few hours into check in, front desk sends a note up go tell me it's all fine. Nice touch except the note written by the same service rep had such poor grammar it was unprofessional.


2) no one knows where Outrigger is: so our return shuttle to the airport was sent to the wrong Outrigger because service operators were seemingly less than aware that it is no longer holiday inn. Neither did the taxi driver know in the one we took. No doubt Outrigger has informed service providers but perhaps more could be done? We were literally 5min from missing our plane we were meant to have a hour to spare. Whilst this is no doubt the shuttle operators fault but the consistency in the lack of awareness on what or where Outrigger is a concern

3) wear and turn - they say a hotel goes through a refurb cycle very 7 years in general. This certainly needs to stand true here. They are about 5 years since last refurb and the quality of the rooms have gone down with every year I stayed. Nonetheless there are worse out there but you do brand yourself as a 4.5 star.

4) 10am check out sucks. Was 11am under holiday inn. Dont your clients don't notice. Standard policy or not it sucks. These small things do weigh on considerations. Judging by the number of business closures and economic climate at surfers paradise, now is the time to listen to your customers.

Overall was better when I stayed in 09 and 10 hence why I returned a third time. But I am now of the belief that there is better out there though in saying so there is certainly lot worse too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances H, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear CJ313, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am extremely disappointed that your stay was not as good as your past stays and please be assured what you experienced is neither the normal standard for Outrigger Hotels nor acceptable to me.
I will personally sit down with our Rooms Division Manager and Bobby who only recently started with us and explain both our expectations and guest expectations. I will also review your comments with all Department Heads to ensure we address the issues and modify our operation. In regards to check out time, in the majority of cases, dependent on occupancy, we will extend complimentary check out to 11.30am.
I sincerely appreciate your comments on the lack of knowledge of transport companies and this morning have formally communicated to Gold Coast Cabs, ConXion Coaches, United limousines and Gold Coast Shuttle buses of the change of hotel name.
I am hopeful you will come back and stay with us again, and be able to experience the hotel and see the changes we have implemented in conjunction with your feedback. Repeat guest feedback such as yours is critical to our operation and meeting our guest needs.
Thank you again for your comments, they are greatly appreciated and will communicated to our team and used to better our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    1,077
    538
    179
    131
See reviews for
749
965
161
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have stayed here when it was still the holiday inn,and enjoyed it thoroughly so we booked it again. Happened to be during the first week of the name change -we were not informed of this.
The check in process was long and painful for what is normally a quick process for a prepaid deal. The lady was confused and did not ask for help despite three others standing idle at reception.
Secondly, the room smelt and housekeeping did not bother changing the sheets once during our three night stay. Nor was the bed made well.
I wouldn't stay here again.
Outriggers failed to provide an enjoyable experience and did poorly to transition the new name.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances H, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear CJpurple
Firstly, my thanks for taking the time to complete your review, as feedback such as yours gives us the chance to review our operation and improve.
My name is Grant James and I am the General Manager of Outrigger Surfers Paradise and be assured I will address each of the areas you have identified. I apologise for the problems you encountered, and also that you were not informed of the change when you made your booking. To my understanding all guests were being informed either at time of booking or via written communication from Holiday Inn.
The transition involved many changes, including a new computer system and while this should not be an excuse for delay has impacted on the staff. I will personally talk to our front desk team and ensure they are all comfortable with the new system and also that they support each other.
I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to assess the changes in our service standards from transition and see that we do provide an enjoyable experience.
Please feel free to contact me directly on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au for further feedback or for your next booking and again, sincere thanks for providing feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel has changed names from the holiday inn to the outrigger and the standard has dropped so far I am angered.

We stayed here about every 2-3 weeks over the last year and will NEVER stay here again.

1st room had no working air-conditioning, 2nd room the tv didn't work for 2 days. Room service did not supply clean towels but took ours away. Did not restock tea and coffee, did not replace the soap etc... Checkout after 10am in $20 per hour even though no one is checking in. Staff are rude.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I (used) to stay here frequently when it was the Holiday Inn. Even though it was not perfect then, now as The Outrigger, it has gone downhill somewhat:

1. The sheets in the bedding are rough and cheap.
2. They've ditched the IHG loyalty scheme, so if you used to be on the higher floors you'll be downgraded down to the lowest floors.
3. Even though they've ditched the good aspects of the past, they've retained the bad aspects of the Holiday Inn, for example no complimentary slippers.
4. The Shampoo is poor quality and needs lots of rinsing to get rid of.
5. No more breakfast or buffet coupons from front desk.
6. Not a smooth transition from Holiday Inn to Outrigger. Took ages to check us in.
7. Poor stationery for the breakfast menu. Someone obviously scanned the previous Holiday Inn breakfast menu and cut and pasted it onto the new Outrigger format. You can tell it is cut and pasted as the definition of the text is lacking and a poor resolution.
8. Wardrobe light was burnt out.

To further punctuate the poor quality of the hotel, have a look at the Outrigger neon sign at night time...half of it is burnt out!

Overall a great location, but with slow service, lack of loyalty to former guests, poor quality sheets etc, I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on higher floors. Lower floors can be noisy and are often reserved for more 'rowdy'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances H, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear AndySPS,
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback on your stay and be assured I will address many of the issues you have raised, such as linen quality and the breakfast menu stationery which was reproduced and not simply copied.
I apologise that we could not honor all of the IHG loyalty components and I was on the understanding IHG had advised all members, but we would always do our best to meet guest requests, such as the high floor.
In regards to the transition, there are always some minor issues and with new computer systems and operations and it will take staff a short period of time for staff to become accustomed and skilled with these changes. Regarding signage as this is brand new neon sign, the tubes have a settling in process that resulted in some tubes not stabilising, and this is being rectified and checked on all three roof top signs. I certainly hope you will stay again, and while I appreciate the IHG Loyalty cannot be continued, I am confident we will show you great service and standards in a great location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I booked a room through Wotif on a secret deal for Mid December. The price was high but I guess as it was peak season, I have no reason to complain. I think there is value in this place off peak only. Otherwise it is overpriced. The room was sufficient with two double beds. An odd feature of the room was that there was a set of blinds between the bathroom and the bedroom that could only be operated from the bedroom. We had fun playing peek-a-boo but I just thought it was unusual. I often held a stigma about the Holiday Inn being average, but I was pleasantly surprised at the extent they've gone to to make the interior of the place shine. The foyer is gorgeous. The check in staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area and gave us good directions for local fare. The aircon did not work but this was fixed as soon as we complained.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great location. We were looking for a central Surfers Paradise hotel so we could walk to beach/restaurants/bars. It was a 5 minute walk to Cavill Avenue and 100m from the beach. Liquor shop next door. Grocery shop and pharmacy all nearby.

The lobby was very attractive and modern. A Japanese-friendly hotel, as it was previously owned by a Japanese company before being taken over by Holiday Inn. The room (Standard Double) itself was spacious, very clean with an ample sized bathroom. Housekeeping was very efficient in bringing up a shaving kit and also fixing our small bar fridge which wasn't very cold.

Had dinner one night in the restaurant (Sirocco) using the supplied 25% off voucher. Buffet was not too bad. Reasonable selection of seafood, hot dishes and desserts. Worst was the crab which was obviously thawed from frozen.

Service overall was very helpful and friendly. Everyone we spoke with was polite and did their best to help us during our stay. Also accommodating to our request for early check-in (7am).

Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Having stayed in many Holiday Inn hotels over the years, we felt safe in booking this hotel for the Christmas period, accepting that we were trading a little quality for a known brand. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We opted for a 'superior' room and were on the 16th floor overlooking the pool, cityscape and with views of the beach. The room was of a very good standard with all we needed for a few nights of relaxation. The balcony was accessible via full-height sliding doors that we left open much of the time, so we could see and hear the sights.

The hotel was perfectly located just far enough away from the beach and 'centre' to give a relatively peaceful experience, but by no means outside of the action. A two minute walk would see you on the beach and five minutes along the front would put you right in the thick of it all.

The hotel had an attached secure car park for a very reasonable 8 AUD a night, where we parked the car and never needed to start it again until the day we moved on.

We didn't use the bar or restaurant in the hotel as it seemed a little pricey and frankly, there were just too many nice alternatives within a very short distance, so we ate out instead.

The pool area was very nice, if a little small for such a big hotel. That said, it was never overly busy, I guess because with so much else going on in and around SP, people were busy doing other stuff. Watch your step in and around the pools; Very slippy!

Having opted for this hotel as the 'safe option' on our month long trip down the east coast, we were delighted to find that it proved to be one of the highlights, and the view from the room has left us with memories we are unlikely to forget in a hurry.

Room Tip: Best views are from a high room on the South (pool) side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey_d31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish decor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. Maintenance notice: The Mantra on View pool will undergo a refurbishment and repairs from 5 June until 21 June 2017 and then a further 2 weeks of decking work. The pool will be closed during this time. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. Mantra on View exterior building painting will begin June 5 2017 until the end of October 2017, depending on weather. Works include new repaint to the exterior from level 22 down to Porte Chochere including a refurbishment of balcony railings. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing