We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel. Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We just got married on the Gold Coast and we chose the Marriott for all our wedding guests to stay at. Everyone commented to us just how friendly and efficient the staff were and having stayed at the hotel ourselves we also experienced fantastic customer service. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean and the hotel itself is just gorgeous. The buffet breakfast was also a big hit with all our friends and family. The location is great as it is a very short walk to the beach and to the heart of Surfers Paradise. The pool is just beautiful and the kids can enjoy a waterfall, a waterslide as well as snorkelling with fish in the freshwater pool! We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ainsworths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Richard,

Firstly, congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for choosing our resort as the location for your wedding guests – it is great to hear that everyone loved the facilities and experienced our five star guest service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to our resort when you next visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    565
    165
    58
    48
See reviews for
808
608
49
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Most 5 star hotels in Australia do not understand what world travellers enjoy and require as ‘service’. There are exceptions and the Marriott in Surfers paradise reflects exceptional service above all others.
While the hotel rooms are bright and well equipped it (like most hotels in Australia) needs a modern renovation. None the less the staff and service they extend makes up for the lack of glitter!
From the moment you step into the hotel to the moment you leave every member of staff smiles and cater for your every whim. I even had my cloths in my luggage hung up for me as I had to dash of to business meetings as soon as I arrived- normal anywhere in the world, outside Australia, yet Marriott’s ‘can do’ staff attitude make impossible requests possible.
ONE MORE REASON TO STAY AT THE MARRIOTT.
Erick their ‘master chef’ a chef de-cuisine, who can cater for every desire. Daniel the F&B director can also find the impassable wine of your choice.
Being bored with the usual run of the mill hotel food I like to indulge my guests and self from time to time. I therefore requested Erick to create an Escoffier evening for 4. With only one days’ notice he created the most amazing ‘food Connoisseur menu’ of 14 courses. We are all still in awe of the presentation, scintillating food choice and stunning service. If you’re a food connoisseur do try Chef Erick’s Escoffier Evening as it is well worth a 12 hour plain journey to find manner from heaven.

Room Tip: Ask for Chef Erick to create his personal food menue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyons38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
We certainly do love to read wonderful reviews like yours and appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us on Tripadvisor.

Marriott’s service approach is to ‘host our guests brilliantly’ and this is something that our whole team really strive to do at all times. It is great to hear that you have experienced this level of service first hand on your visits to our Resort and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to Erick, Darren and the rest of our team.

We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was probably one of the best short family holiday that we have been on. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left all was just fantastic. As we are a family of four with two young kids 4.5 and 9 i would suggest a junior suite if possible as the extra space is needed. The pool facilities were brilliant with no need to leave the resort really and that came from my kids. The food and choices were ample and not too expensive either. What makes this hotel so lovely are the people, they were so caring and genuine it saddened us to leave but we will be back for sure

Room Tip: Make a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel very convenient to everywhere. The restaurant serves delicious food of every variety. The High Tea is is a real treat, mouth watering cakes, sandwiches, scones etc. The outlook to the gardens and pool very picturesque.
The only negative comment I have about this hotel is for the coffee shop, service can be slow with only one staff serving.
Staying in such a lovely hotel, which is world standard, you would expect to have your coffee or tea served in a China cup or mug, instead it is served in a cardboard cup with plastic spoon, plates are also cardboard, This spoils the atmosphere of the coffee shop

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Having had a bad stay at another supposedly 5*Gold Coast hotel in January we were encouraged to try the Marriott at Surfers Paradise. This hotel can not be beaten. From the first moment of contact with a staff member to the last, the service offered is 110%. The room was very clean and well presented, rooms are quiet and the whole hotel is of a very high standard. The swimming pool and lagoon are enticing and perfect for kids. While we did not need the children's activities it was clear they were available.
Many hotels have nice rooms but one of this Marriott's best features is the staff who all go the extra mile to offer service. Obviously the example must start with the upper Management

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book an Elandra Club room on an upper level. It is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Barbara,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this fantastic feedback on Tripadvisor and for choosing to stay at our resort recently.

While the resort does cater well for families especially during school holiday periods with lots of extra activities on offer for children, we are also a perfect option for couples looking for a relaxing break with facilities like our Elandra Retreat Club, our signature restaurants and the option of private day beds by the lagoon.

We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time and will be sure to pass your commendation onto the rest of our team.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My preference has always been to stay in Broadbeach when travelling to the coast, on this occasion I was attending a conference held at the Marriott for a few days. What an absolutely beautiful hotel with an incredible pool, great restaurants to select from and only a short walk to the beach.
With the new light rail about to open it will make travel from the Marriott into Surfers and Broadbeach a breeze, so much so that I will be choosing the Marriottmas my destination when I next return.

Room Tip: Request a room with either an ocean view or pool view, or both as I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We moved to this hotel after staying at the sea world resort after feeling more than enough of theme park. We stay with our two kids, age 6 and 8. Room was big enough to accommodate the four of us. The lagoon is excellent too bad the fishes are not that many. Room is excellent, clean and spacious enough. Tried the buffet dinner. Gotta be one of the best while we stay in gold coast. My kids eat so much until they have difficulty walking :) Location wise is also good since not at the crowded area of surfers paradise. A very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Personally, i feel is not worth upgrading to the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tulang_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with our team and are glad to hear that you and your family loved our famous seafood buffet when dining at Citrique. It certainly does offer something for everyone!

We currently have around 300 tropical fish in our lagoon which guests can swim and snorkel with. We also conduct a daily fish feeding program on our Lagoon Terrace at 9.30am which is a great opportunity to view them as they come up to feed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort when you next come out to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing