We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
QT Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$168
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
$154
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
$306
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$134
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$109
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$164
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)
$105
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mantra on View Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$111
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Legends Hotel(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
$101
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,548)
Filter reviews
2,548 results
Traveler rating
1,567
663
196
64
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,567
663
196
64
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstropical fishcitrique restaurantfish feedingelandra retreatelandra clubsalt water lagoonjunior suitepool areaseafood buffetlobby barthe gold coastvacation clubman made beachhigh teaamazing poolthe club loungeroom service
Filter
Updating list...
1,866 - 1,871 of 2,548 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was really looking forward to our stay here, was a treat for my husbands 40th birthday. Had prebooked a room and breakfast package (2 adults and 2 chidlren) through the hotels website. Upon arrival was informed by a reception staff member that I would have to pay for the children's breakfast as it was not included in the deal I booked, Thankfully I had bought a print out of my booking which I showed the staff member. The looked over the document and stated that "this time we will let the kids eat for free" Huh? It was what I had booked. Proceeded to our room which was clean and had a lovely view, but again, depsite booking a 'family'deal, only had two towels, two pool towels, and two cups, glasses etc. A phone call to housekeeping got us some more supplies in a reasonable time. Were really looking forward to the snorkelling as we all love this activity. Met a friendly staff member on the way who informed us we could hire snorkelling gear at an overinflated price near the pool. Unforturnately, the snorkelling was not what we had expected, very few fish and rubbish at the bottom of the pool. Disappointing. The other pool and the spas however were excellent. We had the seafood buffet for dinner which was sensational and I highly recommend. The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet but were a bit annoyed that it took three attempts of asking a surly waitress for a cup of coffee before we successfully obtained a cup from another waitress. Overall, it is a lovely hotel but service and smiles was in short supply and the snorkelling was just a big disappointment. Was hoping for something a bit more profesisonal for the price.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room as stunning views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40thflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

As a team, we are disappointed to read that some aspects of your recent stay at our resort, did not live up to your expectations and that this affected your time here while celebrating such a special occasion.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the confusion upon check in regarding the package you had booked and also the service you experienced from some of our staff during your stay. We thank you for providing this feedback, so that these issues can be addressed with the various teams.

In regards to our saltwater lagoon, unfortunately due to the recent changed weather patterns, where we have experienced increasingly intense and prolonged rain periods, it has affected the salt levels in our lagoon. To resolve this issue, we will be installing a Brine generator in the coming weeks which will assist in raising the salinity of the water to a level where it will sustain a larger fish population so that we are able to reintroduce additional fish into the lagoon.

I am glad to hear that you loved the Seafood Buffet offered at Citrique and enjoyed the ocean views from your room and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to our resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our guests were staying at this hotel. We met them for a dinner in the restaurant and made a reservation for 15 minutes at the check in desk. We walked up the corridor needed to wait 10 minutes at the restaurant reception. There was an argument presented that we did not have a booking. We were one of only 3 groups waiting but they seemed very disorganised. We had booked for 7 people. We showed to 2 separate tables and needed to argue for the tables to be bought together and were met with great resistance. The service was terrible. My friend had risotto that was gluggy and reheated, a simple fish and chips seemed to be frozen and then oily. The agnolotti was distasteful. We waited a long time for the meals. The table next to us remained uncleared for the entire time we were there. We completed the meal and were left with plates for the duration of our visit. The children had dessert from the dessert bar. We were not offered the dessert menu. A waitress came up at the end with bill in hand and said " you don't want coffee do you " and promptly handed the bill before we had an opportunity to answer. As we have recently moved to the Coast we are looking for places to take national and international guests. This will not be on our list

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank annieofnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your evening when dining at Citrique recently.

I apologise for the service that you experienced and food quality on this particular occasion as this is not the standard to which we aspire.

We do take feedback from our guests very seriously and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these comments personally with you so that these issues can be addressed. Please feel free to contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 at a convenient time. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

we were a bit hesitant to say after reading some bad reviews on here but when we got there we were amazed at how beautiful it was. the staff were all so helpful and pleasant. our room was a bit pricey but it was worth it. our bed was huge. the room was cleaned perfectly every day. Also the view was the best!

The swimming pool was the best part of the whole place. it was like your own mini beach with out the fear of sharks and jelly fish. there was fish in the pools and you could hire snorkeling gear to go have a look at all the beautiful fish. there was also a lot of other things to buy from the pool shop that you could use for the pool which was a great idea.

the Japanese restaurant in the hotel is a must go if you are a couple. it is very good entertainment. even if you are not a fan of Japanese food, you will love it here.

Overall I was so happy with this place after our 3 night stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtripadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights, the weather was terrible, windy and rain. So didn't really didn't get to enjoy the pool, Kids did though. Buffet for Breakfast and dinner is up there re cost, but there is plenty of choice and the food was top quality. Enjoyed there Spa with a relaxing massage, top Knotch. Had a few drinks in the Bar once again relaxing. Only problem was the room wasn't that clean on arrival but was fixed pretty quickly after phone call to housekeeping,found the beds uncomfortable, but that might of been just me. Good place for a quick break, would have been better if we could have relaxed in the sun around the pool but the weather conspired against us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had booked to stay for 6 nights in an Ocean View room though due to noise on the Wednesday night caused by the roadworks out the front that continued all through the night requested to be moved to a Hinterland Room which was done and made our stay one to be highly recommended.
The Hinterland room on the 25th floor still had ocean views and a beautiful view of the Gold Coast especially at night when the view is spectacular! It also removes your line of vision from the roadworks and the broken tiles from the "incident" that had happened the week before which my twelve year old discovered and pointed out to the rest of us within minutes of entering the first room.
The swimming pool was absolutely beautiful, well maintained and a sanctuary to relax and use the pools, waterfall and outdoor spa's. One spa was located in a rock area and the other overlooking one of the pools.
My boy's absolutely loved the water slide and we took along our own mask and snorkel from home and made the most of snorkeling with the fish and exploring the pool area.
We also used the steam room and the sauna and I had a wonderful massage and facial where the staff were absolutely lovely, Tara in particular.
Room service was reasonably priced and the best room service I have ever had. Fresh, good serving sizes and absolutely delicious.
We had breakfast each morning at Citrique ($65 family package)and one morning when we had to leave early because of a fun run that we were attending the staff arranged breakfast to be delivered to our room.
The buffet breakfast was absolutely lovely with a wonderful selection and caring staff. One morning we were there and an elderly lady started crying and a young blonde staff member consoled her and should be commended on her caring and professional attitude.
My only complaint was the filter coffee that was available was terrible.
We attended Benihana's one night and had the best time. It was my youngest's 8th birthday and the chef's sang him Happy Birthday and he was so happy.
All in all I would recommend this property as the staff were really friendly, pool area not to be missed, rooms comfortable enough and we had a wonderful holiday. Do it!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would reccomend the hinterland view to obscure the view of the roadworks.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareekelly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews