We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "normal" Marriott property I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is all around an excellent hotel in just about every way. The room was high up and very nicely laid out, with a great view of the beach and the lagoon/"snorkle pool" on the hotel property. Plently of closet space and a nice comfy King bed. The food was excellent (I ate at Benihana) and I got to meet a good group of other guests at my eclectic hibachi table. The breakfast buffet was awesome every morning, with a good variety of international fair and anything else you could really ever hope for. I felt that the staff were a step above the norm: at each individual interaction they did seem to want to take the extra step and tell me about something fun around town or just cheerfully smile and make small talk. The only downsides were that the hotel is not 100% on the beach, so to speak, it is 2 blocks away. Also Surfer's is currently undergoing a bit of construction as they install a light rail down the middle of the main drag, but I can't fault the hotel for the street construction. . . Great stay, excellent staff, and a really cool city. Marriott gold or higher members get some pretty cool perks too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,691 - 1,697 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Surfers Paradise Marriott maintains the worldwide standard of the Marriott chain. Large rooms, comfortable bed, excellent restaurant and very helpful staff.
My room faced the main road but was still quiet which is essential for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great resort, especially for families with kids. Top buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner for those who are after good food. The lagoon + pools are great even if the weather is not that flash. Despite being located just outside of Surfers Paradise main shopping and entertainment centre it was well worth choosing the hotel over location right in the heart of Surfers. The hotel has free parking for all guests which was very handy. It is easy to get onto the main roads from the hotel to the fun theme parks as well. Staff were brilliant, especially Julia from the Citrique Restaurant where we had our breakfast every morning and had some lunch and dinner there as well. Would highly recommend this hotel for anybody, whether for business or holiday. Yes, there are lots of families with children because they cater for them so well but to be honest, it didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: We booked a double Ocean View room which was ok but beds a bit small for couples but we knew that be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was really looking forward to our stay here, was a treat for my husbands 40th birthday. Had prebooked a room and breakfast package (2 adults and 2 chidlren) through the hotels website. Upon arrival was informed by a reception staff member that I would have to pay for the children's breakfast as it was not included in the deal I booked, Thankfully I had bought a print out of my booking which I showed the staff member. The looked over the document and stated that "this time we will let the kids eat for free" Huh? It was what I had booked. Proceeded to our room which was clean and had a lovely view, but again, depsite booking a 'family'deal, only had two towels, two pool towels, and two cups, glasses etc. A phone call to housekeeping got us some more supplies in a reasonable time. Were really looking forward to the snorkelling as we all love this activity. Met a friendly staff member on the way who informed us we could hire snorkelling gear at an overinflated price near the pool. Unforturnately, the snorkelling was not what we had expected, very few fish and rubbish at the bottom of the pool. Disappointing. The other pool and the spas however were excellent. We had the seafood buffet for dinner which was sensational and I highly recommend. The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet but were a bit annoyed that it took three attempts of asking a surly waitress for a cup of coffee before we successfully obtained a cup from another waitress. Overall, it is a lovely hotel but service and smiles was in short supply and the snorkelling was just a big disappointment. Was hoping for something a bit more profesisonal for the price.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room as stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40thflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

As a team, we are disappointed to read that some aspects of your recent stay at our resort, did not live up to your expectations and that this affected your time here while celebrating such a special occasion.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the confusion upon check in regarding the package you had booked and also the service you experienced from some of our staff during your stay. We thank you for providing this feedback, so that these issues can be addressed with the various teams.

In regards to our saltwater lagoon, unfortunately due to the recent changed weather patterns, where we have experienced increasingly intense and prolonged rain periods, it has affected the salt levels in our lagoon. To resolve this issue, we will be installing a Brine generator in the coming weeks which will assist in raising the salinity of the water to a level where it will sustain a larger fish population so that we are able to reintroduce additional fish into the lagoon.

I am glad to hear that you loved the Seafood Buffet offered at Citrique and enjoyed the ocean views from your room and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to our resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our guests were staying at this hotel. We met them for a dinner in the restaurant and made a reservation for 15 minutes at the check in desk. We walked up the corridor needed to wait 10 minutes at the restaurant reception. There was an argument presented that we did not have a booking. We were one of only 3 groups waiting but they seemed very disorganised. We had booked for 7 people. We showed to 2 separate tables and needed to argue for the tables to be bought together and were met with great resistance. The service was terrible. My friend had risotto that was gluggy and reheated, a simple fish and chips seemed to be frozen and then oily. The agnolotti was distasteful. We waited a long time for the meals. The table next to us remained uncleared for the entire time we were there. We completed the meal and were left with plates for the duration of our visit. The children had dessert from the dessert bar. We were not offered the dessert menu. A waitress came up at the end with bill in hand and said " you don't want coffee do you " and promptly handed the bill before we had an opportunity to answer. As we have recently moved to the Coast we are looking for places to take national and international guests. This will not be on our list

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your evening when dining at Citrique recently.

I apologise for the service that you experienced and food quality on this particular occasion as this is not the standard to which we aspire.

We do take feedback from our guests very seriously and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these comments personally with you so that these issues can be addressed. Please feel free to contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we were a bit hesitant to say after reading some bad reviews on here but when we got there we were amazed at how beautiful it was. the staff were all so helpful and pleasant. our room was a bit pricey but it was worth it. our bed was huge. the room was cleaned perfectly every day. Also the view was the best!

The swimming pool was the best part of the whole place. it was like your own mini beach with out the fear of sharks and jelly fish. there was fish in the pools and you could hire snorkeling gear to go have a look at all the beautiful fish. there was also a lot of other things to buy from the pool shop that you could use for the pool which was a great idea.

the Japanese restaurant in the hotel is a must go if you are a couple. it is very good entertainment. even if you are not a fan of Japanese food, you will love it here.

Overall I was so happy with this place after our 3 night stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights, the weather was terrible, windy and rain. So didn't really didn't get to enjoy the pool, Kids did though. Buffet for Breakfast and dinner is up there re cost, but there is plenty of choice and the food was top quality. Enjoyed there Spa with a relaxing massage, top Knotch. Had a few drinks in the Bar once again relaxing. Only problem was the room wasn't that clean on arrival but was fixed pretty quickly after phone call to housekeeping,found the beds uncomfortable, but that might of been just me. Good place for a quick break, would have been better if we could have relaxed in the sun around the pool but the weather conspired against us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $189 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing