We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with our stay ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Down Apartments
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay ;)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time staying here ;) very nice apartment and reasonable price secure garage space, Loved the pool and spa .... Friendly owner ... Just a short walk away from shops ,beach and cruises..
Only a small thing I didn't like was no extractor fan in bathroom... Bedrooms could have had thicker curtains as room was too light at night. Otherwise modern and a great stay ...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADKK77, Manager at Anchor Down Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We thank you very much for your feedback which we have passed on to the Owners of the Apartments and the Body Corporate Committee. Our bathrooms and toilets do have vents installed but they are quiet during operation. We are pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you again in the near future. All return guests receive discounted rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
44
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

$10.00 per night Extra for airconditioner ( queensland !!!!!!!! WEATHER who would ever think that you would want an aircondtioner, clean the floor when you leave, no laughing, no having fun, dont wipe your bum too much because you only get one roll, dont mark the walls because they
will have to pull the whole thing down and rebuild and you will have to pay, if you lose any of the royal doulton plastic mugs, we will shot you, and dont even think about wanting a new battery for the 438 year old remote for austar.. That you had to pay extra for, my god .. Look I'm tongue in cheek here but my sister and I were amazed that anyone would stay then a bull dozer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicvisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADKK77, Manager at Anchor Down Apartments, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We find most of the information above to be ridiculously tongue in cheek comments but would like to comment on the Air conditioning charge and the Austar remote The reason we keep the air conditioning cost separate to the tariff is many people who stay here prefer not to have air conditioning as all our apartments have ceiling fans. We ensure our website and confirmation letters clearly state there is an extra charge for the air conditioning. We strive to keep our tariff at an affordable level making air conditioning a choice for our guests. All apartments have Austar installed and guests are able to watch this at NO extra cost. The remotes are all less than 2 years old and we willingly replace batteries on a regular basis at NO charge to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

mylissa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here after a last minute change in our holiday plans over the long weekend during the terrible storm.
Erika was so accommodating and offered us a great apartment. Rates were very affordable. Apartments were clean and modern.
We were very happy here and would definitely stay again.
Fantastic location!!!!
Loved the pool and spa!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room that was facing the street and didn't have any issues with noise. I think you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here last week throughout the whole Tropical Cyclone Oswald and flooding drama. Even though the weather was terrible, Erika and Allan couldn't of made it a better stay. We booked the night before we were due to check-in, and our tariffs were GREAT value for money. During the high season and a 2 bedroom apartment for only $150 AU per night! Overall a great time, friendly staff, great location and all the amenities you need :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 29 - you get river and city views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44dan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Did not like it on arrival - the good reviews and cool pictures on the web made us expect something more glamorous and shiny. It's not - it's rather average, now new and quite basic, but the location is perfect - just minutes’ walk to the centre of Surfers. It is on the side street so the noise is limited to backpackers' across the road, they finish late and start early.
The hotel provides you with a map of what's around - great idea.
It was annoying they charge you for the aircon and do not provide an adequate amount of dishwashing liquid - that's petty!
I wish they clean the place more often - we stayed 5 days and all this time a dead cockroach was lying on the stairs. The vent in the room needed a good clean for a while and some things needed a repair.
Our two bedroom on the ground floor had a little courtyard outside from which we could walk to the pool. The pool was small but good for little kids and quite warm; it was disappointing though that the spa was the same temperature.
The room was reasonably sized, had a kitchen with a cooktop, microwave, oven and fridge; a bath in the bathroom (you really need it for toddlers) and washer and dryer. They provide basic toiletries.
Units are different - we saw some with nice furniture on the balcony, the swing and so on.
Overall I believe this is a good value and a great place to stay with kids, close to life but far from drunken crowds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whysherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights as part of an end of season footy trip and I had commensurately low expectations however I was pleasantly surprised by the Anchor Down apartments.
The complex is basic but clean and a very short walk to the CBD along a quiet street with a bottle shop nearby.
The apartments are relatively roomy, clean and well-equipped with Austar included.
The complex has a pool, vending machines and a bbq area.
We were a large-ish group (10) and it was a great atmosphere with all groups mixing and verty friendly.
Only one minor downside - you have to clean your own apartment before you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnetBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here at Anchor Down over Easter 2012. Had a great time, & I'd highly recommend it. Location is great so close to central Surfers, the owners were great & very accomodating, the unit was excellent, & the facilities were good. I honestly can't think of a bad thing to say for our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#10 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. Tropez Apartments
St. Tropez Apartments
#45 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
K Resort Surfers Paradise
K Resort Surfers Paradise
#96 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
#91 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Apartments

Property: Anchor Down Apartments
Address: 25 - 27 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland QLD 4217, Australia (Formerly Whelan Street)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Down Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Down is Best Value Surfers Paradise Accommodation on the Gold Coast.Anchor Down Holiday Apartments are in a 3 story walk up apartment complex offering fully self contained resort style apartments in a peaceful tropical garden setting. Our water front resort backs onto the tranquil Nerang River and yet is only a short stroll to the busy heart of Surfers Paradise. Stay at Anchor Down if you are interested in a relaxing getaway close to the Gold Coast golden beaches and rolling surf and the excitement and adventure of the theme parks. Our comfortable apartments provide affordable, self contained accommodation suited to both families, couples and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Down Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing