We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salt Grill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Salt Grill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

My Friends and I (locals of the Gold Coast) ate at Salt Grill on the weekend, expecting an amazing meal. Although the restaurant looked exceptional (like you were overseas not on the Gold Coast), the main courses were very disappointing and bland. The restaurant seemed more focused more on the branding of Luke Mangan (from advertising his signed cook books, plates, olive oil and salt and pepper shakers), than the taste of the food.

We spent over $700 on the meal and the only items of food we would recommend are side tomato, basil and goat cheese; complimentary bread and petite fours

My friend and I would not return in a hurry. The bar next to the restaurant is very funky/elegant and drinks/cocktails were very good (especially the fish bowl).

We much prefer eating on the Gold Coast at the following establishments:

Restaurant Lurleens Sirromet (Mt Cotton); Cafe Marina (Marina Mirage); Zen Chinese Restaurant ( Jupiters Casino); Taboon Middle Eastern (Robina); Robina Yum Cha; Terraces (Sheraton Mirage) and Ioesco-Cafe Cuncina Bar (Sanctuary Cove) .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shoshi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear ShoshiF,

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience of Salt grill.

It is disappoint to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would like to better understand the feedback you have provided and how you think we could make further improvements. Please feel free to contact me through my assistant – ada.jones@hitlon.com
Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    876
    516
    294
    177
See reviews for
1,047
1,015
102
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

A great hotel if you want to experience Surfer's Paradise - the Hilton steps right onto Orchid Avenue, and through to the mall - a few minutes from the beach and shops and literally right next to the entertainment strip. This is ideal if your idea of a getaway is drinks, dancing, eating and shopping, but as the Gold Coast nightclub scene can be quite rowdy this might ot be to everyone's taste.

We stayed in the standard room, the hotel is brand new, great beds and pillows, a very large bathroom with great shower pressure and we also had a neat balcony, however in truth, views over the older rundown buildings of the Cavill Mall isn't a fantastic view.

The pool area is great - a large shallow outdoor pool and both a heated indoor pool. You can also book to use the Barbeque area if you want to make your own meals. The large spa is great as you don't feel as bas squeezing in with strangers which can occur in other hotels. There's also a very nice outdoor bar which wasn't particularly busy due to poor weather but the atmosphere and lighting looked great after dark.

The only downside was the poorly laid out check in/check out desk. There isn't a proper line up system and only 2 desks occupied it took a long time to check out. A really really long time. There was a queue of about 15 people who were getting very irate. It took over 25 minutes. I would advise people to use the Easy/Fast checkout option.

Overall though, this being a brand new, modern hotel, there were no surprises that you can get when the rooms are older than the pictures suggest. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_debruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. As a travel agent I will be recommending this hotel over any other in surfers paradise.

I could not fault this hotel in any way. Amazing staff who were more then happy to help with anything. Rooms were stunning and beds were so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Marnie15,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and experience at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

It is fantastic to hear that you found the hotel so enjoyable and we pride ourselves on being a team that is engaging and welcoming to all those that visit the Hilton.
Guest comfort is one of our highest priorities and I am delighted to hear that you found the facilities to your liking and will be recommending us to others.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton should you visit us again.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I've stayed in many Hilton hotels around the world. As a rule, as a business customer, the Hilton is usually a safe reliable bet. This is perhaps one of the main reasons why I was so disappointed with this poor excuse of a Hilton. But let's look at the facts...

Hilton Surfers Paradise was built from scratch by Hilton in the centre of Surfers Paradise.

Surfers Paradise is a diverse busy tourist destination, popular with students for example. To be avoided at all costs during Australian "schoolies", when SP is invaded and trashed by the thousands. Schoolies are the equivalent of Spring Break celebrations in the US.

When I stayed at the Hilton I stayed with work and for one week. I was put on the 15th floor of the hotel. This is the top floor of the hotel in terms of rooms (residential apartments rise to the 55th floor). Indeed the "executive lounge" is on the 15th floor. And here is the first dramatic error of judgement Hilton made... The hotel rooms should have been on the top of the 55 storey tower, not at the bottom 15, certainly not when Hilton failed miserably to insulate the rooms agains noise!

The hotel is double glazed throughout. Unfortunately it's clearly not enough. Even 15 floors high the noise on a week night in my "executive suite" was just impossible from nightclubs all around the hotel. That's right, Hilton decided to erect two towers in the middle of the red light district of SP, and it shows. Clubs in Australia can operate 24/7, and at 2am I was in reception complaining I couldn't sleep. To my astonishment I wasn't alone, there were 3 other guests doing exactly the same.

The truth is Hilton could have avoided this if they wanted, it screams of mismanaged investment to me. A triple glazed building would probably have sufficed, instead the Hilton have ruined any prospect of business repeat visitors.

Saff readily admitted this was a recurring problem when i complained. I was promptly moved to a residential 2 bed room apartment 20 floors above!

Sure the view was breathtaking, but believe it or not, come Friday night I was yet again permeated with the impossible beats of nightclubs all night long, floor: 35th.

The hotel failed on two more important counts:

It was built AFTER a new development called Soul was initiated, so Hilton knew their sea view would be significantly blocked, this is a shame, as it does make a big difference. Instead of an oceanic view you get a building site view with ocean on the sides...

Finally, but by no means least important, children are allowed in the "executive lounge". This is just unacceptable. I go to the lounge to relax, chill out or hold a meeting not to hear screaming children breaking canapés on the floor and making a mess. Seriously Hilton, get a grip!

If you're travelling on business the Hilton is to be avoided. The area is served by much better options.

A serious disappointment. Will not return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GusMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear GusMcEwan

Hilton Surfers Paradise has now been opened for 2 months and I am happy to say the vast majority of our customers are enjoying the facilities that are on offer.

This purpose built hotel facilitates the needs of varying groups focusing on couples, families, business events and corporate business in general.

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, and we have investigated the noise incident that you spoke about on that evening and we are working with our local partners to avoid a recurrence of your issue.

Kind Regards,
David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed at this 5 Star hotel on a Saturday and Sunday. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world!! Amazing Rooms, best Pool and Recreation Area and great location. Check out Fix Bar - Amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigersGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear TigersGreat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

FIX bar we believe is a great hidden gem and I am very pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed the facilities. The location of the hotel certainly adds to ones stay and we are delighted to be able to offer the style and service of the Hilton balanced with the Energy of Surfers Paradise. I am glad that you had such a great time during your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

3 years ago we had trouble finding coffee to our liking in Surfers Paradise but this time it was much easier and the coffee at the Food Store inside the entrance to the Hilton is excellent. We went back there at least 3 times even though we were staying at Mantra.
The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and chatted about places of interest etc.

Salt grill (we had to book) was also good but rather expensive.

Room Tip: Just used cafe and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Uk2Wellington,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent experience at The Food Store and dining experience at Salt grill.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the product and found it enticing enough to return. We have invested a lot of time in finding great local produce and making your experience at the Hilton memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the area again.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I recently stayed at the hilton in a hotel room for 2 nights. reception staff were friendly. requested an ocean view room, was only half an ocean view, as we had a view of the pool and rooftops of nearby shops. Booked a deluxe room but it didnt feel very DELUXE at allThe bathroom smelt a little bit, which is weird considering it had only just opened that month. There was no furnishings on the balcony, not even a chair or 2. Room service was way overpriced, $19 for a small piece of chicken ( i was shocked). They forgot the sourcream and sweet chilli sauce with my wedges. Spa was amazing, friendly staff also had an all over massage but left there with oil all thru my hair. Service was prompt, nice bathroom products supplied and bathrobes with slippers a bonus. Handy to everything as its right in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Go to the residences not the hotel, as thay are better equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear CrystalL,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

It is encouraging to read that you found the service of the team and the amenities provided in your room to your liking.

I am disappointed to hear that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations in regards to in room dining and that you found that the pricing was not in line with your expectations.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable time in the spa and you found the location of the hotel appropriate to your needs. We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton in the future.
Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing