We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service & Staff the main let down, room nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is the second time I've stayed here as I live interstate. I was very disappointed this time round. We were staying for 5nights.

We got to the hotel at 1:50pm (Check-in is 2pm), we were told to go for a walk & come back in 20mins as the room wasn't ready. The lady didn't apologise, nor was she friendly. We returned, about 2:15pm, I approached the same lady, she advised the room still wasn't ready & contacted house keeping, she then asked me to take a seat. I asked how long it would be & she responded,15mins. I then asked her if she could let me know when it was ready, she then advised me to "take a seat, then in 15mins stand up & wave to her & she'll check if its ready because it gets really busy at that time". I advised her we had an afternoon function & she simply stared at me. I received no response, no apology.

I then sat and waited. About 10mins later, I approached a different lady at the counter, she advised me it still wasn't ready, she then said she will put us in a different room.

The room is spacious and quite a nice, modern apartment. It is within close proximity to shops and restaurants which is great. However, we won't stay here again, there are plenty of options on the Gold Coast. Not only was our room not serviced the first day, we couldn't sleep well the first two nights because of the noise on Cavill Ave, despite being on a high level. Overall, I'm quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetypie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear Guest

I was dissappointed to read your recent review.

Our customer service fell way short of our own high expectations and I would welcome you to contact me direct so that I can investigate further into the level of service you experienced.

I hope that this has not put you off staying at Mantra Circle on Cavill in the future and I hope to hear from you soon

Regards

Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,386 - 3,392 of 3,561 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed in the 3 bedroom subpentouse and it was amazing! It was very, very clean, modern and spacious. I have stayed at many properties in the Gold Coast and this was the best by far. The reception staff were so lovely and helpful. Although housekeeping wasn't provided every day fresh towels were provided and the hair dryer we asked for arrived at the 61st floor within minutes. The location was excellent and the view was awesome. This place suited the adults and the, teenagers in our group. Our friends stayed in the 2 bedroom non ocean view and their apartment was also very spacious and clean. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
Thank delasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear Family with Teenagers

Thanks for posting your comments on TA regarding your recent stay

I am pleased we were able to accommodate your requests and provide clean spacious room that met all of your expectations

I look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra at Circle on Cavill again soon

Regards

Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I was very wary of the Hotel due to reviews here, but it had the best average reviews so i booked in for a few days over the long weekend.
The 1bedroom ocean spa was huge, bigger than i expected (in fact my apartment felt small after i came home) and very clean. No cleaning every day but i preferred that as it felt more secure to leave your room and be sure housekeeping wasn't entering after you.
They weren't stingy with the toiletries and towel replacements which was great - two showers a day with fresh towels.
Didn't get a chance to use any facilities of the hotel except with the Cinema (this was a 3 day wait so book early). Which was excellent and a lovely experience as with a young baby we haven't been to the movies much and our baby loved her first cinema experience.
The view wasn't as good as i expected, a couple of new towers in front obscured some of the view and the building is about 2 blocks from the beach so it's actually closer to the rive than the beach. however it's height is impressive so you get a good view.
The circle cavill location is also an advantage to roaming around and enjoying the ambience of Surfers. Note that IGA closes at 5pm and 6pm on weekends so Coles is much better for access but the circle has great restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review posted on TA.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found our Mantra Ciorcle on Cavill to exceed your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to the Gold Coast

Regards

Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We are currently staying in a 2 bedroom spa ocean view apartment.

There are pros and cons to this apartment complex.

I would love to know which apartments they took photos of because our lounge was old, leather was peeling and so so so uncomfortable. No comfort at ALL.

On arrival I was told by a not so friendly employee that just because we make requests, it doesn't mean you get them. All I asked for was a checkin of 1pm so I can get my son down for his lunchtime sleep.

The facilities that exist are wonderful. The pool is lovely.

I have paid $281 per night I would definately stay elsewhere next time, quite expensive and deceiving by the photos of the actual apartment.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khronopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear Guest

Thanks very much for providing feedback on your recent stay.

Since the building is strata titled, all of the rooms are owned by individual owners and some have placed their own furniture into the units. I can assure you that the photos taken represent the majority of the building.

I have passed on your comments to the Front Office team and apologise for any unprofessionalism shown

I hope you take to opportinity to come back and visit soon

Regards


Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

What can I say, this hotel exceeded our expectations! Reception staff were friendly and very helpful. The carparking did cost $20 for a little ticket to put in your window although we never had any trouble finding a park. Location was excellent, walking distance to everywhere!
Our room was great, we booked an ocean view suite it was on the 24th floor which gave an awesome view... you could see the beach and city from the bed and even the spa.
We stayed from Sunday to Thursday, it was quite noisy on the Sunday night (although my partner slept through it!) but the rest of the week was fine.
I would definitely stay here again and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlissNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Dear BlissNZ

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a comment regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed the views. Parking is complimentary at the Hotel, so you must have parked in the Retail area which I apoligise. Happy to take off this amount on your next stay

Regards

Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The room was spacious and modern however the carpet and lounges were stained. The doona had no cover on it, the cooktop had what looked like dried egg on it. The balcony had a few cigarette butts on the ground and there were fingerprints all over the glass. The elevators were extremely slow. Overall we thought the hotel was gruby and more suitable for partying teenagers than adults.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Don82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were dissappointed with the cleaning aspects to your stay. Please be assured that these items you raised have been addressed.

I am sorry it wasnt brought to our attention during your stay and we would have taken the opportunity to room move you to another room.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Circle on Cavill again soon

Regards


Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I recently stayed there with 2 friends in September 2010 and we received terrible service. We were given the wrong room when we got there, we asked for a two bedroom with 3 separate beds but got 2 queen beds instead, ( neither of us are gay, not that there's anything wrong with that ) and when we complained we were told that we had to wait till morning so one of us had to sleep on the lounge.
The following morning we were told that we would be upgraded to a better room but as they were full we were down graded instead.
We complained to the manager and we were brushed off and told that they were full and there was nothing that could be done.
After checking out we addressed our concerns to the building manager and were told that there was nothing that could be done for us.
To add to the problems, the floors were not vaccuumed the whole time we were there. A full 4 days. TERRIBLE
I am not giving up in my quest for compensation for my horror stay in this very dirty crud hole
but I will never stay in this place ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronson1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMunro, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that the service you were provided during your stay was inconsistant. The issues you have raised have been addressed with the respective departmental managers.

The letter you have sent into the office will be returned to you outlinning the property follow up issues and I trust you will take the opportunity to return to the property one day soon

Regards

Neil Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Address: 9 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $126 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, consisting of city, river, hinterland and ocean views, all with self contained kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the bustling centre below. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY'- Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years +) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are forbidden -views allocated depending on availability. Bond policy: Upon check in, guests are required to provide photo ID and a credit card pre-authorisation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing