We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainforest and Wildlife Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Cross 4WD Tours

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.06*
and up
Mt Tamborine National Park 4WD Nocturnal Rainforest and Glow Worm Tour
Ranked #7 of 41 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainforest and Wildlife Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you're in the Gold Coast region of Australia and love the outdoors and nature, I totally recommend looking at the Southern Cross 4WD Tours. They've got a host of tours on offer and I personally loved the Rainforest and Wild Life Tour package they had. The full day tour took you to some of the most scenic rainforest locations in the Gold Coast such as the Lamington National Park and the Tamborine National park to witness some of the most breath taking nature scenes on offer. With a host of great add on's thrown in such as a cozy breakfast of scones and coffee, wine tasting session to a delicious barbecued lunch and an extremely entertaining and knowledgeable guide, the only time you'd be disappointed is when the tour was over cos you'd wish it could last forever :D

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    40
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was in Queensland in May. Took 3 day trips with Southern Cross. All were wonderful. Great driver-guides. Learned so much about your wonderful country.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank G M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our drivers were so knowledgeable and fun, it was the most amazing day we could have imagined Down Under. The tour took us from the beaches to the bush to the rainforest, and included stops for delicious scones and rhubarb jam, and a fantastic barbie lunch. Our guide Trent was hilarious, and knew so much about everything we did! It was completely perfect. And they even had free wifi on the bus to keep the teenagers happy.

10/10, would definitely recommend

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ansel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A day in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was a full day tour to the Hinterland, with Royd as our guide. The whole experience was just wonderful, a bit of cross country 4wdriving, varied scenery, plenty of photo stops, great morning tea/lunch provided. Very informative commentary was just enough without being over the top. Hilarious hi jinx with the young Malaysian girls added to the fun. Having great weather was a bonus. Punctual pick up right at our accommodation. Would recommend this to anyone

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing day tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had a phenomenal time on this tour! So great to spend a day outdoors and exploring the mountains and such. They pick up and drop off right from your hotel in Surfer's Paradise.

Our guide was awesome, he let us control the radio with our iPods the whole time and laughed at our American taste in music and loved our throwbacks (he especially loved the Spice Girls).

We started by driving up the mountains and out out and walked a wilderness trail to Curtis Falls, went over draw bridges, etc. We got some amazing views from the treetops! We were then taken to a park where we were treated to an Aussie BBQ, even got to try some kangaroo meat (which I feel bad to say was really good, like really tender beef!). There they taught us how to crack a whip, which I was terrible at, and throw a boomerang, which I was much better at. I purchased a handmade authentic boomerang there, since they made ones especially for lefties, and the handcrafted boomerang was awesome! We also got the chance to play a didgeridoo! Before our trip ended, we were taken to a hill top and got a phenomenal view of the entire valley. It was gorgeous.

The whole day was perfect, and I got to see so much with such an awesome guide!!!! Definitely recommend, thanks so much!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing