We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I'm a big fan of the Marriott chain and the Marriott at Surfers Paradise did not disappoint. Sadly, as I was only passing through, I only stayed there for one night and so wasn't able to experience all that was on offer. However, the bedroom was comfortable and spacious with plenty of storage space, a large TV, fully stocked mini-bar, and so on. The bathroom was a good size with separate bath and shower facilities as well as plenty of toiletries. There was a balcony that boasted magnificient views (see the photos) of the pool below and the surrounding area. As is always the case with Marriott staff, the people here were friendly and courteous and the check-in and out procedures were hassle free. The bar and hotel cafe served an excellent selection of drinks and snacks, although I did not eat at any of the restaurants. The 24 hour business facilities proved most helpful as I was able to access computers and printers late at night which proved to be necessary. The most amazing feature of this hotel is its outdoor swimming pool. I have never seen anything quite like it. First off, it is huge. Second, there are makeshift beaches surrounding it and a tropical fish area where you can snorkel should you so wish. The hotel is not as central as some of its competitors and it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk into the centre which is full of bars, restaurants and shops. However, providing it isn't raining, the walk is a pleasant one. I will most certainly return to this hotel and for a longer period.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKGrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    575
    166
    59
    49
See reviews for
823
619
50
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this grand hotel in January this year for 4 nights - it was a wonderful hotel, we all had plenty to do when we wanted to, or laz by the beach pool or other pool. The room had 2 queen beds with a superb ocean view & canal view. The bathroom was very luxurious & very large. The room was big enough for the 4 of us. Will without a doubt be going there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay, I took my mum for a short break. She absolutely loved the hotel. I stayed with husband for five nights over December and I have to say it was a lot busier then but this being due to Christmas holidays. This time we had a few issues,nothing major, but was out from 9 am one of the mornings got back at 3:30pm and our room still hadn't been done which was fairly annoying. We ended up going Downstairs and sitting by the pool another half hr while room was being done and returned to find our card which we left in the slot near door for aircon wasn't there ! The room had been cleaned but obviously the cleaner had forgotten to replace it. Called 9 to tell them and was told it would be brought up waited a hr and nothing so called again and it was brought up right away. This is my third stay at this hotel and I have to say service was lacking a little. Ordered room service twice and have to say no complaints with the food. Wagyu beef burger was delicious and double fried chips with aoli yummy no complaints. Ordered pizzas last time and wouldnt get those again as they need some work. The lobby area of the hotel as well as the pool area is absolutely beautiful and has been on every visit. The rooms are nice, and the beds are comfortable. A few little let downs this time but i would stay here again. I did find the roadworks and sound of drilling not far away very annoying and didn't get to enjoy sitting on the balcony this time. The constant buzz ofnthe drilling was annoying but not the hotels fault. Will return again when hubby and I have kids as pool area is perfect and safe for kids to play.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Am1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for posting about your most recent stay at our resort. We are pleased that you and your mum loved our facilities, and appreciate you choosing our resort to enjoy a relaxing break together.

We do apologise for the issues you experienced in regards to service from our housekeeping and Front Office Teams and am sorry for the inconvenience caused to you as this is not the standard to which you should expect.

We appreciate you letting us know about your stay so that we can follow up on the items you raised and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in Surfers. Stayed recently with my family of 4 and loved it. Service was great & kids loved the pool & spa. They do offer a buffet style breaky for $36pp & dinner at $72. Didn't try the Buffett as it was a little pricey. Room was immaculately cleaned each day & hotel was always staffed with professional & helpful staff. Will definitely visit the Marriott again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
290 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and must say how very disapointed both my wife & I were with the obvious cutting of costs to save money.
The hotel and pool area itself was fabulous, however, the food was extremely poor for this type hotel and the coffee even worse!
Would we stay there again? Absolutely not!

Room Tip: Based on the food quality I wouldn't even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMC000111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I believe you spoke with our Director of Food & Beverage yesterday and I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with our team so that the issues you raised in regards to our food quality can be investigated and resolved accordingly. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations on your last visit to our hotel.

The support of our regular guests is always very much appreciated so we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
238 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

It is a grand hotel. The lobby is large with a magnificent winding staircase from the floor above. The lobby is decorated with an Indonesian flavour of wood and wicker. Our room had white linens and very comfortable bedding and pillows. Our view from the 25 th floor was towards the inner waterway and islands, although we could see the ocean as well. The balcony door was open and the room was full of fresh air. Bathroom is large with separate shower and bath. The grounds are lovely, although there was some construction going on close to the pool. It's pool area provides private areas as well as their own beach and tropical fish stocked swimming area. We had a few drinks in the bar and some food from the bar menu. The restaurant food is quite pricey as is typical for these hotels. Parking however (self) is free which is a bonus. Had a nice relaxing time here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous times in the past, hence my surprise at being asked to prove my identity on check in, and having to fill out all my details again, which they would have on record, the hotels facilities are excellent but they appear to have lost that personal touch that I and my wife have been very impressed with in the past.
I think it is time to move on!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katesy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our resort once again. We appreciate your loyalty and for your kind words regarding our facilities.

When our guests book through a third party website such as Wotif.com, Expedia.com, or Lastminute.com, we are required to obtain copies of identification from guests upon check in so that we can provide it to the third party company when required - it is not a standard policy of the resort to ask for identification in this way.

When booking through online or external channels, guest profiles and history from previous stays at the property are not recorded in your booking. I apologise for the way you felt upon checkin and that you were not recognised as one of our return guests, having stayed many times in the past.

We do hope you will choose to return to the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing