We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is incredible. However, due to schoolies, the music was unbelievably loud every night and being on the 5th floor it would be a struggle to get a decent sleep in. They would start with the street music at 8am again. Arriving to a twin bed room when I booked a King relaxation room and specifically requested a king bed was another disappointment. having to wait 5-10 min for someone to combine the beds instead of changing my room when the hotel was only half full (as per the gentleman who arrived to fix my bed) was yet another disappointment. The room is ok but nothing special especially if you're paying in the excess of 400 dollars per night (no view at all). The main door would keep making noises when others on the same floor would enter their rooms because of the wind. Small things like that can become quite annoying especially at a 5 star hotel and in what should be a relaxation room. I don't recall having a good night's rest on any of the nights I spent there. The Spa experience was excellent. I would not necessarily stay at this hotel again but I would definitely book a massage at the spa if I'm in town. Otherwise, I ended up checking out the night before to go to friend's place and get a good sleep prior to my flight the next day.

Room Tip: If staying here make sure you request a very high floor so as to avoid all the street music especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Majid A,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our location and the Eforea Spa. I am sorry that your did not get as much rest and relaxation owing to noise from the surroundings. Do let us know if you plan to return so we can ensure your complete satisfaction.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    897
    530
    301
    179
See reviews for
1,086
1,033
104
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for a work conference. The room was very modern with quite a funky bathroom albeit I found the handheld shower annoying as it kept spinning around and facing the wall making showering a little difficult.

I was on the 13th floor and despite my fears of noise from the schoolies I didn't hear a thing. We dined in the Salt restaurant on the 1st night which is a Luke Mangan affair. Food was very nice and service attentive. Check in & check out was efficient and the staff super friendly.

Breakfast was ok but why oh why do these hotels insist on using powdered eggs for their scrambled eggs! I was also a bit annoyed to have to pay $5 for a coffee in a five star hotel!

Location wise it's nice & handy with the beach in easy walking distance. All in all a pleasant stay

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Brisvegas_Boy,

Thank you for taking time to post your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your room and dinner at Salt grill. I have noted your comment regarding the Scrambled Eggs at breakfast. We do not use powdered egg in our recipes, all eggs are fresh, I will pass your feedback to the chef as your eggs appear to have not been prepared to our normal standard. Breakfast buffets include brewed coffee and tea, we do charge for coffees such as Cappuccino which are over and above the buffet inclusions.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

High quality apartments with complete cooking and laundry facilities. Liked that this is connected to the hotel so that hotel facilities and services can be accessed. The hotel/residences location is excellent. The internet policy of use of only one device per login at $30 per day is expensive and should be reviewed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Christopher P,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in a Hilton residence. As you point out, unlike other apartment hotels, guests choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise have the benefit of being able to use the hotel services while staying with us.

I have noted your comment regarding internet and would advise that we have recently changed to allowing up to 5 devices to be connected on the one log in, recognising that these days there are often more than one device used by a family.

Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we will see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, and was expecting a fair bit more. The building itself is nice an new, and I loved the location. But the service was seriously lacking. We asked for new pillows because the ones on the bed smelled like someone had been smoking and trying to cover it up (despite being on a non-smoking floor). Maybe an hour later they finally brought them up, so much for trying to sleep when you want to. The second incident was asking for beach towels. This time it only took about half an hour of waiting in the lobby (and multiple calls to housekeeping) for them to bring them. Not great value for money, probably wouldn't stay here again unless it was a really cheap deal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Joe L,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was sorry to see that you experienced some delays in receiving the replacement pillows and beach towels. I have shared your feeback with the team and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is situated in the heart of Gold Coast. Although claim to be a very expensive project, yet the Hilton main entrance is too small (or Narrow) or not "grand enough" for a 5 star blending. Floor tiling on the main lobby and all typical floors are fitted nicely by grey tiles with white spots looking like a lot of chewing gums sticking on each tile, (I comment that very "ugly looking").

Rooms are spacious with "simple and trendy" design. Bedding and mattress are good, The TV is a little bit too small for a spacious room. I do not like shower rooms without hand-held shower head, but many hotels in Australia are fitted with wall mounted shower heads only . For my 8 days trip touring all the major cities in the western coast of Australia, no hotels surprise me.

I recognise that one of the letters is missing on the roof neon signage of "Hilton" for two nights already during my stay. The management should make sure to upkeep the Hilton "blending" with an unfailing effort. As a Hilton fan, the hotel overall marking is still good for surfers and visitors.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear zuric,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I appreciate your observations regarding various design aspects of the property, In relation to hand held showers, all hotel rooms and apartments do have hand held showers at Hilton Surfers Paradise. We are also aware of the light being out in the Brand signage on top of the tower which is in the process of being replaced.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise and perhaps we will see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Being a Hilton Gold member, as was the person I shared the room with,I expected that there would be more than one person at check-in so that when we lined up at the designated Hilton Honors counter we would be attended to promptly as is usual at all other Hiltons I stay at, but all the other guests waiting were attended to first, as they would expect.Despite my friend being a regular there, the girl got his name wrong twice.The twin room was not ready and we had to call housekeeping to split the beds.There was no complimentary water in the room.The next morning when we tried to swim at 6.45 the pool was not available even though it opens at 6am.Later in my stay when I took my concerns to Joseph at the check-in desk, he was most helpful and even gave us a complimentary evening at the Executive Lounge which was excellent.The room itself could not be faulted, although of course as it was schoolie's week some noise was to be expected.
I also went to use the Business Centre, but found there only one computer and a small box of pencils, stapler etc, no printer.Evidently it had been loaned out, but was not there the 4 days that I was.
The large pool is great for doing laps, there is a smaller pool and a spa and sauna. The pool area is very nice.
The breakfast buffet was good, but there was no variation from day to day.The service was very good.
Overall, I would rate this hotel quite highly, but the poor initial check-in was not acceptable for a hotel of this standard.There were other occasions when I walked past that there was only one person was on the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view on a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear DerekHulme,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for your observations during your stay which have been shared with those that have responsibilty for the areas involved. I am sorry that the arrival at the hotel somewhat tarnished your experience and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I have been to a lot of Executive Lounges, but this one tops them all. Great staff, great service, great food, and AMAZING views. The views in tower 2 are very good. The restaurant food quality is fantastic, but unfortunately they fell very short on the cleanliness factor. The staff, with the exception of the waitress who underplayed the incident of dirty dish on my desk, are very helpful and pleasant most of the times, EXCEPT the front desk staff, they seem to have woken up on the wrong side of the bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Albert N,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the Executive Lounge and you found restaurant food to be of good quality. I do apologise that the situation with the dirty plate was not managed as we would have hoped. I have shared your feedback with the team.

We do hope to see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing