We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Poolside Family Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Poolside Family Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Overall this was a really good family holiday travel experience (family of four, two boys 5 & 9). Rooms are nice enough, but not a destination in themselves. We shared a standard twin room which was bearable but squishy at best. But the pool facilities are fantastic and the Marriott website undersells it. A salt water lagoon complete with fish and 'beach' along with a winding pool complex which includes waterfalls, two spas and a waterslide set in a tropical setting with faux caves which kept our boys entertained for days. We stayed four nights over the October long weekend which explains some of the cons:
- poor check in experience, took over 20 minutes to hit the front desk, pretty tedious after a total of 4 hours travel. No real attempt to apologise or recognise this was pretty rubbish; a water would have been nice whilst waiting in line
- slow front desk over the whole stay, always had to queue to talk with someone
- queueing to get into one of the four lifts every time
- no poolside deck chairs available after 10 or so in the morning; we paid $95 for a cabana to ensure we could all sit together for the day.
- no reservations ever available at the hotel restaurants prior to 8pm, challenging with a five year old in tow.
This is all explained by the fact that the hotel was at absolute capacity - we did choose to travel on a long weekend. But pity the hotel did not choose to staff up a bit more.
Negatives not related to it being at full occupancy:
- none of us slept the first night as our airconditioning did not work. To be fair, an engineer came within 10 minutes when we called at 1am in the morning after we realised we couldn't cope without it being looked at. Despite being reassured it was all fine the next day, it was clear that it was still on the blink by mid afternoon on day two. After we made some effort to have it resolved we were offered a new room. We commented that it had been a disappointing experience to lose a night's sleep and a hassle to move, we were offered two mornings of free breakfast - an ok but prompted token by way of apology.
The pool side food. Ugggh. There is no way this food is acceptable. At $20 a cheeseburger I'd expect a meat patty of better quality than we experienced at some of the theme parks, but no. C'mon Marriott, lift your game. I'd suggest you buy in until they improve.
The location is a little out of the way and a bit of a challenge when Surfers is gearing up for their Indy season, but a small inconvenience, and the parking is free under the hotel.
Big positives:
The pool, the pool, the pool.
The rooms are really well insulated and therefore quiet, thank goodness since the place was crawling with kids, including ours!
The buffet breakfast was fine, nothing amazing, but generous and varied and good fun for the kids (they even had ice cream available, but not sure what I think of that?).
The teppanyaki restaurant is fun too - expensive but a great time was had by all.

If you're looking for a perfect pool resort in Surfers and not fussy about luxury room appointments and top class service, this is a great property to visit with the family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th and 21st floors (moved night 2) and found no difference in terms of noise, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    564
    165
    58
    48
See reviews for
808
608
49
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property was amazing! We had a twin room so two double beds and the beds weree amazinggggggggggg. So comfty. Went here on a famil group and it was just lovely!

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff with mocktails. Room we had is oceanview and it was just stunning. Balcony was a bit small though but thats okay. Rooms were bright and lovely even the bathroom. Our bathroom had separate shower and bath.

Hotel has a lagoon style big and it was very big! they had tropical fishes in the pool were you can use snorking equipment and swim with them, they also had a waterfall and a cave style with a spa pool in it. very much enjoyed the pool.

We had breakfast in the morning, it wasnt anything wow but still very good and filling it was a buffet breakfast.

We also had a look at the suites and president suites and they are stunnning, very large and the furniture was just awesome. would love to stay in one of those one day. I would recommend this to honeymooners or someone who is wanting to stay in style. It is a bit further away from cavill ave prob about 15 minute walk but it is a lovely place to stay in. reception was very big and they had very funky comfty chairs around rception area where you could sit and enjoy private time using the free lobby wifi. They didnt have wifi there when we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missngoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor and sharing your feedback with us.

We are very glad to hear that you had such a great time here and enjoyed the famil that was conducted recently at the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to the Gold Coast soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a last minute booking at the Marriott Surfers Paradise. Check in was efficient but didn't get a friendly feel. However, subsequent visit to reception had been fantastic.

The pool area was great for kids, and we spend some time exploring the caves.

The house keeping was poor, the floor and bathroom wasn't clean when we checked in. Daily serviced seem rushed with wet towel still left in the sink with no tidying up.

However, worst was their restaurants. The buffet quality was average, but their staff was generally rude, and felt that we should felt privileged just to be there. We went to the bar area and we were told that we were restricted with their menu when we were looking for something for our daughter to eat. We ended up finishing our drinks quickly so we can find some food suitable for a 20 months old else where. However, as we walked out, we can see sandwiches being served and was very disappointed.

We were asking for some coffees and was told they don't serve any there. However, on our way back from dinner, we can see coffees been brought to the bar area from the main restaurant.

Overall, I think the service is quite inconsistent and we feel that we coped the worst staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at our resort.

It is great to hear that you and your family had time to enjoy the resort’s facilities and loved our spectacular lagoon pool which offers guests the opportunity to swim and snorkel with a number of tropical fish, however, it is very disappointing to read that there were certain aspects of your stay that affected your overall experience here at our resort.

This is definitely not a normal practice and we take feedback from our guests very seriously as this allows us to improve in areas which require attention.

We would like to discuss the items you have raised with you over the phone so that we can gain further insights from your stay. Please contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time.

While I cannot take back the disappointment you have experienced, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

my friend & I stayed earlier this month for 1 night just for a bit of a treat.....and a treat it was. I don't want to rave about the elantra lounge too much, best secret on the gold coast. was worth the extra $$ that's for sure. the views from the lounge were spectacular, and you feel like you belong to an exclusive club that's there just for you and a few others. we stayed on the 26th floor with hinterland views, you can also see some of the ocean as well. the rooms are a good size with separate bath and shower being a bonus. the lagoon pool is fabulous with tropical fish to swim with (a good tip, take your snorkel & mask), lying on the lounge chairs in the sand feels like you're at the beach, staff at the hotel are a pleasure also, this was my 2nd time staying at the Marriott and wont be my last!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celeste2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived and were told we had to wait and extra hour for check in as it was the long weekend. The room was nice and clean although the bathroom was a bit outdated. The place was teeming with kids so many not be the best place for a romantic weekend away though we still enjoyed sitting by the pool. We also really enjoyed dinner at the seafood buffet - a major highlight of our trip. Make sure you get up early to reserve a spot by the pool - it was packed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talhotblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Haven't been back to the Marriott for a while, this time we got a Travelzoo promotional deal on Elandra Retreat.
We pulled up just after 12pm, gave our car keys to the staff (valet parking included) and check-in was really smooth. Room wasn't ready yet as it was a very busy long weekend. Off to the Elandra Retreat and had lovely cakes and fresh sandwiches, drinks and coffee for lunch. We had a room on the 26th Floor and it was very quiet. We spent a good deal of time at the lagoon swimming pool as the 6 y.o. was just having so much fun. The handy thing about Elandra is that, you can just walk in anytime, and there is always something to eat or drink.
The canape at 5pm was very good and if you like a beer or wine, there's plenty as well.
After dinner, Elandra also served dessert drinks (port and irish cream etc).

The staff are really very friendly, being a long weekend, and almost everyone was off work, they had no problem being there. This was a big plus.

The kid was really looking forward to the fish feeding at 9:30 am. It was a neat thing to do.

We signed up for the Marriott Mega bonus, and are going back for a second stay next weekend. Hopefully this gets us a free night, fingers crossed.

There is a Marriott Club (myclub), with dinning discounts etc, something worth looking into if you stay with the chain or live near one enough to have meals at their restaurants.

Overall, excellent stay and Marriott and staff gets 5 out of 5 for our weekend. Well done!

Room Tip: ask for high floors if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtrapeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our two children 7 and 5. They loved it and were impressed by the pool and its fish. Our eldest was tall enough to ride a water slide at the pools, but our younger was not really catered to in the pool area in terms of entertainment. We hired sea scooters which were a hit with our boys for use in with the fish.

Poolside food service was great. Breakfast service was hit and miss. One day, the table service was great, but the buffet had no scrambled eggs. The next day the table service was non-existent until a rotation of staff and scrambled eggs were on offer, but the bread stand was empty so there was no toast for 20 mins until prompted, despite staff walking past with lattes on special order for other tables.

Our room was on the 21st level and was well appointed. The only criticism was that an effort to paint the tiles in the shower to refresh the room was let down by being incomplete, obviously where the paint tin might have been resting at the time.

Thank you to the balance of the staff who were very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing