We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Carlton Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Apartments
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Dirty, mismatched furniture, very old and terribly maintained. The website is very deceptive as this place looks nothing like what they describe. Broken air conditioner and lights that don't work. Only advantage is that it is close to everything.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 20, 2013

Dear Judy,
I am sorry that you were not happy with the quality of the apartment.
I do believe the Aircon was working in the unit that was allocated to you. Also the lights weren't broken they needed new bulbs which I did as soon as you advised me of that.
You did make a booking on the late evening of arrival during one of the busiest time of the year on the Gold Coast so all the better apartments were already booked out.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries
Kind regards
Amisha Jain
Manager - Carlton Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was filthy! Dirty furniture, broken mismatched crockery. The rangehood and oven didnt work. The outdated electric stove still had other peoples food splashed around it and on it so it burned when turned on. Light globe missing in lamp- exposed socket. Two of us nearly broke our toe walking into bathroom on the inch high step. We had to pay extra for a second roll of toliet paper. Mould in bathrooms. Outside windows on balconies had literally hundreds of cigarette butts and spat out chewy in full view. We found dirty items of clothing shoved down couch from previous guests. Service was unfriendly and unwelcoming. It is not worth the low rates and the good position. Photos on website arent a true picture of what apartments are like.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you value your health and safety.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed for a week. Close to town, apartment well set up, quiet enough except the noisy stereo of another guest on the last night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaHNorsewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We had a lovely 3 week stay at the Carlton Apartments, really enjoyed the closeness to the beach and shops without the excessive noise factor. The apartment was a good size and recently renovated and although it had air conditioning we were able to open the patio doors to get the benefit of the sea breeze. We were able to prepare our own meals if we wanted, or dine at one of the local restaurants recommended by the friendly Manager. Our family would now like to book accommodation here as it is a safe environment for the children with the heated pool and the beach across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have just returned from six weeks in the above accomodation. It is our fifth year in the same apartment block. Our third year in the same unit. We love the central location with easy access to everything. We found the Management extremely helpful and friendly and are always made to feel welcome. If its value for money you are after we can thoroughly recommend it! And we've booked again for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Ill write in point form as so many things were wrong with this apartment complex. It looekd great on the website but was so poorly described that we were forced to stay elsewhere as it is NOT AS ADVERTISED

2 rooms, one with single beds, not mentioned anywhere or pictured, we had booked for 4 adults (2 couples) and this was not expected

The fan in one of the bedrooms did not work
When the single beds were pushed together it was noted that there was a disgusting pile of dust, dirt and debris around and under the beds. When our friends hopped in their bed the sheets were noted to be dirty (? blood stain).

The showers were made for very short people and there was no effective exhaust fan in the bathrooms which made the mirrors fog up.

The apartments were advertised as spacious, but they were most definately not!! The balcony was also very small. Dining room table for 4 pushed up against wall and very small living space.

Rude manager who tried to tell us that other couples have been happy to sleep in single beds and that this bedding configuration was standard across the gold coast (which it most definately IS NOT!). She then tried to charge us double for our nights accomodation when we wanted to cancel the rest of our stay. After the manager getting quite passive agressive, we got our refund and stayed at an awesome place just up the road 3 times the size of Carlton and it was immaculately cleaned, the fans worked and the beds were great!

You have to pay extra to use the air con as well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovegelato82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#59 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#15 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Holiday Apartments
President Holiday Apartments
#114 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#5 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zenith Apartments
Zenith Apartments
#31 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartm...
#2 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Apartments

Address: Cnr Clifford St & Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $99 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing