We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagoon pool was fabulous... But!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The lagoon pool with the tropical fish was spectacular, my children loved it. You could hire snorkels etc at a price. They have a water slide for the children, it's small but fun. Keep in mind they have an age restriction. One day my children could slide without question, next day I had to sign an authority form to allow them to slide.
We went in January, the hotel was full, so many people, the pool was full to capacity every day. Not much room to move.
Pool bar service wasn't 5 star at all, it took over 2 hrs for our glasses to be removed, I often ended up doing it for them. Guess you could say the pool bar service wasn't up to standard for the charges we paid.
Reception staff were great, we upgraded to a suite, it was lovely but definitely time for a refurb, if they have refurbished the hotel, this room must have been missed.
Must say that the room maintenance & room service/attention was great, our tv didn't work & the maintenance man was up to the room in no time fixing it & very kindly they gave us a free movie as an apology. Our safe was also locked so the maintenance man was up to fix that as well, as an apology we received a bottle of wine. Loved the way they said sorry for things that went wrong but disappointed that for the amount of money we paid our room wasn't as great as it should have been.
I'd definitely go back for the lagoon pool but wouldn't bother upgrading to a suite and wouldn't go again in january as its way to busy and hard to enjoy with so many people.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank ladypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,643 - 1,649 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The check in experience was excellent... Check in staff great!
The lobby area is attractive and spacious. We stayed on the 28th (top) floor and the room was obviously renovated, but comfortable with a great view of the Pacific Ocean.

There is a large parking area under the hotel, but many people who are not guests use the car park in weekends and this means it can be impossible for house guests to find a parking place.

The big letdown of the hotel was the main restaurant. The service was slow and unprofessional and the decor tired. The cost of a buffet breakfast was around $40. The stewed coffee was almost undrinkable and if one ordered an expresso type coffee there was an extra charge on top of the $40!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for you lovely comments regarding your stay, in particular, acknowledging the service provided by our Reception staff. As a team, we have focused greatly on the arrival experience guests receive when they check in so we appreciate your comments as it lets us know we are on the right track.

We do offer two levels of complimentary car parking at the resort and on weekends, it can be quite busy with in house guests and locals visiting the restaurants so I do apologize for the inconvenience this caused to you. We do offer a Valet Parking service which may be helpful next time you stay.

It is really disappointing to read that you were let down by the service offered in our main all day dining restaurant, Citrique and this is something that we have addressed with the Restaurant Manager and Supervisors to ensure that additional training is conducted, especially with our new associates. The restaurant was included as part of the resort's recent renovation in October 2011, and we have received some fantastic feedback on the decor and styling of the space as we are now able to offer a more interactive dining experience for guests to enjoy. We appreciate your comments regarding the pricing of the breakfast and additional cost of espresso coffees and will discuss this as a team.

We hope that overall you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax with your friends. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent first impression! The young man who checked us in was friendly and very helpful - the perfect receptionist! We loved the foyer of The Marriott and the rooms were equally attractive. We slept very well despite our reservations regarding the roadworks happening next to the hotel. However with the balcony door closed, there was very little noise. Comfortable beds too
The lagoon area is lovely although we did not see any fish - lots of lizards though. Very tropical and pleasing ambiance with a wandering pathway walk. We were there mid-week in March so unfortunately the pool bar was closed. We were still able to order a drink - service was just a little slower.
Breakfast was a little disappointing as we had read a few rave-reviews which had raised our expectations. We arrived halfway through the service time, but cooked items just didn't seem fresh enough. Our pot of tea was so weak it barely had any taste and did not even resemble tea. (A lovely second waitress did rectify this by bringing extra tea bags.) Variety was excellent though....and the Bircher muesli was delicious!
Overall these little things did not detract too much from our experience and we would stay again.
Our favorite receptionist made the effort to wave goodbye to us as we left, so this helped to make up for the couple of minor negatives. We appreciated his acknowledgement.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jafagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here at the resort in March. Our team especially loved reading your comments regarding your check in experience!

It is disappointing to read that our breakfast buffet offered at Citrique didn't live up to your expectations on this particular occasion although I am glad that you were impressed with the variety of dishes available. We thank you for your comments and have raised this feedback with the food & beverage team to ensure that all items, particularly the hot dishes are continually replenished and that the quality of freshly brewed tea and coffee is addressed accordingly.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to our resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I attended a conference there in early June. The location is awkward away from Main Beach and Surfers Paradise restaurant precincts and as getting access to the resort at the moment was crazy with all the roadwork going on about it you did feel a little trapped. The room and amenities was lovely however and parking at no charge was great.

Breakfast choices were numerous but only average I thought and for $38 was very expensive although my conference package included breakfast. Bar prices for a 275 ml beer were ridiculous between $7-$10 in the lobby lounge.

Hotel operators in Australia charge a fortune for Wifi in rooms and the Marriot was no exception. Free Wifi in lobby was good but the rates in the room were prohibitive. Why can't wifi be free like in the USA, Canada or Europe?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hi David,

It was great to have you with us for your recent conference and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am glad you were impressed with your room and were able to make use of the hotel's complimentary car parking during your stay.

While the hotel is located just north of Surfers Paradise and there has been some road works taking place recently, it is only a 10-15 minute walk to Cavill Avenue for those wishing to visit the precinct. Tedder Avenue in Main Beach is also a popular dining spot and is a 5 minute drive.

We do continually conduct regular reviews to ensure that our food and beverage pricing in the restaurants and bars, is consistent with what other 5 star hotels in the area are offering but will make a note to look at our beverage list in the Lobby Bar when the menus are next being reviewed.

Our Connect Lounge in the Lobby does offer complimentary WIFI and Marriott recognizes the importance of offering this service to its guests which is why complimentary WIFI is also provided in the rooms to all Marriott Reward members. The program is free to join so this may be useful to keep in mind for your next visit to the resort or when staying at other Marriott properties.

We do hope to see you again, whether your visit be for business or leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fantastic Service, Awesome pool and comfy beds. Swimming with the 400 Tropical fish was a highlight last time we were there but unfortunately this time they had lost most of the fish due to continuous heavy rains over March. The Japanese Restaurant there, although pricey, really is fantastic and would recommend this for one evening of your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I wouldnt call this a five star hotel. The price may be but thats all. Didnt get room cleaned till 3.15pm wanted to get in and have a shower and get changed had to find the girls and asked could they please do my room so i could get ready.
Staff were pleasant. We had breakfast brought to the room for the three days we stayed. It arrived cold. No need for that to happen. Had to ring up and ask for the fresh fruit. They had forgotten to put it on. The tea was luke warm. I would suggest that if you have breakfast go and in in the restaurant as i believe it was much better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Karen,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our resort. Feedback from our guests is invaluable to us as a team, as it allows us to make improvements and changes were needed.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by your room not being serviced until later in the afternoon. We did have a number of checkouts and guests arriving on that particular day which we were preparing for, however next time you stay, please do let us know what time will be best for us to service your room so that we can accommodate this request.

In regards to your comments about your room service breakfast, this is definitely not the standard you should expect and we appreciate you providing this feedback so that we are able to review with the team and address accordingly.

We do hope you will have the opportunity to return to our resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We found the service at The Marriott second to none. All the staff seemed happy in their jobs and nothing was a problem - a refreshing change from the norm!! Our room was great and over looking the pool/lagoon area and out to the ocean. Road works are noisy but I'd think that would be the case where ever you stay in Surfers at the moment. Breakfast was delicious with a huge amount of choice. The Spa was a real treat and being able to use the sauna and steam room an added bonus! The lagoon with fish is a great idea although a bit cold for me this time of the year, but that didn't seem to stop the kids that were around - they loved it. The only reason the score was 'very good' not 'excellent' was that some of the pool and bathroom tiles were cracked or missing making those areas feel a bit tired. Finally the Japanese restaurant was a fantastic experience great food as well as entertainment!

Room Tip: Join the Mattiott Club and get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $207 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing