We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in August for a week.
The rooms are lovely with a small walk in robe and lots of storage space.
Breakfast was lovely, the only downside side was waiting for coffees to be made in the morning, as they get quite busy.
I stayed here for work and would quite happily bring my family here for a holiday

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theboydeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    582
    168
    61
    49
See reviews for
830
628
50
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times now, and really enjoy the ambiance and facilities. The entrance is spacious and perfumed with lillies, and as it's next to the pool area you do very quickly feel like you're walking into a tropical hideaway. The children love the fish feeding and snorkelling, and the lagoon water is usually comfortably warm. It does chill a little after some of the heavier rains - and oddly they close the pool in rain - scared you might get wet?? That lightening might ignore all the very tall buildings surrounding you and hit little you instead?? Annoying, but fortunately the storms tend to be quite spectacular and better viewed from your balcony anyway. The restaurant has a reasonable selection, though it's probably a bit pricier than it should be. I am allergic to seafood, so either have to order from the a la carte or overpay for a much narrower selection than other diners. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with good sized bathrooms, though the shower screens tend to let water out onto the floor and make it slippery so be cautious. The cons are fairly minor, we really enjoy staying here, and the spa is also excellent. Not so impressed with Benihana's, nothing new or different, all the food tastes of the same sauce it's all cooked in, you're paying for the standard show, not quality dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Annie,

Thank you for your loyalty of the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. It was great to have you stay with us again recently and we are glad that you had such an enjoyable time.

Our saltwater lagoon is always a favourite attraction especially for children as they can swim and snorkel with tropical fish in complete safety. Guests are welcome to access the pool area when it is raining although at times, we do close the pool area when there are damaging winds or severe weather warnings however, this is quite rare.

Benihana, our Japanese restaurant is a favourite for lots of our local and in house guests as the chefs always put on an entertaining show. All of the food is prepared on the teppan hot plate which enhances the natural flavours of the meats and seafood and the restaurant have recently introduced a new banquet menu, which offers seasonal specials as well as the normal favourites.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again next time and thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went to their main restaurant Citrique for lunch with a large group of people as they have a super menu on for $24.50. You can choose for a selection of mains and have a starter of soup, roll, salad bar which consists of a great variety of food that could fill you up right there. At the end of lunch you are even given complimentary coffees and chocolates. This is a great enticing lunch for locals as it is a lovely setting and the service is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gldcstgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I live on the gold Coast so I rarely stay at any of the Hotels here. However, every time I stay here, my expectations are exceeded by staff, management and the place itself.
I don't know exactly how they manage to be so much better at very level than just about any other place on the Coast, but they just do, year in, year out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
What a fantastic review! On behalf of our team here, we would like to thank you so much for your words of commendation and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor for other readers.

We very much appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have just stayed here for three nights for a conference and was very impressed by this hotel. The room was lovely, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly despite there being over two hundred delegates and the ambience of the hotel was one of welcoming luxury. The pool area is divine with the large free form pool being stocked with tropical fish for snorkelling . There were plenty of pool chairs . I dined at the Japanese restaurant one night - the food was excellent as were all the lunches which is very unusual for conference's. The gym had enough equipment so there was no waiting for a machine. My only complaint would be the slightly lacking amenities supply in the bathroom. I would like to see cotton buds and sticks added. I would definitely love to return here for a holiday.

Room Tip: The ocean / pool view room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekingese65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Despite being on Gold Coast highway, the room was exceptionally quiet and very well appointed ... It is nice to have a departure from the current fad of "clean and sleek" rooms which become sterile after a while, this room was stylish and homey! Beds were awesome and in house movies were included free!

Staff at this hotel were fantastic, very polite and accommodating, and even offered a later check out while the kids were swimming in the pool, which is one of the nicest around ... Awesome swimming with the tropical fish or just relaxing on a sun lounge while the kids played around and went in the grotto spa!

Cannot wait to return ... For a much longer stay next time

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Garl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I admit, I was not excepting great things from this hotel. It was a business conference and so while I can't really comment on the amenities i.e. spa and pool area, it all "looked" amazing. What I want to say is that the service was second-to-none. From concierge, check-in, restaurant staff, everyone seemed to love working at this hotel.

The rooms were a treat, with a balcony (unusual) and a huge room that was just standard, I can't fault anything. The gym was a decent size and when I needed urgent transfers arranged, the concierge had it all under control.

I would love to go back and this time take my family. The pool area amenities looked incredible.

It is a bit of a walk into town (10-15 mins), nothing else in its immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_73_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing