We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Circle on Cavill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

For first timers to Surfers Paradise with a family, the Mantra Circle was a great choice. Fabulous location, central to shopping and transport with many options for restaurants / food close by. Apartment was spacious and well equipped. Great views with a good size balcony and outdoor setting that meant we could enjoy the outdoors as well. Rooms need to be repainted and a little more maintenance probably would not go astray but overall, clean with great amenities. Two bathrooms, laundry, fully equipped kitchen made it an easy stay. We booked the room from the previous night but did not arrive until the day after with a 6am arrival however, did not have to wait for room to be cleaned and were able to go straight in - worth every extra $$$. The Avenue - great pub, fab meals and good service and the Titanium Bar - great location, cheap drinks and good meals.

Room Tip: Choose the north tower - a little quieter than the south - views of river or ocean are both fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CUThere_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
What a fabulous review. Yes, I have to agree with you, the location of Mantra Circle on Cavill is pretty good. Located on the ground floor of the towers you have Woolworths, and an array of restaurants, cafes and shops. We are only a short 5min walk to the main beach of Surfers Paradise, clubs and pubs, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Cavill mall.
You’ve provided some great advice on getting an early arrival in to a room. Thanks for the traveler tip. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    529
    198
    101
    89
See reviews for
499
599
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here with my family for five nights during the January school holidays - overall is was a good experience and excellent value. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean spa apartment, which was huge and well appointed. The location is outstanding, right in the heart of Surfers and close to everything. Nice pools, easy car access, well functioning lifts (which is important in a high rise) and good facilities.

Unfortunately, there were some service and maintenance issues that dragged the whole experience down a little. The apartment was badly in need of a ‘refresh’. There were lots of scuff marks all over the place, and things that were broken or badly maintained. One got the impression that unless something was a deal-breaker, management would make no effort to fix it. For example, our TV remote control was missing the back plate that holds the batteries in – technically it still worked - but the batteries obviously kept falling out. I called reception to have it replaced, but no one ever bothered to come. Similarly, the plates/cups/utensils in the kitchen clearly hadn’t been restocked in ages. For some bizarre reason, we literally had 7 boiled egg cups, but only 2 teaspoons.

Overall we had a great time, but it is a shame that management can’t take a bit more care in the upkeep of their property. Still a great place to stay and I would recommend it to others, but I fear what this place will be like in another 5-10 years time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RST_Video
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I’m so pleased you thought your overall experience was a good apart from some minor hiccups which should have been attended to while you were here.

It’s our target to ensure prompt follow through with any guest issues during the guests stay with us, as our guests are all staying with us for an enjoyable experience and I am sincerely sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet this expectation with you.

I will be definitely sharing your review with the team here, and will be using your review as a training session to better improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Located in the best location, next to your main bus stop and all the shops and restaraunts are a quick walk down the road. The apartments themselves are well maintained and simple, tv reception is perfect and your kitchen is decked out with essentials. The staff are very friendly and everyone has been really helpful and nice. Would recommend and stay again myself, particularly for the price we paid which was in my opinion a steal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dblceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Awesome! Sounds like we nailed it. This is great to read, the team will be so appreciative for the review. Can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The moment we checked in did not have a good feeling. No quick service at reception, everything was at a snails pace, arrived with whole family of 9, first trip for my elderly father and kept us waiting, and we arrived late in the afternoon so there shouldn't have been any delays. Requested 2 apartments on same floor level, got one on the 13th and the other on the 16th. Made it difficult to access each floor as keys/card entry only allows you to go to your own floor level. One apartment had not been cleaned thoroughly, bottle tops on carpet floor, windex cleaner and rags left behind in bathroom. Marks alll over the walls, sofa's stunk of stale sweat and falling apart. With 5 staying in one room, sofa bed was needed. Opened up the sofa bed only to find the hinges were just about off, absolutely not acceptable and unsafe. When we called reception they organised someone to have a look at it and said 'what's wrong with it!" Poor attitude from staff. Finally received two fold out beds.
Stove top plate one wasn't working, toaster wasn't working, cooking appliances, cutlery were missing. To accommodate the amount of people of 5 there were insufficient pots and pans, cutting board missing etc. All these issues we notified reception for and they replaced it but my view on this is if the manager wishes to reply back ... (make excuses for that is) is that when staying in a supposedly 4.5 star apartment these issues all shouldn't be overlooked, check if everything is in good working order prior to new guests arriving. It is unacceptable for us to have to advise and do the work for them. This is supposed to be an enjoyable and relaxing holiday!
Went to use the bbq facilities in the late afternoon in the south tower, they weren't working. Went to use bbq in north tower the lights weren't working. We let them know and they said they'd get on to it. Funny though because having read previous reviews from other people staying a couple of days prior to us, they had the same issues so obviously there was no priority in getting it fixed.
To top it off, the double size bed we were sleeping on became so uncomfortable, we just came to accept it but only realised on our last day as we were making sure that we didn't leave any belongings behind, we checked under the bed and lifted up the mattress only to find that half the wooden slats were completely broken.
If you call this a 4.5 star rating I suggest you look at places like the sheraton and the hilton. I would definitely never recommend this place to anyone. The only good thing about it was the overall view. Couldn't fault that!

Room Tip: Don't choose to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie G, Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I’m sorry that there was a delay upon check in, but appreciate the flexibility you gave us during our busy season. Unfortunately, as the hotel operates as a residential and hotel complex, not all apartments are on each floor. We try an allocate as close as we possibly can, but again when it’s our busy season we can’t always guarantee these special requests. I’m sorry that this wasn’t explained to you when you made your booking.

I was alarmed to hear about the cleaning standards of your apartment, there is no excuse for an unclean room, and I’m sorry that on this occasion we let you down. However, it was pleasing to read that our friendly reception teams were able to fix all your apartment issues, straight away.

Yes, the views are A.M.A.Z.I.N.G! It’s so relaxing to sit on the balcony with a morning coffee watching those waves roll in.

I hope you can give us a second chance, so we can show you the true Mantra experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed over the Australia day weekend which turned out to be near cyclonic conditions and had to extend our stay as our flights were cancelled due to the weather.

We had a one bedroom ocean view spa room. The view was great, looked straight up Cavil Ave to the beach (which was mainly hidden from view due to the torrential rain for our whole stay, so sad).
The room was nice and well layed out and was very clean. It had just about everything you would need to be self catering in the kitchen, cuttlery, plates pots and pans, utensils etc. There was also a small supply of tea and coffee and sugar. Washer and drier were also in the unit, although it took us a while to realise it was there as it was in a large built in wardrobe and we didnt know it was even there at first.

The bathroom was modern and clean with a great view through the bedroom and out to the coast, although you could drop some venetians for privacy.

During our stay due to the weather there were a couple of in room anouncements about the lifts and also asking everyone to bring in all furniture on the balconies and an extreme weather warning, I thought this showed they exercised a good duty of care during extgreme conditions.

The reception staff, hmmmm, exceptional service from one staff member and very very ordinary service from another, there was a bit of a mix up with our keys not working and them needing payment when we had to extend our stay due to the weather and canceled flights, it wasnt the mix up that bothered me but the way it was handled with one staff member being quite rude and just shrugging his shoulders when I was trying to sort out the issue, anyway another very helpful staff member stepped in and it was all sorted easily in the end, really I am pretty forgiving but how this was all initially handled was not acceptable.

The gym looked ok and there were two pools which we would like to have enjoyed. There were BBQs as well in the pool area.

The location is fantastic, right on Cavil Ave, very close to the mall and the beach and the main tourist hub of Surfers. Hire cars available a few hundred meters up the road, main bus stop very close, they will also ring a taxi for you from reception if needed.

These apartments are not serviced daily, you will get fresh towels everyday, although we saw a few people complaining they hadn't had fresh towels. Not to worry you can pop them in the washing machine and clean them yourself if worse comes to worse, but a call to reception should see you recieve fresh ones. Only one time during our 3 night stay was our rubbish collected, we didnt have much, not sure what they have in place for clearing your rubbish normally.

So overall, fantastic central location, great views, well set out rooms, easy enough to self cater (there is a woolies right at the exit of the building) or go out for every meal as there is so much around the area.

I would gladly stay there again, maybe next time some sunshine would be nice so we could enjoy the fantastic view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pippy5

Thank you so much for your detailed review, I couldn't have been clearer myself in the overall details of your review on our services and the room facilities. It was such a shame that you were travelling over the Australia Day weekend when we experienced the unfortunate strong weather pattern. I really appreciate your understanding and your overall commendation on how the team managed the property throughout the severe weather. I am sorry about the team member you initially encountered about your keys, I can only apologise however it is pleasing that another team member could see the situation and jumped in to assist you and turn this around quickly with the solution it required. All in all you have summarised everything really well and we hope your review assists our future travellers.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my second time staying here with my partner, and were very pleased with our first stay, so knew what to expect with our room. The room was fantastic as usual, pleasant view from the 10th floor, even though I didn't pay for an ocean view room, it appears a lot of rooms have a good view anyway.
I came in on the Sunday as the terrible storms were coming in, which unfortunately led to flooding of the level which goes out to Cavill Mall, and power being out in some of the lifts. It was easy to tell that guests were very irritable and stressed out, and I even witnessed one guest taking it out on the reception staff, swearing and carrying on. Obviously these were circumstances out of anyone's control and I thought that the reception staff carried themselves extremely well in this situation, kept their calm, and explained the situation the best they could. When I was served, I was given the same courteous service as I have always had, and staff still had a smile on their face despite the stressful circumstances.
Definitely staying again, and kudos to the staff on the desk during the storm weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi KerriB

Words cannot describe how happy I am to read your review. I often feel that the great reviews don't always get posted to our Tripadvisor page so it is great to see you commend our impeccable service over what was a difficult weekend for the Gold Coast. It is even more comforting to know that we do offer consistency in our service and standards as you have stayed with us twice now and know your expectations are going to be met. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay. If you email through your next dates of stay to circle.res@mantra.com.au we will ensure you are well looked after and have another great 5 star experience.

Thank you KerriB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I took my partner for his birthday and spent a long weekend in Gold Coast so we can visit the theme parks.

We got a really great rates for our stay and was pretty happy with everything. We didn't spend much time in our room as we were busy visiting the theme parks and walking around surfers paradise as this is our first time to Surfers.

Location was quite central and we can walk to nearly everywhere. We didn't notice anything bad about the room and all in all was quite a pleasant stay.

Only problem we had was there were too many boisterous drunk young people making havoc in the hotel, we had to call the reception as our next door neighbours kept us awake all night with their partying. This was resolved after we called as they sent the security and found out there were 15 people inside a 1 bedroom apartment having a party.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi LittelQT

Fabulous review, sounds like you had a great little stay with us!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience and comments.

Katie Scholes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 2,747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 stars 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers Paradise
Hotel Grand Chancellor Surfers P...
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Property: Mantra Circle on Cavill
Address: 9 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of two residential towers, Circle on Cavill offers luxury accommodation for couples, families or business delegates looking for a relaxed holiday in Surface Paradise on the Gold Coast. With its central location, proximity to the beach and direct access to the Circle on Cavill shopping precinct, Circle on Cavill ensures you will never be short of things to do. Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, all consisting of self contained state of the art kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Circle on Cavill has many onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the extra large LCD television located between the two towers. Circle on Cavill is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the iconic Australian beach culture and the contemporary international entertainment to make it a very sort after destination. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY' (DOCUMENTATION TO BE SIGNED ON ARRIVAL). Circle on Cavill Party Policy: - Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years or greater) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are not to be brought onto the premises - Apartments are to be left in original condition on check out or additional charges will apply Failure to comply with the above will result in immediate eviction from the premises. Circle on Cavill reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. Circle on Cavill is a mixed use building that includes residents, permanent tenants and holiday rental apartments. Circle on Cavill apartments consist of city, river, hinterland and ocean views. One Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments are located from level 13 Two Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views Two Bedroom Ocean Apartments are located from level 13 Three Bedroom Sub Penthouse Apartments are located from level 35 with ocean, river and hinterland views Apartments are assigned on the day of arrival, with levels & views allocated depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing