We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing oasis in the Gold Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Parking was available at the hotel at no cost ($10 for valet parking). The lobby area was very impressive. Check-in was speedy, a welcome drink was provided and our bags were taken to our room immediately. All staff that we came across throughout our stay were friendly and efficient.

The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and there was also a desk, tv, small table & chairs, in room safe, mini-bar and tea & coffee making facilities. Internet connection was available in the room for a fee. The balcony had a couple of chairs and provided views of the lovely pool area and the ocean. The mini-bar and the air conditioner were both noisy - the weather was mild so we hardly used the air conditioner, but we had to turn off the mini-bar at night time to get to sleep. The bathroom was large and clean, apart from some mould above the tiles in the shower and there were hairs stuck on the bathroom ceiling.

The pool areas are a real feature of this hotel. There were 2 heated pools plus an artificial lagoon with coral reef, fish and a waterfall - great for snorkelling. There was also a water slide and a couple of spas.

The meals that we had at the hotel were good quality. Both the a la carte and buffet breakfast at the Lagoon Restaurant were excellent (but a bit pricey - $35 for full buffet breakfast). The Japanese restaurant (Benihama) was a highlight - make sure to book as they are usually very busy. The tepanyaki chefs were very entertaining and the meal was fresh and delicious. We also had room service on one occasion - the meal arrived within half an hour and was excellent value and tasty.

I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Turkeyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,287 - 2,293 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

5 star lobby area and service, however the room I stayed in was closer to 4 stars than 5. I agree with other reviewers that the bathroom appears a bit tired. However the toilet in our room was dual flush, and the shower did have an additional water saving head. The grouting in the shower tiles showed standard wear and tear, the kind you expect after a few years. There was a rust stain near the sink hole in the bathtub.
My children absolutely loved the lagoon area. Fantastic wood fired pizzas which you can have sent to your room.
I thought the buffet was excelent, as far as buffets go. $65 per person, half price for children, and our 4 year old ate for free.
The quality of the service was excellent.
We used the in house laundrette, on the 3rd floor. They have maytag top loaders which are notorious for linting your clothes, which didn't improve after being in the dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

We spent 3 night a this hotel in a deluxe ocean front room. We travel to Surfers Paradise every year and normally stay at apartments while in the Gold Coast however decided to try this hotel as we were only taking a short break, & it was a good decision! The hotel location is okay, not the best compared to other hotels/apartments in the area. It's a few streets away from the beach and from the main shoppping/restaurants area though only a few minutes walk ,so acceptable.
Nonetheless, the hotel lobby is very pretty, well maintained and very clean. The rooms are reasonably sized and the ocean view are okay too - we were overlooking the pool and had a view of the ocean and river(l was expecting a better ocean view as we booked an oceanview room and paid extra for it!) The rooms were extremely clean - the sheets, towels(l think this is the first time l haven't had to have the sheets changed due to finding some stain on the sheets or ask for new towels to be sent to our room!), the carpet were very clean and there was no dust to be found! The bathrooms are large and the room was well decorated.
The service is excellent - the staff are very polite, professional and very accomodating - they always greet you with a smile!
The room service was not the best, the food arrived luke warm and could have been warmer. The lagoon resturant has a great buffet dinner - good variety of seafood, pizza, roasts and desserts. Note: the dinner buffet is much better than the lunch buffet - better food selection and variety at dinner(make sure you make a reservation, people were been turned away as they had no reservation!). We also had the buffet breakfast included in our package and this was also very good- it had everything you could possibly want for breakfast. We also tried the hotel's Japanese restaurant, the chef was pretty entertaining though the food could have been tastier - the servicing staff and chef service was excellent.
The hotel is not the cheapest choice of accomodation in the Gold Coast as you could you could stay at 4 to 4.5 star apartments (ie Sun City Resort) for have the price however the Mariott is much cleaner, the service is 100 times better, the pool is much larger(they supply a decent amount of sun loungers around the pool area for their guest unlike many other resorts - you can easily find a sun lounger and relax by the pool!) and the rooms are generally more well maintained.
Overall, l would stay at this hotel again and do recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GlobalTravellerSSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We love the Marriott at Surfers and have stayed here a lot. Being only an hour away, we come for a night away with our kids or couple weekend away.

The pool is an absolute hit with our kids. Saltwater pool complete with tropical fish, deep sandy coral bottom for snorkelling and waterfall. It's quite surreal to be swimming, snorkelling and diving amongst the fish. There is also a waterslide, a swirling current pool and cave spa.

The rooms are a good size and the food is of a high standard for a hotel. The seafood buffet is yummy but just make sure that you do not take the large square plates in the middle of your table. These are quite deceptive as normally you are given a bowl by a waiter as well as a finger bowl. We've done it - embarrassingly and seen and saved a few other people since!
There is also a bar lounge which has great night time entertainment and cocktails.

The reception area is one of the most impressive you will see with it's huge cane ceiling fans, very casablanca.

Interesting bit of trivia for F1 fans - this is the hotel of choice for most drivers when Indy is in town in October.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

You know what you get with a Marriott Hotel and this hotel is no exception. Clean and tidy rooms, nicely decorated with lots of space. Facitilies were first class. Food was excellent, although a little pricey, however that is what you would expect from a hotel of this class and size. Swimming pool area was well laid out and ideal for families (i think i spent most of my time there!). Overall a pleasant experience and if and when i go again i will seriously consider returning to the Marriott Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PJ_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

The problem with 5 star hotels in Australia, in our experience, is they invariably feel 4 star when compared to their Asian counterparts.
This is true of the Marriott. Resort at Surfers Paradise.

Here goes... We booked an Executive Suite and an interconnecting King Ocean view room for our two small boys for 3 nights. Despite booking directly with the hotel's reservation department and being assured this configuration was confirmed, we arrived to find that the only Executive Suite available had 2 small beds - lucky little kids.

Given we were spending over A$1200 per night on accomodation alone, the compensatory gift basket containing a packet of peanuts, 2 chocolate bars and a cheap bottle of wine, felt more like an insult. Next time I would insist on a confirmation email from a Manager.

The rooms are nice without being special. Furnishings are adequate but not luxurious - except for the beds. We agree with other reviewers
that they are really comfortable and the pillows are wonderful. 5 Stars. Like the bedrooms, the bathroom are also fine but if you have booked an Executive Suite be warned - there is no full length bath but
a small 'spa bath'. My 6 foot husband had to fold himself into an "N" and lie sideways to get under water - very amusing. I am 5'6" and couldn't stretch my legs straight out. Personally, I would stick with a normal room with a proper bath, as the bedrooms are almost the same size anyway.

The hotel has 2 restaurants Benihana (themed Japanese) and the main downstairs dining room. Benihana was fun for kids but you wouldn't do it twice. The main dining room is huge and pleasant but not the place for a romantic dinner. Not sure where you'd eat if you were staying as a couple for several days. Also make sure you book a table in advance. You won't necessarily get a table on spec just because you are staying in the hotel.

The hotel's beauty spa is well run, clean and very nice in appearance. I had a great massage - really strong.

Now for the nitty-gritty. After the first day, we started noticing all was not well. Staff seemed to be missing or sometimes a bit confused in the "we don't usually work in this area" sort of way. We discovered why. One very young and wonderfully candid member of staff said with a big smile "Oh it's because the staffing rosters have all been changed due to low occupancy."

Now clearly this is matter which must be a nightmare for hotel management, but as a guest, it should be their job to keep me blissfully ignorant. So how did it affect us? On two days the pool slide, which is advertised as a major attraction for kids, was closed early as there was no staff member to man it. The pool linked to the slide did not look pristine and was closed one morning to be cleaned.
The pool spa had small pieces of food floating in it and the tiles were covered with a light grey scum that came off when you scrapped it with your fingers (I felt I owed to you to check!). Food scraps were left outside the room opposite for more than 18 hours before being cleared away.

On the plus side - the staff were very helpful and some were outstanding. What seems to be a shame is that, presumably in an effort
at cost-cutting, the management has decided that staffing levels can be sacrificed. What they should remember is that good staff will leave if their professionalism is not respected and experienced guests
will soon sniff out the problems and spread the word.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank vesteygirlguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed at this property for 4 nights while on a road trip. This property is HUGE! At first it was a tad overwhelming, the property itself consists of concrete high-rises but as soon as we got to the room I was very happy! We had a corner room on a high floor that was huge, and tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The pool was also a wonderful respite from it all and snorkel gear was available for rent, etc. The beach was a bit of a walk, so we spent most of our time at the pool and walking around in the evening for sightseeing. Surfer's Paradise has a ton of shops and is really quite a lively city. If you are looking for a hotel that is more intimate, this is not the hotel for you and if you are looking for a town that is a bit more "cozy" - I would recommend Byron Bay instead.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MsTravelHag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,718 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,083 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $202 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing