We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing holiday! absolutely recommend staying here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing holiday! absolutely recommend staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Four of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights in April for my 30th birthday and were blown away by the fantastic location, apartment size and hospitality of our host Amisha. The view from our huge balcony was perfect as we could see the waves crash on the beach and the ocean which went out for miles. The bedrooms (one master with en suite the other with two beds and its own bathroom - all with build in robes) were very clean and spacious and the lounge room and kitchen were super comfortable and fitted with all the modern trimmings. Our host provided us with information about what was happening in Surfers each night we were there, and gave us directions, maps and ideas on how to spend our days which was very helpful indeed. We will definitely be staying here again on our next QLD holiday - especially given the quality of the apartment, and how good the price was. After being at the beach we would jump into the large pool provided at the apartments, which was clean and refreshing. Can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: we stayed in a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola_gorgonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are staying here for 10 months. The location is excellent - 400 metres from the main strip (Cavill Avenue) and only 100 metres from the beach. The complex has a new manager and she is steadily making improvements to the place. New cleaners have been contracted and the foyer now looks smarter. The basement car park is in the process of being cleared of items left by owners and so on. I understand that she is also grading the apartments, so the poorer ones will at least be identified.

Our first impression was not brilliant. We had booked a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment for 3 months and the one we had booked was ordinary to say the least. The apartment was dingy and the furniture and appliances etc were substandard. If the poor reviews had apartments like this one, I can understand their disappointment. We couldn't see ourselves lasting 3 months, but to her credit, the manager moved us to a better apartment on the 5th floor with good views of the ocean. Everything in this apartment is of a better standard and we can see the efforts of the manager beginning to show results, so much so that we have just extended our stay, albeit in another apartment. The one we are in is not really a long term stay apartment, hence the need to move to another one.

The problem with apartment blocks in places like Surfers Paradise is that the units are all individually owned, so there is only so much the manager can do to make improvements, except to keep cajoling owners to upgrade. Some owners just do not want to spend any money to keep their places furnished to a decent standard, The apartments here are quite spacious and all have balconies, many with ocean views. Walk across the road and you are on the beach.

In summary, this place is on the improve and you would not find a better location. A true rating now would be somewhere between Average and Very Good. It is better than Average but not quite at Very Good until all owners get their fingers out and upgrade the poorer units. Don't discount this place.

Room Tip: Only 8 floors but if you get an apartment on the 4th floor or higher, you will get decent views. At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family & I stayed for a week in a nicely appointed 2 bedroom apartment over looking the pool with views to the sea. We enjoyed our stay the apartment was clean & in excellent condition, staff were very helpful & accommodating. Have already booked for next year happy to recommend this property!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosettest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Dirty, mismatched furniture, very old and terribly maintained. The website is very deceptive as this place looks nothing like what they describe. Broken air conditioner and lights that don't work. Only advantage is that it is close to everything.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Carlton Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Judy,
I am sorry that you were not happy with the quality of the apartment.
I do believe the Aircon was working in the unit that was allocated to you. Also the lights weren't broken they needed new bulbs which I did as soon as you advised me of that.
You did make a booking on the late evening of arrival during one of the busiest time of the year on the Gold Coast so all the better apartments were already booked out.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries
Kind regards
Amisha Jain
Manager - Carlton Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was filthy! Dirty furniture, broken mismatched crockery. The rangehood and oven didnt work. The outdated electric stove still had other peoples food splashed around it and on it so it burned when turned on. Light globe missing in lamp- exposed socket. Two of us nearly broke our toe walking into bathroom on the inch high step. We had to pay extra for a second roll of toliet paper. Mould in bathrooms. Outside windows on balconies had literally hundreds of cigarette butts and spat out chewy in full view. We found dirty items of clothing shoved down couch from previous guests. Service was unfriendly and unwelcoming. It is not worth the low rates and the good position. Photos on website arent a true picture of what apartments are like.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you value your health and safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norsewood
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed for a week. Close to town, apartment well set up, quiet enough except the noisy stereo of another guest on the last night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaHNorsewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a lovely 3 week stay at the Carlton Apartments, really enjoyed the closeness to the beach and shops without the excessive noise factor. The apartment was a good size and recently renovated and although it had air conditioning we were able to open the patio doors to get the benefit of the sea breeze. We were able to prepare our own meals if we wanted, or dine at one of the local restaurants recommended by the friendly Manager. Our family would now like to book accommodation here as it is a safe environment for the children with the heated pool and the beach across the road.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#72 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Regency Apartments
Surf Regency Apartments
#40 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#14 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
President Holiday Apartments
President Holiday Apartments
#114 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#26 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#59 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Apartments

Property: Carlton Apartments
Address: Cnr Clifford St & Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing