We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent resort property”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is an excellent resort property that features a number of high quality amenities at reasonable prices. The rooms are nicely furnished and bathroom with separate tub & showers. The breakfast buffet is one of the largest and most plentiful that I've seen in a long time, and the hotel bar has a decent selection of food and drink options. The pools include one saltwater beach and a freshwater one as well. Snorkeling equipment is available for rent in the pool area.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and service was top-notch. The beach is about a 5-10 minute walk across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GovernorofRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    599
    171
    61
    50
See reviews for
849
649
50
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Didnt book ahead at prime time however with the help of lovely staff especially LISA managed
to get our family 3 nights. I would like to give LISA a big thank you, she made our stay at the Marriot all the better with her kindness and attention at all times.

The pillows and bed were to die for!!

Will definately be returning soon and recomending to others!! Had a great time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments - I will be sure to pass these onto Lisa.

We are glad you all had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in early January with my partner, loved the recent renovations as we had been here in late 2010 and is a marked improvement.

The room was very nice and clean and a very comfortable bed. Air con was very effective and the gym is quite good for a Hotel.

The Service was very good and everyone very professional.

My partner visited the Spa and she loved it!

Room service was very nice and all in all pretty affordable, similarly the outside pool bar and coffee shop. Only dined at the new Critique Restaurant once for dinner and once for Breakfast, was nice enough and call me old fashioned but I find these Buffet style expensive, unless you make an absolute pig of yourself. Much rather sit down to an À la carte meal, which they do offer.

My only real gripe was the number of Children that were running around the Hotel at all hours of the day and their parents complete disregard for other guests, crawling around the Restaurant and screaming - throwing tantrums at the drop of a hat. While this isn't really the hotels problem My opinion is to perhaps re classify this as a Kid Friendly or family orientated hotel and perhaps steer clear if you are looking for a nice relaxing couple retreat. One thing you could improve is making the Business Center kid free, its not an video game arcade, I had real trouble getting on a PC to write an important email while kids were playing games for hours on end that i couldn't write on my Iphone

So all in all was a nice time however be warned of the kids club vibe if you go in peak season.

Room Tip: All foors seem to offer good views of beach or Hinterland
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255060Jamesb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa - we are glad that you were impressed with the resort's recent renovations and enjoyed your stay overall.

The resort is a popular choice for families as children love our outdoor lagoon, waterslide and pool area. We do also offer a Kids Club during the School Holidays for families looking for additional activities to keep their children entertained.

We appreciate your comments regarding our Business Centre and will definitely be taking steps to address this concern. I apologise for the inconvenience that this caused you during your stay.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again in the future and we look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

In October 2012 we held out Weddng at the Marriott.
We spent many hours on the phone with Louise the event cordinator planning this event.
WE live in New Zealand so were concerned as to what we might get.. Louise was wonder and full of helpfull information and advice for us.Everything that could be thought of was and the day was everything we could have possibly dreamed of.
The Marriot was a fantistic location and backdrop for our photos. The grand staircase was the perfect entrance for the Bride with the guests waiting for her at the bottom of this...What a wonderfull way to start the wedding.
The photos were taken in the grounds around the waterfull and pool with stunning shots as the sun went down.The meal was served that was far better that any other wedding meal that we have ever been to .
The room that we were put in was stunning with full views of the ocean and pool.
Several of our wedding guest also stayed here and they loved there time here also
If you are thinking of a location for your wedding then you could not do any better that this wonderfull location
Thankyou Marriott for making our dreams come true and a perfect way to start our new life together

Room Tip: Choose a sea view and enjoy waking up to the waves and sun rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Firstly, congratulations! Thank you for your kind comments - I will be sure to pass these on to Louise and her team.

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion here at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you both back when you next visit our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Overall the hotel is great. The standout by far is their salt walter lagoon pool that has tropical fish in it and the boys both loved it! Bring your snorkels and pool toys as the hotel will gladly charge you $10/day to hire a snorkel and $5/day for a pool noodle.

The other pool has water slide that has a minimum 120cm requirement (but you can sign a waiver which we only found out the last day if you have kids smaller than that - Important tip!).

Breakfast buffet was huge, but expensive if it wasn't included in your room. $36 / adult, and $20/child. Children 5 and under get to eat for free though. Decent coffee is additional (This is a major gripe at hotels - same as charged wifi).

We had level 25 hinterland views which were fine, and we didn't miss the beach view at all as we weren't in the room that often.

The Elandra club upgrade is worth it for a little peace and quite, and it's quite a spectacle to see the free drinks at 5:30pm and the hordes descend on the bar/buffet (quite a few people considered this as the place to get their kids fed).

Tip for families: The theme parks have huge queues for everything during school holidays. I am not sure they limit the number of people allowed at them - see my reviews for the theme parks if you want to know more.

Room service was quick, although you can get better pizza's delivered by someone like Crust then they make onsite.

Room Tip: Elandra Club Rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam_sydney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had not stayed at the Marriott for a while, and noticed some changes - particularly in the public areas, and not all of which add to the ambience of this beautifully designed hotel. The pool is still great to swim in - and seems to be heated again. The lagoon had hardly any fish in it - which is a shame. And the Bali-style double-beds by the pool are a bit weird. Food in the restaurant was good, as was our in-room breakfast. Staff were polite, with good check in/out. So, yes, we would still recommend this hotel for a great family holiday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are glad that you had the opportunity to come back and visit the resort as a family in December.

Thank you for your comments in regards to the food quality in the restaurants and service during your stay. These are areas that as a team we are continually focused on so it is great to hear that you had such a positive experience.

Since your last stay, the resort underwent a major refurbishment which included upgrades to all of the guest rooms, the new restaurant - Citrique, the lobby area and landscaping around the lagoon.

The poolside day beds were designed as part of the refurbishment for guests wishing to enjoy a more comfortable area as they relax by the lagoon and have been quite popular.

Currently in our lagoon we have over 350 tropical fish and the daily fish feeding, which we conduct at 9.30am is a great opportunity for guests to see them all at any one time. Due to the very hot conditions over the last few weeks, we have noticed that a lot of the fish are choosing to stay around the caves and rocks near the waterfall which in some areas is over 4 metres deep. We continually introduce new species of fish into the lagoon on a regular basis and always maintain a level of between 350 - 400 fish at any time.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

As on Mystery hotel on Wotif i wasn't sure what we were getting for s long deserved holiday and i thought lets hav some fun so bought 5 days away in five star hotel at great price and when payed the Marriott came up .
We scored big time couldn't get on the plane fast enough lol
Walking in to the Hotel was wow as a very big entrance and chandeliers coming down with an amazing stair case behind very impressive (we climbed these a few times a day for exercise ) lol
.As early they they stored our bags ( service staff all very friendly) and we went to this Oasis of of a pool . One for kids , a slide , a salt water pool everything u need to relax . Kava as at price ( should be free )
snorkeling in salt water ( this cost should be complementary too or donation towards fish care as syiske money but for the fish )) as fish included for our delight then two amazing hot tubs . One in a man made cave included with toilets hidden in them and a Beautiful waterfall fall into the salt pool great for shoulder massages as hubby said)
We had cocktails and food which was great round the pool and beach then went up to our room which impressed me by the cleanses and space we had to
Live in for five days with teenage son -.
We had two long sized double bed s big enough for 6' 2 hubby and sleep time was heaven , very comfortable excellent sleeps
Balcony was small but we had amazing view of city hinterland and some of the beach just about everything . Beautiful lights at night I love views so this was important me .
Higher up is better as we were 20th floor .

Surfers Paradise( 10 -15 mins) is in walking distance as beach is not far either ( beach 2 mins )

Room service is excellent and hot impressed . Didn't hav buffet as conscience of my weight after xmas though looked amazing and fresh
Service is above 5
Would come again and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
It is great to hear that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at our resort and it lived up to your expectations.

I am glad you had the opportunity to spend some time by the lagoon as it really is a highlight of our resort.

We thank you for your suggestion regarding snorkel hire and will discuss this as a team when we are next reviewing our pool experience.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon when you next choose to holiday on the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
2.8 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing