We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I travelled here for our honeymoon.
We arrived in a limousine and was quickly attended too. Our check in was dealt with quickly and when shown to our room, we were more than happy.

We had slight ocean views and also overlooked the river. We came back that night after sussing out Surfers Paradise to a bottle of champagne and glasses being our honeymoon

Rooms were spacious with a TV, kettle, Mini Bar fridge, Safe in the robe and king bed. We had a "down service" every afternoon which we learnt was new towels if they had been used through the day, chocolates on the bed, ash trays cleaned out and pillows fluffed up. What a treat - they really look after their guests.

Only thing we noticed is with the sun coming in early morning and even with the curtains closed the rooms warmed up quite quickly, and the air con struggled to keep up.

Lobby was beautiful, and we did have breakfast once in Citrique, nice layout and a selection of variety. We had a massage at Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, was a last minute call and they were more than happy to fit us in. However tried to sell my partner and I different products for our dry skin, which we found a little pushy.

Was not central, but only had to walk two blocks to be right in Surfers Paradise. Very Flash Hotel, the re-vamp that has been advertised on all their webpages definitely played its part.

Will have to try their lagoon pool next time we come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiandKeith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Firstly, CONGRATULATIONS! Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort for your Honeymoon.

We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you both again soon - hopefully when the weather is a little warmer and you can make the most of our lagoon and pool area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    582
    168
    61
    49
See reviews for
830
628
50
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We Stay for the weekend here, its quite busy hotel, got free self car parking. the staff upgrade us from hinterland view to ocean view and lagoon view. The service and room itself up to marriott standard. we stay in most marriott, this is the best in australia. The TV channel has full foxtel olympic channel so we watch most of the sport channel. The swimming pool is salt water so its quite warm but looks bit old, need update. the man made waterfall was so amazing you can swim under it. The lobby is so modern and back yard is create green atmosphere, the restaurants looks new.

The location is not really good, its quite a walk from the beach. To walk to surfer paradise mall area, it takes 30 minutes at least, if you ask concierge they said 10 minutes walk, guess what i catch a taxi back to hotel, cost $10. because its tiring walk back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our newly refurbished resort. The Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa is Marriott's flagship property in Australia and recently completed a $20 million refurbishment.

The resort is only located two blocks from Narrowneck Beach and just over 1km to Circle on Cavill, in Surfers Paradise.

Thank you for your loyal support of Marriott and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having read the reviews I had high expectations which were met from the time of checking in (with Diego) to checking out. We had 2 sea view rooms which were spacious, very modern with very comfy beds. My only criticism would be the shower whilst clean, looked a little dated (tiles had been there a while) and not in keeping with the refurb - also the extractor vent needs a clean as it had thick fluff like you find in a clothers dryer after drying towels. The pool area was stunning however they have had some bad luck due to the amount of rain over the last few months which has reduced the salt in the pool thus there is only a few fish but they have plans to restock soon. Dinner was at Benihanan's and was excellent - Denis the chef cooked great food and was really entertaining. The breakfast buffet was excellent and coped well with the large amount of people although I would suggest for those wishing for an early start it may be better to open at 6.30 rather than 7. However it was worth the wait.

Having stayed at the Versace I would rate the Marriott as superior from a service perspective. Whilst a little distance from the beach, if you have been to Surfers a few times, this is not an issue. The free parking underneath is also a bonus. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
It is so pleasing to read your review of our resort and my team and I are glad you had a great time during your stay.

We thank you for your comments regarding the tiling in the bathrooms and also your suggestion on opening the restaurant from 6.30am on high demand mornings and will review these items with the various departments to see how we can improve in these areas.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort next time you visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here as part of a large conference, but were amazed at the attention to detail and the great service.

We were offered an upgrade to a "seaview" room over a hinterland which had been booked for us.
Upon entering the room we had a view out over the strip and so could see both sea and hinterland.
So no need to upgrade.

The facilities were fabulous, I only wish I had longer to enjoy them.

The only slight negative was due to the size of our conference breakfast was a bit chaotic, it would be less confusing for guests if there was an extra staff member doing meet and greet?

Otherwise couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor and were listed as hinterland view but as mentioned our view was parrallel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay while attending a conference recently.

We have reviewed the procedure for breakfast in our restaurant after taking your feedback on board and added resources to engage better with our guests at the point of entry.

We hope to see you again soon whether you are travelling to the Gold Coast for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just come back from a couple of nights at the Marriott. We are fussy travellers who dont mind spending money to get the best, so long as it is value for money. We have stayed at most of the nice ones on the gold coast, the new Hilton, Versace, Hyatt etc, and none come close.

We have stayed in the Executive Suites and Junior suites during our trips. They are large 3 roomed properties with nice little round spas in well appointed bathrooms that overlook the coast. They also have balconies, 2 flat screens and the most luxurious kind beds. We would take the beds with us if we could.

Staff are courteous, dining is well spaced ( see my review of the Hilton on this issue) meals are high quality at the Restaurants and the Japanese Teppanyakki is awesome.

Pools are Beautiful, Gym is a GYM! (not pretend like so many!!)

If you want a quality place to stay on the GC, this is it.

Room Tip: Go with the Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeegee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
What a fantastic review!

Thank you so much for your support of the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa - we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This property is fabulous. We stayed here for a week in December. The room was large and the maid service was great. The pool area and staff were a pleasure. The view from the balcony was very lovely. The spa was enjoyable, but not spectacular. Checkout was unfortunately less than desirable. We prepaid through a travel agency but at checkout, the receptionist tried to charge us again. We gave her a copy of our booking and thought the matter was resolved. However, when we arrived home, we saw that she charged the credit card anyway. Fortunately, after contacting AMEX, we received a full refund for the overcharges.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your complimentary comments regarding our property and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay.

I do apologise for the error that was made on check out in regards to your prepaid booking and will ensure that our Front Office Manager is aware so that this misunderstanding does not occur again. I am glad the matter was resolved and am glad that despite this inconvenience, you enjoyed your time at our resort.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The best aspect is that it is on the Gold Coast's Canal system and this gives great access to boating, fishing and other water activities; not beach oriented. It still has OK access to the beach and not being on the beach esplanarde does reduce the Noice from the 'teenagers-in-cars-at-3am' culture. The pool is brilliant and well shaded for my wife's needs. We had a fantastic meal at their Japanese Tepanyaki restaurant that a friendly local told us is the best on the Gold Coast. Overall we really enjoyed the hotel and left with a feeling that a few more days stay would have been nice. Avoid the hyped theme parks except for the Aquaduck. I'd never seen a water front property with helicopter pad before going to the 'GC'. Sure is a 'Gold' Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and our facilities catered for your requirements well.

Benihana is a fantastic dining experience and it is great that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our river front location and all our resort has to offer.

See you again next time you visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing