We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, rude manager”
Review of Raffles Royale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raffles Royale
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Never again, rude manager”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed in this horrible hotel during my last holiday in Australia. The room was dirty and really stinking. But the worst thing was the rudity of the manager. She was OFFENSIVE. She OFFENDED me, my country and my family. This is Australia!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DdavidDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    5
    0
    20
See reviews for
12
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

First of al, i dont understand the bad comments about this place. Stayed here for 5 nights before going to Syd and had a lovely time.
The management/reception was ever so helpful when the washing machine in our flat wasnt working (not to anyones fault, technology does occasionally break down) and went to look for other empty flats so our washing could be done.
People these are self contained flats, it doesnt take 5 minites to get to Coles for some toilet paper.there are washing machines in the units, if you want cleAn or just some fresh washed linnen or towels, you have the mashine right at your availability.

The things I read about dirty, i must say here and there I agree, but only because i see other guests just throw their sigarette buds where they stand, same for bottles and cans, they just get left behind on the floor or on tables. And face it, staff cant run after everyone for every little piece of rubbish that gets thrown around.

Lady at reception was friendly and helpful showing us directions, giving us advice on transport, things to do and places to go.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return here when visiting GC again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room om the first floor, easy acces to pool and bbq equipment, but also large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfinoulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the raffles royale in june 2013 ,its a bit rundown old units .but for the money ok ,other places in surfers at the same rate much better value,the staff were ok and healpfull, only 5 mins walk to central surfers and supermarkets

Room Tip: check units before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Place was filthy. No clean dishes. Shower door broken. Cleaners coming into room before checkout time. Manager was very rude, organised late checkout but had calls to the room at 9.30am telling us to leave. Had payed in full before arriving and our room had been taken. Had to wait around untill they had sorted it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannaha20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It's funny reading the negative reviews. What on earth do you expect for 60/70 bucks a night! Seriously some people's expectations are so unrealistic.

There is nothing wrong with this place. It's comfortable, convenient and cheap. Would rather spend money sight seeing that on super flash digs. Big deal if the toilet paper is $1.00- the place can't be beaten on value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucindaparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in in a one bedroom apartment, we paid in full in advance including paying for a rollaway bed for my seven yr old...on arrival there was no bed in the room for my child, we phoned and no one showed up..daughter had to sleep on the couch. The apartment was filthy dirty the dining table was held level by stacks of folded cardboard, the drier was perched very precariously on top of two folded pillows on top of the washing machine...you had to pay for every roll of toilet paper you used, the bathroom was scungey moldy and became a cochroache haven at night, we stayed ten nights and NEVER got clean towels..the double bed was two different height mattresses pushed together, the mattresses were so uneven and lumpy with hard springs pushing through we had to sleep ON TOP of all the bedding the first night to try and absorb some of the sharp edges. The apartment complex seems to be mostly occupied by long term tenants who sit on their balconie all day smoking and blowing their fumes into your open windows and doors (and watching you in your unit and in the pool) we finally got the rollaway bed for the child on the third night!!!! The manageress is a totally rude revolting woman. The car park underneath the building allocated to your unit was usually taken by someone else or the car parks were filled with what looked like spare furniture from the units...it smelled of spew...the place is a total hole...it ruined our holiday, if I had the trip over again I would pay an extra twenty or thirty bucks a night to stay somewhere decent.......a TOTAL hole

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in feb 2013 ,,IT was dirty and disgusting ,Broken tiles on bathroom floor ,Dirty toaster ,Unit door in kitchen falling off,, Dirty curtains in bedroom,, Curtains in livingroom did not fit window so no privacy ,shower head dirty ,Lady at reception was very rude,and said what did i expect for 70aud a night ;;I stayed in sydney right in the city for the same amount and the room was very clean and staff were not rude ,,stayed one night ,,left next day ,,will never stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluevegas981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waterways Luxury Apartments
Waterways Luxury Apartments
#63 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Pacific Holiday Apartments
View Pacific Holiday Apartments
#90 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centrepoint Resort
Centrepoint Resort
#21 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Royale

Property: Raffles Royale
Address: Raffles 69 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raffles Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Royale Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing