We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Hilton surfers, the facilities are good,but just feels a little sterile compared with other 5 star resorts on the GC. The only other discerning thing is the food, for the prices asked I would expect a lot more, serving size was small and I don't want to pay restaurant prices for in room dining, I get it, its the Hilton but give us some value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Trent M,

Thank you for your review, it was pleasing to see that in general your stay met expectations.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,120 - 2,126 of 3,325 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have booked this hotel according to our past experience in other hilton hotels, as well as their good location in surfers paradise and also the nice design from the pictures on the web. But I was very disappointed when i arrive. First of all, when our car arrive in the front door and my wife and I were trying to remove luggages from the car, no staff came up and offered to help and we need to pull the luggages inside the lobby. We arrived very early so we asked if there is any chance that we can check in earlier. The staff just simply said no without even looking at anything she could do. And it ended up we did wait until 3pm to check in (we arrived the hotel at 7am) The materials in the rooms are far far below a 5 stars hotel comparing to any hotel we live in the world. The switches are just very simply switch we dont even use at home, the showers are very badly design with the drainage in the center of the shower top. the TV is on the left hand side of the bed so we need to turn our head to watch the TVs when we were lying on the bed. The Bed is dirty and the staff didnt change the cover even there is suspected blood on it. (not ours!) And the worst thing is, i have never lived in a 5 star hotel which need me to walk to the entrance to turn off the light (there is no switch next to the bed) one thing we looking forward to in Gold Coast was sunshine and swimming pool, and we only spent 5 minutes in the pool area because it is so small that the coaches for us to lay down is dirty. And then i went to the gym, and it has no window, and looks more like a highschool gym than a 5 star hotel. The staff is very rude. When my wife was asking for 2 wifi password (which she didnt know only one is assigned to each room), the staff in the lobby scold her in a very bad attitute. Shameful. The so called "hot line" took up to 5 minutes for an answer. And these all made a worse impression given i have already picked the upper standard Relaxation Room, which i see no way to relax in such a bad serviced, designed hotel. To conclude, i will NEVER live in this hotel if i ever go to Gold Coast again, and it created serious hesitation for me and my wife to stay in any hilton hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear David L,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not receive assistance with your luggage on arrival and that we could not expedite an early arrival into your room. I have shared your feedback with the team as we strive to achieve positive memories and it is very disappointing that this was not your experience. Please be assured your comments are taken in the constructive manner intended.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great hotel for couples. The rooms could be bigger and can be a bit noisy of a night on the weekends, but overall it's a great hotel. Make sure your package includes access to the Executive Lounge. It has great views, food and alcohol.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Leah T,

Thank you for posting your review, we were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending the hotel's Executive Lounge as an option.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

First experience with this place and after paying nearly $800 per night I won't be doing it again. Pulling up I struggled to find the valet parking area as advertised so after maneuvering around the courtesy bus blocking the car park drive way finally parked the car in the basement and lugged 7 bags up to reception with out a trolley. Checked in and went to my apartment only to step into the corridor from the lift to an unbelievable smell of wet carpet and rubbish which also wafted continually into my "luxury" apartment. No oven trays iPod Dock would not work and kept awake at 4 o'clock in the morning with a group of teenagers having a skulking competition a couple of floors down.
Definitely will not recommend or be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whartas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Whartas,

Thank you for your review and sincere apologies that not all aspects of your stay met expectations on this occasion. I have discussed the shortcomings in servicing your apartment with the housekeeping team.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

To say this was a disappointment is a massive understatement!

$800 for one night in a 3 bedroom apartment - nothing to cook with or on, no tea towels, carpet in foyer out of lift stunk to high heaven, 4 towels for 6 people, place wasn't overly clean and in 2 of the bedrooms, the beds were incredibly small to sleep 2 people. When we had to call 4 times for extra kitchen stuff, towels etc we were met with questions as to why we would need kitchen stuff and extra towels??

Yes, we were on the 28th floor with a fantastic ocean view but it was NOT WORTH $800!!!!

The staff were very friendly and helpful but that was the best part of the stay. I would never recommend this as an option, we would have preferred to stay somewhere cheaper that actually met the rooms so called 'ammenites'.

Never again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear MissT78,

Thank you for your review, sincere apologies that there were some shortcomings in servicing of your apartment. I have addressed this with the housekeeping team. I was pleased to see that you found our team helpful and friendly.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I must admit after reading all the reviews on this site, i was a bit nervous prior to our arrival.

Our family stayed for four nights in a 2 bedroom SKY residence and had an incredible experience. parking was a breeze (yes, it costs 15 per day, but what hotel do you stay in that does not charge for parking?). we arrived early, the room was available and we were sent right up. the room was clean, quiet (43rd floor, orchid tower), and was well equipped.

the location is outstanding, just a short walk to anything you would need.

I cannot understand all the negative reviews of this place. i experienced none of what has been described by some of you on this site.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone with reasonable expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBelle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear TBelle76,

Thank you for posting your review. I appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased to read your stay met all your expectations and the family enjoyed your four night stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Chris Partridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Everything was perfect, the hotel is beautiful and the location and view were amazing. The only problem we encountered was when we decided to smoke weed on the balcony, there wasn't a single chair to sit on, so we had to sit on the floor. You'd think a hotel with such prestige would at least have some chairs on the balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinosaur_lover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Dinosaur_lover69,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,311 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $169 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing