We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at the Wyndham for a weekend in October. Had been hoping to get away from the Melbourne cold for a bit but it rained for our entire stay on the Gold Coast.

We found it very handy to have an apartment when the weather was so bad. There isn't so much to do in Surfers Paradise when it is pouring down with rain the whole time.

The apartments are very new and modern. When we got to our apartment it was very clean. The kitchen was well equipped although we didn't use it much. We had what would have been nice views from our apartment if it had not been grey the whole time with a grey ocean. Parking was free. Check in was quick. The location was pretty good. Our room was quiet. I couldn't fault it on anything

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 748 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Wyndham Surfers Paradise in a 1 Bedroom Apartment. In the same booking, I booked a separate 1 Bedroom Apartment for my parents. I did this on hotelclub.com and paid just over $100 per room per night.

Upon check-in the facilities all looked nice, but to our surprise my parents were placed on a different floor. When we asked receiption if we could be on the same floor we were told it was going to be a full house for the weekend and we could not be moved. Might I offer some advice - if guests are staying for 4 nights (ie longer than the weekend) they should be given priority over those staying 1 or 2 nights... Lucky we didnt have children in another unit (because it was cheaper to hire 2x1br than 1x2br.

Apart from that, the rooms were very clean (no bath though). Rations were provided for dishwasher detergent etc. There was not enough provided to do the dishes daily and there were only 4 cups, plates etc.

We stayed on the 8th floor and had a great view of the hinterland. The verandah doors opened right up so great fresh air. Air conditioning worked with doors shut. My parents were upgraded to an ocean view on the 2nd floor. When they arrived, there was no view and they could barely see over the shops in front. Glad we werent paying for an ocean view, because it was a full house and they couldnt be moved. A room higher up on the hinterland side is much nicer!

Overall I would recommend it, especially over a small hotel room. Rooms were a very good size for 2 guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I booked a 1-bedroom apartment for 1 night via the Agoda.com website and unfortunately, the booking did not reach the hotel. Luckily, the reception staff were fantastic - they were friendly, very apologetic and managed to find a room for me despite being booked out completely (note: they have emergency rooms for this type of situation). With evidence that I had already paid for the booking, they did not charge me further for the room. We were also able to utilise their complimentary carpark space.

The apartment itself was exceptionally clean, modern, trendy and comfortable. They rooms were also decent in size and had everything we needed. On the 13th floor, we had great views of Surfers Paradise and the Gold Coast hinterlands.

They are located close to public transport, restaurant and amenities (all walking distance).

Only one minor note to make: the hotel does request that you take rubbish to the rubbish chute located on the floor and we didn't have a problem with that.

Overall, our experience with the hotel was excellent and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applemintfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Well located just a block from the beach and maybe a 10 minute stroll past restaurants, cafes and convenience stores North to Cavill Avenue, this spacious 2 bedroom apartment was well appointed - especially the kitchen where to my delight everything I needed to cook breakfast and dinner was available. The main bedroom's ensuite had great views through the WIW and bedroom to the beach. The pool was quite well protected from the wind, had a novel sandy beach, and was just the right temperature to provide a refreshing dip. Reception staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The apartments are complemented with a number of quality eateries at street level, with a convenience shop across the road.

Where the Wyndham lapsed into 'just average' was the common mistakes that hotels make - cheap bath plugs that frustratingly let the water out, uncomfortable 'hospitality grade' beds that are big on quilting but low on support, and cable TV that offered very little more than the free to air channels.

If it wasn't for the fact that neither of us had a good nights sleep all week I'd be happy to recommend this property, but this is such an important part of a holiday. I should note that a good replacement bath plug was provided on request, but why does the hotel guest have to become the hotel's quality manager?

In summary, this quite new apartment block

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week whilst attending a conference at the Gold Coast International. We also got a great rate on hotelclub. We had quite a lot of trouble actually finding the hotel as it had just been taken over by the Wyndham and there were no signs or anything. However I noticed the next day that the staff had placed a sign on the footpath outside!
We sacrificed the ocean view for a room on a higher floor and were pretty happy with the river view we had. I think we were on the 9th floor, and I wouldn't really want to be below that. The room was great - so impeccably clean that it seemed like no one had ever stayed in it before! The bathroom and kitchen felt new. The design and appliances are very designer with stone benchtops, SS fridge, awesome dishwasher etc. The bathroom is modern stone and glass. The small laundry was very handy too. Very comfy bed, huge balcony, quiet (no troublesome neighbours) and great a/c.
I highly recommend having a kitchen in Surfers as the restaurants are mostly rubbish and there is a real lack of nice cafes to have breakfast etc. There's an IGA 5 min down the road too. Service was ok, nothing special. It's disappointing that there is no cleaning service unless you stay over 8 nights though! Our room was a little grubby by the 7th night!
Overall, if you are forced to go the the Gold Coast (one of Australia's greatest hell holes!) then this hotel provides a civilised refuge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neareststar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel was taken over by the Wyndham group recently and is now called Wyndham Surfers Paradise. We found an excellent deal on the hotelclub website which had rooms available for less than half price.

Our flight was slightly delayed which meant we arrived after 10pm so that reception was closed and we were checked in by someone from the security firm which looks after the building at night. It meant we were only "properly" checked in the following day and only found out we needed to do this when we realised our keys were deactivated.

We had booked a one bedroom apartment and were given one with an ocean view even though we had not asked for one. The apartment itself was very spacious, with a good kitchen and even a separate laundry room. The bedroom had a very large wardrobe which proved very useful. As other reviewers have noted, it is obvious that the building is very new.

The hotel is an excellent location: at walking distance from the centre of Surfers Paradise and there are bus stops close by for going further afield (including the airport and the theme parks).

The one major downside is that the hotel does not provide housekeeping services if your stay is for less than 8 days, which meant we often ended up running down to reception to ask for shampoo, dishwashing liquid etc. You also have to take out your own rubbish and if you do not do so at the end of your stay, you'll be charged $25. There was also a rather bizarre incident one night when there was no running water in the apartment, and we learnt the whole hotel for a couple of hours...hopefully that was just a one-off.

I would stay here again but only if I got as good as deal on the price again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAC_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We really loved this place. Nice new apartment with views to die for. Equipped with everything one could wish for. Wouldn't call it a 5 star resort though but a nice modern serviced apartment complex. Exceptional value for money for the price we paid (AUD 129/night for a 1-bedroom Deluxe - opening offer Oct 2009).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $105 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing