We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.53*
and up
Gold Coast Lamington National Park and Tamborine Mountain 4WD Eco Tour
Ranked #7 of 42 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Roy and Darren were fantastic guides they were knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife and made sure the whole group enjoyed the experience by filling it with laughs.
The food on the 4WD O'Reilly Tour was fantastic! I definitely recommend choosing the steak for the BBQ lunch and the scones for the morning tea were also delicious. Definitely one of the best tours I've been on.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank illy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    40
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

It was a very enjoyable day trip with the group packed with various activites for any age and great opportunity to check out the national parks. Excellent guides - helpful, on time, informative, cheeky and mix in well with the group for a good laugh. The freshly made morning tea and BBQ lunch was simply delicious. Highly recommended and thanks Roy for giving me the VIP seat for the whole day =)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnGiekOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You haven't done the Gold Coast properly until you do this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

As a travel agent I get so many clients telling me they want to see the Gold Coast and asking me for theme park passes to do this. If you want to see the REAL Gold Coast you need to get off the beaten track. I have been up Tamborine Mountain 4 times now and this was my first time as part of a tour. I was so happy with the outcome. You don't need to worry about traffic with these guys cause you probably won't see another vehicle on your way up the fire trail. The ride is bumpy enough to be fun but not enough to need a chiropractor. The morning tea was beautiful homemade scones just out of the oven in a sweet little church in the forest. We hand fed the most beautiful birds at O'Reilly's and lunch was served in the most beautiful remote area in Lamington National Park. It's hard to believe we only travelled for such a short time to be in such a different and beautiful place. Darren & Royd (Hemmy) were our combinred tour guides both full of jokes (good and bad) and always full of surprises. You can tell they are full of love for their office and it's not hard to see why. For someone that has been to the Gold Coast well over 20 times I can easily say this is my NUMBER #1 THING TO DO IN THE GOLD COAST!!!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect day!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Darran gives you a great day of adventure, sight-seeing and education about the beautiful area just west of Gold Coast...HIGHLY reccomend the full day tour that includes a great lunch...I plan on taking my wife on the same tour next year on her first visit to Australia...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“AMAZING - ENJOYMENT FROM START TO FINISH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is an absolute must do tour!!!! We all thoroughly enjoyed this trip and couldn’t stop laughing from start to finish. It is a family run business, Darren, his dad Royd and Darren’s wife.

It is well worth upgrading and spending a full day on this trip.

Extremely minor points to note was when we stopped for morning tea there were no cold refreshments i.e. water or orange juice for those adults/teenagers who didn’t want a hot drink – but this wasn't a problem because when we asked our wish was granted.

BBQ lunch was super and in such lovely surroundings

A perfect day was had by all!!!
It's one tour that you will remember, especially Darren's funny little stories. Infact this tour was one of the best highlights of our holiday

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTracey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing