We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Lots of weird and wonderful to gross you out!"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise

Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.77*
and up
Surfers Paradise Ripley's Believe It or Not! Odditorium Entry Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ripley's Believe It or Not! is Surfers Paradise's most unusual and unbelievable attraction! Located in Soul Boardwalk, Cavill Mall, Ripley's offers 15 individually themed galleries of unbelievable artefacts and interactive exhibits where you will Experience the Fun around every corner. Your self-guided adventure is sure to astonish as you come face to face with remarkable relics and rare treasures from around the World. With almost 9,000 square feet to explore, you will discover 350 genuine artefacts, amazing stories of history and adventure, magic, mystery, incredible illusions, fun interactive games, life-size figurines of unusual characters who actually lived and unbelievable movies! Simply an amazing journey of on an hour or more - That's Wow Factor fun for everyone! New addition, Ripley's Impossible LaseRace™, is the only LaseRace™ in the Southern Hemisphere and tests the guile and agility of participants as they duck, shimmy, pivot, and crawl through a maze of bright green laser beams in an effort to achieve the best possible time. Touch a laser, and time is added onto your score. Enjoy four difficulty levels and play as long as you want! (Included in General Admission).
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“"Lots of weird and wonderful to gross you out!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family of 4 had a great time at Ripley's and loved all the interesting and wonderful things, especially the Miniatures section, there was a lot of things to gross you out especially the barbaric items they used to use to torture people. The kids got a huge fright when the World's Tallest Man stood up and loved the man that sat beside you and passed very loud wind! There is a lot of reading involved so be prepared to take a little longer especially if the children want to practice their reading skills. It was a great place to visit for something different and certainly helped with a school assignment on strange matters in the World.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFunIpswich_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley's A, Manager at Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for sharing such a nice review. We think that some of the exhibits are pretty cool too, but it is always nice to know that our guests think so too! We're so happy that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback. Again, many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    582
    248
    54
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were just wondering through surfers when one of the girls working at ripleys gave us a leaflet, so we decided we would go straight in. Spent 2 hrs there, reading everything and thorougly enjoyed our time there. Funny as doing the tongue thing, and then later on finding out people could see you! Lol, thank goodness i didnt embarass myself too much as i moved on fairly quickly from that part haha! All in all, good little museum and pretty cool to learn about an inspirational man :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley's A, Manager at Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the only Ripley's Odditorium in the Southern Hemisphere! There's certainly something for everyone, including some unusual pieces. Thanks again for visiting and taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun for the bigger kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My son really wanted to go to this, he had a great time looking at all the exhibits. The museum is a good size for kids, however I thought that it would be a bit bigger considering the price. $75 for a family of 4, and it took us less than an hour and that was with thoroughly looking at everything and doing all the stuff in the interactive rooms.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lots of gross, weird and interesting things! Took our 7 and 10 year olds through, they enjoyed it too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauraxo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley's A, Manager at Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Ripley's! We sincerely appreciate your posting such a wonderful review of your experience here and for making Ripley’s part of your visit to the Gold Coast. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good way to kill a hour or so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was a interesting visit. It had been raining for days so we decided to go and do a few attractions. Had a good time here, lots to see and do inside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley's A, Manager at Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We love rainy days! :) Thank you so much for making Ripley's part of your visit to Surfers Paradise! It’s always nice to know that our experience is appreciated. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Ripley's Believe It Or Not! Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing