We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
View Pacific Holiday Apartments
Reviewed December 21, 2010

My stay at View Pacific was just tremendous. It was well within budget and I highly recommend anyone to stay here. close to the City Centre and the Beach. What else could you want. Huge rooms, excellent hygiene and friendly staff and a view to die for....
Cheer-io-s Joe :P

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Greeted with a warm friendly approach. Joe the Manager helped our group (Academics) with all tours etc. Made our stay at the Gold Coast one that we would never forget. We have promoted View Pacific to other groups in many other countries. A must to stay at. Location is perfect as it saved us transport cost. Low cost restaurants/cafe's in walking distance. Great holiday - from all the Science Educators - Bangladesh & Meixco.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_moody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

When we booked our room at View Pacific, we did so mainly because of the proximity to central Surfers. The room rate was one of the lowest available at the time so we were expecting fairly basic accommodation, however the room we were provided (while not perfect) definitely exceeded our expectations. It was like a home away from home which suited us brilliantly with a 9-month old baby in tow.

The manager was very accommodating and provided us with a lot of information about things to see and do in the area. Due to his willingness to share local knowledge, we ended up doing a few things that we hadn't planned (Budd's Beach being one of them) that were perfect for us.

I guess my only gripe would be that my partner and I didn't really sleep well, although that may have more to do with our bed preference (very firm) than the actual beds in the room. The only reason I didn't rate the room itself 5 stars is that the apartment and facilities were a little rough around the edges, but this is to be expected in a building of its age.

All in all, if you're looking for great value and friendly service in an amazing location, View Pacific won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brojohug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was possibly the worst hotel stay in my life, do yourself a favour, and do not stay here!

Stayed for 1 night, booked through www.wotif.com and room was not configured as booked and paid for. Manager (and check-in person) was drinking a beer at 10:30 in the morning, and refused to give us a room that we had paid for with 4 beds. I contacted wotif, whom spoke to the manager, and even after this, refused to offer what we had booked. Ended up paying extra money for a roll away bed, which was worse than a dorm bed.

Facilities/Room were from the 1970s, and the entire place should be demolished.

Would rate worse than a backpackers; beds disgusting, no hot water, noisy, no working air-conditioning, dirt everywhere

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_Delv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viewpac, Manager at View Pacific Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

We always welcome the bad as well as the good comments from our guests, but we were very surprised to read this comment as it is totally untrue. The guest wanted to have 6 guests in a room, while only willing to pay for 2. Despite his dishonesty and aggressive behaviour at the reception desk, we tried to appease him by providing extra bedding, and we did not insist on charging the full tariff as was our right. This review appears to be the guest's revenge for being caught out in his dishonesty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at View Pacific, Surfers Paradise after a recommendation from friends. We took our 3 young children we were very impressed with our stay. The prices were much better than other places nearby, and the big apartments are fantastic for kids (we had a 2 bedroom apartment). Given its location to the beach and central Surfers, it is great value. The building is pretty old, but everything we needed for day to day living was right there in the apartment and we thought it was very clean. Our apartment looked like it had been recently renovated and the furniture looked brand new. Management was also very helpful whenever we needed anything. All in all we had a great time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartBlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The apartments at the View Pacific were unclean and smelly. The room we were initially given was just shocking with the carpets threadbare, furniture stained and stinking of cigarette smoke. After being told that there were no other available rooms we were about to leave but were then offered a room that was in better shape than the first. We still had to clean/wash everything we used in the apartment from the bathroom to the cutlery which had food caked on them. The experience ruined our trip, as we were looking forward to a relaxing holiday. If you want comfort and luxary don't stay here. if you're looking for somewhere to crash with a few friends (like a backpackers) then this is probably the place for you. After our first night we left and went to a more comfortable place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We booked this apartment for our last minute travel plans. As such most hotels/apartments on the gold coast had been booked and of the few we were able to locate in the weeks before xmas this was the cheapest (for the season) and most central, with a great location only 2 blocks from cavill avenue. There was also free underground parking.

However, these would be the only positive attributes. The apartment block has many apartments which I gather are privately owned and many rented out. Perhaps we were unlucky in our allocated apartment (I'm not sure what the others looked like), however we were bitterly disappointed and agreed that it was the worst standard of accommodation we had ever stayed in at the gold coast.

While the apartment was generally clean, the carpets and furniture were threadbare and in urgent need of an upgrade. The cupboards in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms were also very old, with chipped and broken edges. The beds (we had 4 in total in a 2 bedroom apartment) were extremely uncomfortable and all sagged in the middle, resulting in a poor night's sleep. Inside my bedroom cupboard was a broken fan. The shower (which was over a bath) only ran hot water for 5 minutes before turning luke warm.

While the website advertises that there is air conditioning, this was not the case in our apartment (although we were advised of this on booking). We were told that there were ceiling fans, however there was only one in the main bedroom. There were views of the beach from a large veranda, which meant that there was a breeze and this managed to cool the apartment. However, there were no fly screens on any of the 3 veranda doors!

A very small kidney sized pool was located at the back of the apartment block, however it appeared wholly unwelcoming in such a small area that we didn't bother using it. The beach is very close so we made use of that instead.

We made our complaints to the manager requesting another apartment on the first day, however the management seemed to be responsible for renting out the apartments only and did not appear to know much about our room. They advised us that there were no other apartments available and we did not hear anything further from them for the duration of our stay.

Overall, I would not stay here again or recommend this place to anyone else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vio52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#19 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
BreakFree Moroccan Resort
#21 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Pacific Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Pacific Holiday Apartments

Address: View Pacific 5 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly The View Pacific)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $122 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — View Pacific Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your View Pacific Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Pacific Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing