We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kangaroo in town”

Hanazono Teppanyaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kangaroo in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We went twice and we lived two different experiences.
Related to the food. It was very good. They have many different types of meat to select from, including crocodile and kangaroo. The kangaroo was excelent, very tasteful and tender. The best in town. I never tried before and i really enjoyed.
Service was very good as well.
Related to the "show" while they prepared the food, it depends of your group and the chef that will prepare the food for you. If you don't interact or "play the game" you will just get your food but nothing more funny or different.
If your are lucky with the chef, he will make some tricks with the knifes and food which will make your experience quite nice and different. He can interact with you and you will have a really nice time.
If you are unlucky with the chef, you will not get a show or fun, you will just get your tasty and good food.
BTW, try not to go so late. Second time that we went there, was kind of late (930) and clearly looks like the chef wanted to go home, so no show, no funhe prepare the food as fast as possible and even they forgot our rice, but anyways food was very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    107
    44
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Casino, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had made the mistake of searching the online menu before we got there. When we were seated I was handed a menu totally different to the online one. When i asked her about it she said that it was very old and no longer valid. So everyone do not even bother looking at the online menu. One other bad point Is that the price is way over the top for the amount of food you get. Other then those it was fantastic. My husband loved it. Great show, great quality food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't Believe the Sign in the Window”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived after a rush to be seated at 5:55pm as the sign in the window clearly said "*EARLY DINING 30% off *Seated Before 6:00pm". Upon being seated and checking the "deal" we were told that this was last years deal (this was 12th Jan 2014) and that we had to order by 6pm not be seated despite the signs being plastered on the restaurant windows next to us. The waitress was unbelievably rude and put us off the whole place and made my family feel uncomfortable. The waitress kept saying that the 30% off only applied to some items on the menu and not others and was obviously trying to talk us out of the "deal" they boldly advertised. Horrible person and total lack of care when it came to making paying customers feel at ease! We toyed with the idea of leaving but having rushed to get there we decided to push on. The food was good and all of my party enjoyed the fun of the Teppanyaki chef banter and showmanship. All up; if you avoid the nasty Asian waitress then you will have a nice meal all though an touch expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nosirrah5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Random dinner stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here randomly for a bite of dinner. Had just visited the Q1 observation deck and this was close by without being a take out place. We were both pleasantly suprised.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly.
The chef put on a good show while cooking our dinner and hung around after for a bit of a chat.
We both had the filet steak dish with the hot and spicy sauce. The chef asked us how hot or not we wanted it. Which he did perfectly. The meat was cooked exactly as we asked too.

We were not aware it was BYO, but the staff waited to start, while I popped around the corner for a bottle of wine.

If we are ever in the gold coast, I would definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank hallamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food great chef brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

A lovely meal and great entertainment by the chef. Food very fresh and extremely well presented by a very happy and talented chef. 10 out of 10 food and service. One thing I noticed no Japanese waiters this would make it more authentic, but that is my only negative comment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanazono Teppanyaki also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Hanazono Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing