We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Down Apartments
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The hospitality rocks!”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at this apartment with two other families for 6 days in the late January this year. Although this is only a 3.5-star hotel, but Allan and Erika's hospitality have made our stay a 5-star experience! The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. All basic facilities which we could think of, even the clothes dryers, could be find here in each apartment.

We checked out on the National Australia Day (Jan 26), on which the reception were only open only from 9am to 12pm. But Allan and Erika allowed us to leave our luggage at the reception for shopping till 12pm, then came back to check out altogether. They were very thoughtful and went out of their way to assist us during our stay.

We will definitely come back to them again for our next trip to Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
44
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Erika and Allan are great friendly hosts. We have stayed three separate times in three separate rooms and the rooms are perfect for what we require. Always clean and tidy. Pool was awesome - our four year old never wanted to get out. 5 minute walk to centre of Surfers as well as bus stops. We are coming back for a fourth trip in July 2012.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashley_sarah870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

we arrived on australia day only to find out that there was no one at reception and has to wait 30min to be let in. When we finally got to our room we found out that we had to pay for the air con that was not a problem the problem was that becouse there was no one at reception we had to wait for the next day not happy due to the heat and little kids. our apartment was dirty beds very unconfortable they only supply 1 rool of toilet paper for 4 people for 5 nights and 4 towels for 4 people for 5 nights . spa very dirty pool ok also noticed there was no supervision of the apartments after 5pm. will not recommend this apartment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherronrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADKK77, Manager at Anchor Down Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Australia Day, yes we have had half a day off and we are sorry that a guest had trouble getting in, we have an after hours service which guides guests through a standard procedure to their apartment this is common practice in accommodation houses. At no time throughout the guests stay, were we approached with any complaints.

We have recently up graded beddings, cleanliness is very high on our agenda, we don't have dirty beds. Our apartments are advertised as fully self contained with washing machines and dryers and linnen service every 7 days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

This resort is absolutly beautiful!!! We arrived on the 18th of december in 2010 and stayed until the 23rd. WE DID NOT WANT TO LEAVE!
When we arrived we were an hour early due to daylight savings and although reception was ment to be closed, Erika (and her partner allan are the new managers) was there at the door ready to meet us, she was so kind, bought us into reception, was ready with our details as she knew we were driving up from nsw. check in was really fast and then she also showed us to our apartment.
Our beuatiful apartment was on the ground floor and was pool side aswell. The apartment was VERY VERY CLEAN when we arrived. The kids loved their room and the private balcony that they were able to have breakfast on regardless of the weather.
We felt so relaxed at this resort the management were so kind and helpful, they helped me find the local corner shop (1 minute walk from resort) and also helped us with any enquiries we had about where anything was. The resort facilities were absolutly fantastic, the pool is excellent and the spa is just blissful. they have excellent BBQ facilities, right beside the pool so you can watch the kids and cook at the same time. The setting of the resort was absolute paradise too, i love the palm trees they have throughout the resort.
We made some excellent friends and they were staying on the top floor, when we go back next time we will be going on the top floor so the kids can enjoy being up high. All level options would be ideal to stay in and i believe this is now going to be our QLD holliday destination for our new family holidays as our stay was just perfect. All round in our trip we stayed at 3 seperate places and i must say at anchor down we were treated like royalty. i give this resort a 10 / 10 rating and ive stayed many places but this was just perfect. Clean, excellent staff and a perfect location for all needs. we were so close to the theme parks only a 15 min drive and a 5 min walk to sufers paradise beach!!!
We can't wait to go back again, only we will take more people so they can all share the enjoyment with us. i tell everyone i know about this resort it was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ourbizz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Some rooms were nice, the one we were moved to was on the bottom level. Stains on carpets, unhygienic looking bathroom, beds were out of date - especially the fold out bed. Missing kitchen items upon arrival (which was deducted from the $200 bond along with other things we didn't damage) when we made a complaint, the staff replied with unhelpful verbal abuse.

Not recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachelsimpson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

stayed at the anchor down apartments with a group of 6 friends in november for 6 nights, when we arrived the floor had clearly not been cleaned with a stain of what appeared to be vomit next to one of the fold out beds....
we alerted management to this and various marks and cracked glassware out of fear of loosing our bond to which they replied they were sorry and that this would not affect our bond....

every day the spa would resemble a swamp with a thick slick on the top.

the general apartment was unclean with cigarette butts on the floor upon arrival, needless to say we were not happpy however there was no other vacancies in the area at the time...

adding to our dissappointment upon return home we were notified that our bond would not be returned to us, bar $10, because.. and quote "Carpet Clean $ 150.00 Marks on Walls $ 50.00 Marks on 2nd Bed Walls $ 50.00 Common Ground Cleanup $ 90.00 Unauthorised guests, loose their bond So they could Stay $ 800.00 their Bond in Lieu "

i highly doubt that it would cost 150 dollars for 6 people (900 total) to clean the floor and a further 600 to scrub the walls... both problems that we alerted management to....


would not reccommend this to anyone, no mater how desperate,

i would have rather driven up and slept in a cramped car...

ohh and the security was creepy and hit on most of the females staying at the hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dac93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2010

I spent)08 days the beginning of November, 2010 ( #27 ) in this magnificent hotel, with my children and my wife, which were the most pleasant days for a first visit of Australia. One thank you to the managers for their kindnesses and their simplicities. Can be in the next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francky1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
K Resort Surfers Paradise
K Resort Surfers Paradise
#96 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,557 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Down Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Apartments

Property: Anchor Down Apartments
Address: Anchor Down Apartments 25 - 27 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Whelan Street)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Down Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Down is Best Value Surfers Paradise Accommodation on the Gold Coast.Anchor Down Holiday Apartments are in a 3 story walk up apartment complex offering fully self contained resort style apartments in a peaceful tropical garden setting. Our water front resort backs onto the tranquil Nerang River and yet is only a short stroll to the busy heart of Surfers Paradise. Stay at Anchor Down if you are interested in a relaxing getaway close to the Gold Coast golden beaches and rolling surf and the excitement and adventure of the theme parks. Our comfortable apartments provide affordable, self contained accommodation suited to both families, couples and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchor Down Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing