We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent accomodation and NEW FRIENDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor Down Apartments
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation and NEW FRIENDS”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just spent the past 9 days at Anchor Down Apartments and have had the most fantastic time. Erika and Allan Pyne are the nicest and Kindest people you could ever hope to meet on holidays. The apartments are lovely, very clean, very comfortable and have everything you need for your stay. From your apartment you look out onto tropical gardens. The pool, spa and bbq area is very well kept and a great place for a chat with people from many different countries. Anchor Down Apartments is a short walk to the heart of Surfers Paradise. We highly recommend Anchor Down Apartments for your stay in Surfers and we will be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
44
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our family stayed here for just under a week and had a good stay. The rooms were tidy and had all that you needed.

Our room had a few things missing as we found out that they take out a lot of stuff for schoolies which is some type of big party that Aussie school leavers have at the end of the year but a quick trip to the office got us what we needed.

The rooms have fans which are adequate and they have satellite TV which is good also.

The beds were comfortable and sleep was not a problem.

The pool and spa is really good and the kids enjoyed going out for a swim numerous times per day and even I jumped in and had a good paddle. They have a nice BBQ area too with everything you need.

We stayed on the ground floor which was good and bad. It was great for the kids as they just opened the sliding doors and went to the pool, they didn't have to go down the stairs or keep entering our code to get back into the building. The bad was that we had some noisy French speaking neighbors above us who must not have adjusted to the time zone as they were up in the morning making a racket very early in the morning (kids) but hey, it's a holiday so all was good :-)

Overall if you can get a good room rate then it's well worth a stay. The managers are friendly and everything is as should be.

Room Tip: Try for a bottom floor room if you have kids and away from the street as there are a lot of backpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Unit was clean and tidy and the amenities were excellent. Great pool and BBQ area. Easy walking distance to the centre of Surfers Paradise. I would recommend to anyone. Managers very friendly and even gave us transportation for us and luggage when we left. Thanks heaps. Would happily stay again. :-)

Room Tip: Be aware that the backpackers across the road have noisy partying guests that may keep some people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dougall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very central to everything, the apartment itself was lovely and really comfortable. We loved the green and peaceful grounds, the pool and spa were fantastic as was the bbq area. Thanks heaps, my 2 daughters, niece and myself really enjoyed our holiday. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I found the bedroom very confortable,the bathroom completed,the rest aswel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairauf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

very spacious, great location, mostly comfy, slight problem with the bed but overall happy with the appartment, we had 2 teenage girls who where also happy. would go again and would recomend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Airlie Beach
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Thanks Erika and Allan for your hospitality. Thru default as Allan put it was happy with the accommodation and how close it was to everything. I cant complain about the room it suited us fine.
Always a friendly face and a nice chat to be had. Have read the not so good comments on trip advisor and wonder why. I would come back again and hopefully one day will return. Thanks Guys :0)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
K Resort Surfers Paradise
K Resort Surfers Paradise
#96 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,558 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Apartments

Property: Anchor Down Apartments
Address: Anchor Down Apartments 25 - 27 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Whelan Street)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Down Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Down is Best Value Surfers Paradise Accommodation on the Gold Coast.Anchor Down Holiday Apartments are in a 3 story walk up apartment complex offering fully self contained resort style apartments in a peaceful tropical garden setting. Our water front resort backs onto the tranquil Nerang River and yet is only a short stroll to the busy heart of Surfers Paradise. Stay at Anchor Down if you are interested in a relaxing getaway close to the Gold Coast golden beaches and rolling surf and the excitement and adventure of the theme parks. Our comfortable apartments provide affordable, self contained accommodation suited to both families, couples and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Down Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing