We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This property was amazing! We had a twin room so two double beds and the beds weree amazinggggggggggg. So comfty. Went here on a famil group and it was just lovely!

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff with mocktails. Room we had is oceanview and it was just stunning. Balcony was a bit small though but thats okay. Rooms were bright and lovely even the bathroom. Our bathroom had separate shower and bath.

Hotel has a lagoon style big and it was very big! they had tropical fishes in the pool were you can use snorking equipment and swim with them, they also had a waterfall and a cave style with a spa pool in it. very much enjoyed the pool.

We had breakfast in the morning, it wasnt anything wow but still very good and filling it was a buffet breakfast.

We also had a look at the suites and president suites and they are stunnning, very large and the furniture was just awesome. would love to stay in one of those one day. I would recommend this to honeymooners or someone who is wanting to stay in style. It is a bit further away from cavill ave prob about 15 minute walk but it is a lovely place to stay in. reception was very big and they had very funky comfty chairs around rception area where you could sit and enjoy private time using the free lobby wifi. They didnt have wifi there when we stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missngoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for posting your fantastic comments on Tripadvisor and sharing your feedback with us.

We are very glad to hear that you had such a great time here and enjoyed the famil that was conducted recently at the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to the Gold Coast soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a last minute booking at the Marriott Surfers Paradise. Check in was efficient but didn't get a friendly feel. However, subsequent visit to reception had been fantastic.

The pool area was great for kids, and we spend some time exploring the caves.

The house keeping was poor, the floor and bathroom wasn't clean when we checked in. Daily serviced seem rushed with wet towel still left in the sink with no tidying up.

However, worst was their restaurants. The buffet quality was average, but their staff was generally rude, and felt that we should felt privileged just to be there. We went to the bar area and we were told that we were restricted with their menu when we were looking for something for our daughter to eat. We ended up finishing our drinks quickly so we can find some food suitable for a 20 months old else where. However, as we walked out, we can see sandwiches being served and was very disappointed.

We were asking for some coffees and was told they don't serve any there. However, on our way back from dinner, we can see coffees been brought to the bar area from the main restaurant.

Overall, I think the service is quite inconsistent and we feel that we coped the worst staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at our resort.

It is great to hear that you and your family had time to enjoy the resort’s facilities and loved our spectacular lagoon pool which offers guests the opportunity to swim and snorkel with a number of tropical fish, however, it is very disappointing to read that there were certain aspects of your stay that affected your overall experience here at our resort.

This is definitely not a normal practice and we take feedback from our guests very seriously as this allows us to improve in areas which require attention.

We would like to discuss the items you have raised with you over the phone so that we can gain further insights from your stay. Please contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time.

While I cannot take back the disappointment you have experienced, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered and look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

my friend & I stayed earlier this month for 1 night just for a bit of a treat.....and a treat it was. I don't want to rave about the elantra lounge too much, best secret on the gold coast. was worth the extra $$ that's for sure. the views from the lounge were spectacular, and you feel like you belong to an exclusive club that's there just for you and a few others. we stayed on the 26th floor with hinterland views, you can also see some of the ocean as well. the rooms are a good size with separate bath and shower being a bonus. the lagoon pool is fabulous with tropical fish to swim with (a good tip, take your snorkel & mask), lying on the lounge chairs in the sand feels like you're at the beach, staff at the hotel are a pleasure also, this was my 2nd time staying at the Marriott and wont be my last!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celeste2363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived and were told we had to wait and extra hour for check in as it was the long weekend. The room was nice and clean although the bathroom was a bit outdated. The place was teeming with kids so many not be the best place for a romantic weekend away though we still enjoyed sitting by the pool. We also really enjoyed dinner at the seafood buffet - a major highlight of our trip. Make sure you get up early to reserve a spot by the pool - it was packed!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talhotblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Haven't been back to the Marriott for a while, this time we got a Travelzoo promotional deal on Elandra Retreat.
We pulled up just after 12pm, gave our car keys to the staff (valet parking included) and check-in was really smooth. Room wasn't ready yet as it was a very busy long weekend. Off to the Elandra Retreat and had lovely cakes and fresh sandwiches, drinks and coffee for lunch. We had a room on the 26th Floor and it was very quiet. We spent a good deal of time at the lagoon swimming pool as the 6 y.o. was just having so much fun. The handy thing about Elandra is that, you can just walk in anytime, and there is always something to eat or drink.
The canape at 5pm was very good and if you like a beer or wine, there's plenty as well.
After dinner, Elandra also served dessert drinks (port and irish cream etc).

The staff are really very friendly, being a long weekend, and almost everyone was off work, they had no problem being there. This was a big plus.

The kid was really looking forward to the fish feeding at 9:30 am. It was a neat thing to do.

We signed up for the Marriott Mega bonus, and are going back for a second stay next weekend. Hopefully this gets us a free night, fingers crossed.

There is a Marriott Club (myclub), with dinning discounts etc, something worth looking into if you stay with the chain or live near one enough to have meals at their restaurants.

Overall, excellent stay and Marriott and staff gets 5 out of 5 for our weekend. Well done!

Room Tip: ask for high floors if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingtrapeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed with our two children 7 and 5. They loved it and were impressed by the pool and its fish. Our eldest was tall enough to ride a water slide at the pools, but our younger was not really catered to in the pool area in terms of entertainment. We hired sea scooters which were a hit with our boys for use in with the fish.

Poolside food service was great. Breakfast service was hit and miss. One day, the table service was great, but the buffet had no scrambled eggs. The next day the table service was non-existent until a rotation of staff and scrambled eggs were on offer, but the bread stand was empty so there was no toast for 20 mins until prompted, despite staff walking past with lattes on special order for other tables.

Our room was on the 21st level and was well appointed. The only criticism was that an effort to paint the tiles in the shower to refresh the room was let down by being incomplete, obviously where the paint tin might have been resting at the time.

Thank you to the balance of the staff who were very good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just love this place!!!
Have only been twice, but want to go more.....and I only live 30 minutes away!
Rooms are beautiful, clean and quiet and beds really comfortable. The pools are amazing - is a kids paradise. Slide, 2 water falls, swirl pool, spas, snorkeling, relaxing and just all round pleasant. We tried the lot....yep adults go down the slide too! Lots of fun.
The seafood buffet is the best I've ever had. Definitely worth every penny you pay. The food is really fresh, loads to choose from. Nothing seems to run out or even get messy like most buffets. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant.
The only disappointments I did have, were the pool side cocktails were not made well. Very watery and left sitting for a while. The pool accessories are also expensive to hire - snorkels, pool tubes etc. Also the first time we went the big poolside day beds were first in, first served....second time we went, they were roped off and had to pay $50 for an hour which is $1 too much considering the cost of the accommodation.
But that said, I'd still go back..........there's plenty of sun loungers instead.
As for location...why would you want to leave! Is too relaxing to be anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
502 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $205 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing