We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's "petals" petal not "pettles"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's taken me a few days of reflection to write this review and I think it's because this hotel is what it is and what it is, is what it says it is - catch my drift? Swift and pleasant concierge/door staff; reception staff professional and responsive; breakfast staff a bit inconsistent - but again pleasant; housekeeping at a very good standard.

Breakfast - room pleasant, food very nice - buffet (includes made to order omelette) and a la carte.

Foyer/lobby eye catching and 'grand' in the way these spaces should be and very in keeping with the Queensland tropical aesthetic. Much dusting and cleaning of the decorations (dried flowers and shells and other coastal objects) everyday.

My room with balcony - south facing so ocean and hinterland views was very high floor (does having a marriott card make a difference?) - was quiet and pleasant; it's difficult to recall much detail after a few days though - just another nice hotel room with comfy bed and my favourite down pillows. Oh yes - the modest size wardrobe had lots of good coathangers (thank you!). Looking at some other reviews there's clearly a range of rooms on offer (which is normal I guess) - curtains were doubles - block out and privacy type. Opposite to one reviewer - I couldn't get the room cool enough to really sleep comfortably but that's a quibble I have with most hotels.

Just a stroll to the beach and various cafes and stores. A short taxi/car ride to the restaurants at Tedder Av - Main beach.

So yes petal - Marriott gold coast delivers what it says it will deliver for the guests it expects.

Room Tip: Any room at a gold coast hotel facing the ocean is likely to be warm and bright in the morning - sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken in sharing your comments about our resort.

While there are some areas where consistency needs to be looked at, we are glad to hear that your perception of the resort and your experience during your stay was positive.

We hope that you will return again one day soon and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,858 - 1,864 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just stayed for another week at our favorite hotel. Doesn't disappoint. Would recommend room service for kids as they have an incredibly good value kids menu.
Of all the places we have stayed in the GC over the years, this is the only place I would really call a 'Resort'. Enjoyed so much, we couldn't be bothered to leave the pool area most days.
Will be back. Only criticism if I can find one, is that the portion sizes for the food & drinks around the pool seem to have shrunk over the last 12 months, and my kids desperately want the thin chips back instead of the chunky ones served around the pool. I think I can live with that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us from your recent stay. I am glad that you and your family were able to take advantage of the warmer weather and enjoyed the lagoon and pool area during your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the food offering by the pool and will discuss this further with the team as we are always looking for areas where we can improve.

We are glad that you will be back again and look forward to seeing you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently returned from our annual trip to the Marriott feeling cross and disappointed. Although the resort and grounds are still beautiful the human experience was rubbish. The staff at the pool cafe were rude and the service was shameful.

Also, my children needed to rush to get a pool deck chair every morning as the pool was used by external 'guests'. My daughter befriended four girls at the pool who made up a game of 'who can scream the loudest going down the water slide". Not one of the 'screamers' was staying at the resort. Apparently you simply use a friend's swipe card and the Marriott looks the other way as the external day trippers pay cash at the pool cafe and no asks for their room number. Not a peaceful, relaxing pool side experience.

We stayed in the more expensive Elandra section and the same game continued. Sitting in the Elandra club cafe, I overheard a loud 'lady' encouaging other non Elandra guests to help themselves to everything, anytime with her Elandra swipe card. Marriott staff didn't ask once for a room number or simply did not care.

The towels in the room were very thin and tired. The bathroom robes had been washed so many times that they had shrunk to a size 0. The bathroom kit of shampoo and other toiletries were no name (made in China) Big W standard!.

Also, if you want a peaceful holiday please note that the local government is building a light rail down the middle of the main highway outside the Marriott. A little bit of jack hammering anyone!!!

Finally, the Citrique experience. Quite good and lots of choice. My 5 year old daughter wanted strawberries in her breakfast fruit salad. I asked staff and was told"not today" I saw a punnet of strawberries at the local Harbout town that day for $1.50 a punnet. We were also told that they had run out of apple juice.!!!! At the pancake station I watched a chef refill the maple syrup with Cottees imitation flavoured maple syrup...How about some real maple syrup from Canada in a five star resort?

Lastly, there were no fish in the 'heated lagoon pool'. I asked a staff member who advised that they would be restocking the pool soon when it warmed up? I thought the pool was heated year round. Needless to say the kids were upset and swam in the other heated pool.

A beautiful hotel in a great location. A very sad spirit within. We will go overseas to a real 5 star resort next year .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kirstie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great pool water slide and best hotel on the strip. Especially great because you can snorkel in the main pool with live fish. Kids loved it and played all day. Food was good as well Benihana is in the hotel. Girls loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: Water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17Loydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort next time you visit the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely hotel/resort, have stayed there before. Great place for a holiday or running a conference. Pools are great for families too. 5 minute walk from the beach and shops at Surfers Paradise.
Good rooms, comfortable beds, good linen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyISL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Great to hear you had a relaxing stay at our resort and we appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a conference. The room rate was very good which is not surprising given the plethora of accommodation options on the gold coast - competition must be high.

You can tell that the hotel is not new but every effort has been made to make this a 5* experience. The rooms are spacious and very clean and all renovations are well done. The beds are super comfortable and most importantly the pillows were the best, I think this is a Marriott thing :)

The only downside in the room was the desk chair, it was not suitable for working for long periods at the desk, it was not adjustable, too low and more like a dining chair.

Foxtel with heaps of channels a big plus!

The best part was the service of the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful, from front desk, to concierge, cafe and housekeeping staff - all had a smile to share and a welcome hello. It doesn't take much but it makes a huge difference.

Location seems quite central. Cab fare from Gold Coast airport approx $65.

I would definitely recommend staying here but would also suggest comparing with other similar properties because seriously there are so many options in this city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending a recent conference at the resort.

It really pleases me to hear that you enjoyed the 5 star experience that we offer and felt the best part of your stay was the service provided by our team as it helps to know we are on the right track.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great venue if you just want to enjoy the resort. A little far from the main attractions and the beach to be part of the real suffers expience. Food a tad on the expensive side but the buffet ( breakfast and dinner) is of the highest quality.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJWinOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that overall you enjoyed our resort and facilities.

We do find that alot of guests who stay with us, prefer to be a little out of the main centre of Surfers Paradise, but it is just a short walk for those that do want to experience some of the popular Gold Coast attractions.

We are glad that you had the opportunity to try our breakfast and dinner buffets at Citrique. During the week, the restaurant offers a fantastic weekday lunch special which starts from only $23.50 and includes an a la carte meal and buffet selection of salads and antipasto. On a Saturday for lunch, Citrique also offers a $79.00 special which includes the regular seafood buffet as well as a bottle of Moet et Chandon per couple which is also fantastic value.

Benihana, our popular Japanese restaurant, has a $30.00 earlybird special that is available Sunday to Friday nights when seated by 6pm, as well as a promotion called Why Cook Wednesdays for $39.00 per person, available every week.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again and take advantage of these great offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,098 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $191 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing