We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable except for the algae...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Returned from another nice stay at the Surfers Marriott. This was our first trip since the renovation and I didn't really find that much different (which was fine because I like the way it is/was). The rooms were still nice and clean with plenty of space and a big wardrobe and big bathroom with separate bath and shower. The products (shampoo/conditioner/body wash etc) were not the best though (compared to Sofitel who have yummy orange fragrance Roger & Gallet products).
The breakfast was as good as you would expect for $40 per person and I found the pool bar and room service to be excellent value for money.
The only disappointment was the pool area (which is why we book this place). This time around the pool with the reef was quite messy with algae, it was floating around infront of our goggles the whole time. Early one morning my son and husband found 2 dead fish on the bottom! We went in school holidays and the lack of staff meant that the water slide was only opened intermittently when the staff were not required at the pool bar. This was very disappointing to the kids lined up.
All in all we still enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are nice and I managed to unwind and relax around the pool while sipping cocktails. The food was great and we slept soundly. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank TracyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a relaxing stay and had an opportunity to unwind during your visit.

We appreciate your feedback with regards to your experience around the lagoon and apologise that this affected your stay. We do not use any chemicals in the lagoon so manually scrubbing the algae from the edges of the lagoon is our only control. The algae is a critical part of the artificial eco-system, as a lot of the smaller species of fish do feed on it so the trick for us is to balance the ability to swim with fish and actually have an environment where they will survive.

We will also be following up your comments on the number of staff by the pool, particularly when the water slide is in operation.

Thank you for your ongoing support of our hotel and bringing these items to our attention so that we can address accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,883 - 1,889 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

The resort is located at the edge of the popular Surfer’s Paradise district. Having stayed in half a dozen accommodation throughout Gold Coast, I have to say this is one of the better ones. The hotel lobby seemed to be renovated recently. Color combination & furnishing gives the lobby a very tropical & holiday feel to it.

We were given a room on a mid-level floor with a partial ocean view. Despite the room being newly refurbished not too long ago, that vibrance & exciting atmosphere from the reception failed to carry itself into guest rooms. Red & white dominated the room, inspired by their company logo perhaps? Tiles at the shower is mouldy & seemed to be semi-peeled-off (see photo). We changed room but the problem remained.

Furthermore, there is a major road construction going on. Noise from the jackhammer goes well past midnight, meaning you can’t sleep with balcony doors open in order to enjoy the ocean breeze.

Critique - the restaurant located at the lobby offers a lunch special that redefines ‘value’ - choice of main plus a HUGE selection of salads, soups, freshly baked bread, heaps of ice-cream & your choice of both cold & hot toppings all for just $20! Needless to say, we had lunch here two days in a row.

As for facilities, there is a large lagoon pool which you can swim with the fishes! For those racquet sports lovers, there are (extremely sandy) artificial grass tennis courts available for guest use, but you have to pay to rent the worn-out equipment from the reception which we did, a stark contrast to the Lilianfels Resort where we played tennis with well maintained equipment not needing to pay additional charges.

Overall, it is a decent resort at the edge of Surfer’s Paradise CBD, around 15 minutes walk to city centre. Like I mentioned before, the lunch special is a must try.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knockitdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for highlighting areas where there is a need for improvement.

A $20 million refurbishment of the resort was completed in October 2011, and included upgrades to all guest rooms, the lobby, exterior landscaping, conference facilities, and our new restaurant, Citrique, which I am glad you had the opportunity to experience. The guest rooms were remodelled and feature neutral colours with accents of coral to tie in with the main theme throughout the resort.

The Gold Coast is currently getting ready for the upcoming Gold Coast 600 event which will be held from 19 - 21 October 2012. The work that you mentioned could have been from the set up of the grand stands located on the northern end of the Gold Coast Highway.

Thank you for bringing the issue with the bathroom and tennis equipment to our attention so that we can address these items.

We hope that you will choose to return again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great for kids but not for adults.

We've stayed in plenty of hotels at this price range but this hotel does not support 500 AUD per night, ( junior suite.).

We waited about 15 mins to check in.
The balcony was inadequate, you can just about seat two on it but forget about eating outside.
The room was not spotless.
The pool did not offer enough loungers.
The elandra lounge was too noisy and overrun by kids, even in the evenings.

So don't come here if you want a quiet weekend away.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback.

We are dissapointed to hear that you did not have a relaxing experience while staying at the resort recently.

The September school holidays are one of our peak periods during the year and the resort is a popular choice for families. I apologise that this impacted on your stay.

We appreciate your comments in regards to your room and the number of lounges by the pool. We will be addressing these issues accordingly.

We hope that you will choose to return again so that we have the opportunity to regain your confidence in the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's taken me a few days of reflection to write this review and I think it's because this hotel is what it is and what it is, is what it says it is - catch my drift? Swift and pleasant concierge/door staff; reception staff professional and responsive; breakfast staff a bit inconsistent - but again pleasant; housekeeping at a very good standard.

Breakfast - room pleasant, food very nice - buffet (includes made to order omelette) and a la carte.

Foyer/lobby eye catching and 'grand' in the way these spaces should be and very in keeping with the Queensland tropical aesthetic. Much dusting and cleaning of the decorations (dried flowers and shells and other coastal objects) everyday.

My room with balcony - south facing so ocean and hinterland views was very high floor (does having a marriott card make a difference?) - was quiet and pleasant; it's difficult to recall much detail after a few days though - just another nice hotel room with comfy bed and my favourite down pillows. Oh yes - the modest size wardrobe had lots of good coathangers (thank you!). Looking at some other reviews there's clearly a range of rooms on offer (which is normal I guess) - curtains were doubles - block out and privacy type. Opposite to one reviewer - I couldn't get the room cool enough to really sleep comfortably but that's a quibble I have with most hotels.

Just a stroll to the beach and various cafes and stores. A short taxi/car ride to the restaurants at Tedder Av - Main beach.

So yes petal - Marriott gold coast delivers what it says it will deliver for the guests it expects.

Room Tip: Any room at a gold coast hotel facing the ocean is likely to be warm and bright in the morning - sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your comments about our resort.

While there are some areas where consistency needs to be looked at, we are glad to hear that your perception of the resort and your experience during your stay was positive.

We hope that you will return again one day soon and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just stayed for another week at our favorite hotel. Doesn't disappoint. Would recommend room service for kids as they have an incredibly good value kids menu.
Of all the places we have stayed in the GC over the years, this is the only place I would really call a 'Resort'. Enjoyed so much, we couldn't be bothered to leave the pool area most days.
Will be back. Only criticism if I can find one, is that the portion sizes for the food & drinks around the pool seem to have shrunk over the last 12 months, and my kids desperately want the thin chips back instead of the chunky ones served around the pool. I think I can live with that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your recent stay. I am glad that you and your family were able to take advantage of the warmer weather and enjoyed the lagoon and pool area during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the food offering by the pool and will discuss this further with the team as we are always looking for areas where we can improve.

We are glad that you will be back again and look forward to seeing you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently returned from our annual trip to the Marriott feeling cross and disappointed. Although the resort and grounds are still beautiful the human experience was rubbish. The staff at the pool cafe were rude and the service was shameful.

Also, my children needed to rush to get a pool deck chair every morning as the pool was used by external 'guests'. My daughter befriended four girls at the pool who made up a game of 'who can scream the loudest going down the water slide". Not one of the 'screamers' was staying at the resort. Apparently you simply use a friend's swipe card and the Marriott looks the other way as the external day trippers pay cash at the pool cafe and no asks for their room number. Not a peaceful, relaxing pool side experience.

We stayed in the more expensive Elandra section and the same game continued. Sitting in the Elandra club cafe, I overheard a loud 'lady' encouaging other non Elandra guests to help themselves to everything, anytime with her Elandra swipe card. Marriott staff didn't ask once for a room number or simply did not care.

The towels in the room were very thin and tired. The bathroom robes had been washed so many times that they had shrunk to a size 0. The bathroom kit of shampoo and other toiletries were no name (made in China) Big W standard!.

Also, if you want a peaceful holiday please note that the local government is building a light rail down the middle of the main highway outside the Marriott. A little bit of jack hammering anyone!!!

Finally, the Citrique experience. Quite good and lots of choice. My 5 year old daughter wanted strawberries in her breakfast fruit salad. I asked staff and was told"not today" I saw a punnet of strawberries at the local Harbout town that day for $1.50 a punnet. We were also told that they had run out of apple juice.!!!! At the pancake station I watched a chef refill the maple syrup with Cottees imitation flavoured maple syrup...How about some real maple syrup from Canada in a five star resort?

Lastly, there were no fish in the 'heated lagoon pool'. I asked a staff member who advised that they would be restocking the pool soon when it warmed up? I thought the pool was heated year round. Needless to say the kids were upset and swam in the other heated pool.

A beautiful hotel in a great location. A very sad spirit within. We will go overseas to a real 5 star resort next year .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kirstie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great pool water slide and best hotel on the strip. Especially great because you can snorkel in the main pool with live fish. Kids loved it and played all day. Food was good as well Benihana is in the hotel. Girls loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17Loydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort next time you visit the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,392 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $193 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing