We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great seafood buffet”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been here on many occasions and just keep going back.
We enjoy the seafood buffets and breakfast for special occasions.
Always very friendly staff and lots of choice for food.
Never have had a bad experience and now use Marriott Gold cards making the price very good value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JamGulAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    582
    168
    61
    49
See reviews for
830
628
50
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having gone under a refurbishment the Marriott has regained its wow factor. The restaurants are all amazing and you have to sample the Tepinyaki restaurant great experience. The rooms are all comfortably furnished and a great bonus to get an ocean view

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Our room was clean and tidy - we were moved up to the 19th floor when we checked in so that we had a better view.
We were also offered a package for the Elandra retreat - what a great experience that was. A great place to escape to for coffee, snacks and drinks.
The pool was amazing and stunning to even look at.
Would definately love to come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lomel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a just under a week and found the hotel to be absolutely wonderful. It was our first holiday with our 14month old and the staff and amenities made our experience thoroughly enjoyable.

When we checked in I asked if someone could get me a banana as our son hadn't eaten much on the flight from Melbourne. This request was accommodated immediately.

The pool is unlike anything I've experienced. Just fabulous! My husband and I both even tried the water slide!

As we were unable to go out for dinner with an unpredictable/tired toddler we ordered room service a few times and were pleasantly surprised by the food.

I found the pillows to be far too soft so housekeeping sent me up some firm ones immediately.

The room was gorgeous and they even provided a huge selection of latest movies on demand at no cost! Bathroom was a bit dated but still impressive.

I've had the good fortune to stay in a number of fine hotels internationally and this was up there with the best of them.

Overall we had a great stay and will definitely be going back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overall this was a really good family holiday travel experience (family of four, two boys 5 & 9). Rooms are nice enough, but not a destination in themselves. We shared a standard twin room which was bearable but squishy at best. But the pool facilities are fantastic and the Marriott website undersells it. A salt water lagoon complete with fish and 'beach' along with a winding pool complex which includes waterfalls, two spas and a waterslide set in a tropical setting with faux caves which kept our boys entertained for days. We stayed four nights over the October long weekend which explains some of the cons:
- poor check in experience, took over 20 minutes to hit the front desk, pretty tedious after a total of 4 hours travel. No real attempt to apologise or recognise this was pretty rubbish; a water would have been nice whilst waiting in line
- slow front desk over the whole stay, always had to queue to talk with someone
- queueing to get into one of the four lifts every time
- no poolside deck chairs available after 10 or so in the morning; we paid $95 for a cabana to ensure we could all sit together for the day.
- no reservations ever available at the hotel restaurants prior to 8pm, challenging with a five year old in tow.
This is all explained by the fact that the hotel was at absolute capacity - we did choose to travel on a long weekend. But pity the hotel did not choose to staff up a bit more.
Negatives not related to it being at full occupancy:
- none of us slept the first night as our airconditioning did not work. To be fair, an engineer came within 10 minutes when we called at 1am in the morning after we realised we couldn't cope without it being looked at. Despite being reassured it was all fine the next day, it was clear that it was still on the blink by mid afternoon on day two. After we made some effort to have it resolved we were offered a new room. We commented that it had been a disappointing experience to lose a night's sleep and a hassle to move, we were offered two mornings of free breakfast - an ok but prompted token by way of apology.
The pool side food. Ugggh. There is no way this food is acceptable. At $20 a cheeseburger I'd expect a meat patty of better quality than we experienced at some of the theme parks, but no. C'mon Marriott, lift your game. I'd suggest you buy in until they improve.
The location is a little out of the way and a bit of a challenge when Surfers is gearing up for their Indy season, but a small inconvenience, and the parking is free under the hotel.
Big positives:
The pool, the pool, the pool.
The rooms are really well insulated and therefore quiet, thank goodness since the place was crawling with kids, including ours!
The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing amazing, but generous and varied and good fun for the kids (they even had ice cream available, but not sure what I think of that?).
The teppanyaki restaurant is fun too - expensive but a great time was had by all.

If you're looking for a perfect pool resort in Surfers and not fussy about luxury room appointments and top class service, this is a great property to visit with the family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th and 21st floors (moved night 2) and found no difference in terms of noise, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property was amazing! We had a twin room so two double beds and the beds weree amazinggggggggggg. So comfty. Went here on a famil group and it was just lovely!

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff with mocktails. Room we had is oceanview and it was just stunning. Balcony was a bit small though but thats okay. Rooms were bright and lovely even the bathroom. Our bathroom had separate shower and bath.

Hotel has a lagoon style big and it was very big! they had tropical fishes in the pool were you can use snorking equipment and swim with them, they also had a waterfall and a cave style with a spa pool in it. very much enjoyed the pool.

We had breakfast in the morning, it wasnt anything wow but still very good and filling it was a buffet breakfast.

We also had a look at the suites and president suites and they are stunnning, very large and the furniture was just awesome. would love to stay in one of those one day. I would recommend this to honeymooners or someone who is wanting to stay in style. It is a bit further away from cavill ave prob about 15 minute walk but it is a lovely place to stay in. reception was very big and they had very funky comfty chairs around rception area where you could sit and enjoy private time using the free lobby wifi. They didnt have wifi there when we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missngoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor and sharing your feedback with us.

We are very glad to hear that you had such a great time here and enjoyed the famil that was conducted recently at the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to the Gold Coast soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a last minute booking at the Marriott Surfers Paradise. Check in was efficient but didn't get a friendly feel. However, subsequent visit to reception had been fantastic.

The pool area was great for kids, and we spend some time exploring the caves.

The house keeping was poor, the floor and bathroom wasn't clean when we checked in. Daily serviced seem rushed with wet towel still left in the sink with no tidying up.

However, worst was their restaurants. The buffet quality was average, but their staff was generally rude, and felt that we should felt privileged just to be there. We went to the bar area and we were told that we were restricted with their menu when we were looking for something for our daughter to eat. We ended up finishing our drinks quickly so we can find some food suitable for a 20 months old else where. However, as we walked out, we can see sandwiches being served and was very disappointed.

We were asking for some coffees and was told they don't serve any there. However, on our way back from dinner, we can see coffees been brought to the bar area from the main restaurant.

Overall, I think the service is quite inconsistent and we feel that we coped the worst staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at our resort.

It is great to hear that you and your family had time to enjoy the resort’s facilities and loved our spectacular lagoon pool which offers guests the opportunity to swim and snorkel with a number of tropical fish, however, it is very disappointing to read that there were certain aspects of your stay that affected your overall experience here at our resort.

This is definitely not a normal practice and we take feedback from our guests very seriously as this allows us to improve in areas which require attention.

We would like to discuss the items you have raised with you over the phone so that we can gain further insights from your stay. Please contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time.

While I cannot take back the disappointment you have experienced, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing