We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 nights at the Sands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sands Holiday Apartments
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This accommodation is in a fabulous location if you want to be out all night and in the sea all day! It is in need of lots of TLC which is an ongoing time consuming effort by the contractors so expect noise through the day and for quite some time to come! Everything you need sofa's, new TV, full kitchen and large fridge, also an adequate sized bedroom and bathroom. If you need pristine clean then don't expect it here, the carpets are warn and not overly clean and the blanket had seen better days (most nights it wasn't needed). But if you are looking for something that is cheap, convenient and not 5 star then it is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 496Kelly_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location,location,location.The Sands has it all.Close to beach(across the road) ,supermarkets,bars and Cavill Mall all within less than five minutes walk.Apartment was clean,comfortable and completely self contained with great ocean views.We have stayed in 11 different properties in Surfers since 1987 and The Sands is the only one we have used twice.To close we must thank Lynne who is a very gracious hostess, so very helpful and welcoming. Hope to see you again next March Lynne.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike8harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Sands Holiday Apartments in May 2014. The good points were location, cleanliness, comfortable bed, good size, the balcony and tv.

Unfortunately the bad points outweigh the good points.
1) We were told we would be staying in a renovated apartment, which we did not.
2) We were not told that the outside of the apartments would be painted while we were staying there. This caused a few issues.
a) The painters were noisy.
b) Unknown to us they decided to sand and paint the balcony of the room we were staying in while we were there. We came back from a day out to a whole lot of mess on the balcony that hadn't been cleaned up and the table and chairs pushed outside of the door leading to the balcony. The following morning we were woken up at 7.30am to two men chatting away as they painted our balcony. When we complained to them about the mess and noise they said they were being quiet.
c) When we complained about the mess and noise to the Manager the care factor was zero. She asked me if I wanted her to arrange to clean up the balcony. Then started talking about how they should have finished painting two months ago but were slow.
d) There was a lot of noise coming from a couple of streets away on the Saturday night that kept us up. However, given the location that is probably to be expected.

Had we not had the experience with the painters and Management I would be rating the apartments higher. Unfortunately this let it down. Had we been told they were being painted and that our balcony would be painted we would have chosen not to stay there.

Room Tip: Check that no renovations are going on when you book an apartment. Also if you like to be close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a wonderful time at The Sands. Thanks lyn you were fantastic. Excellent rooms and location . We'll worth it. Room was huge with great views. Night markets a cross the road close to everything .will book this one again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendyaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

So convenient to Cavill Avenue. Stayed on 6th floor and had a fantastic view. Yes it was a little dated but clean and comfortable. Has all the facilities including cooking and washing you would require.Good clean comfortable bed. Value for money. Quiet even though the Esplanade was between us and the beach. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View. 6th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen1090656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceankade, Manager at The Sands Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you Karen for your kind review because it has been disappointing lately due to a bad young long term tenant and her domestic violence issues writing a number of bad reviews especially when she wasn't even a holiday guest and comments on my neat and trim uniform when she herself wore a uniform to work and commenting on a dvd player when there was no dvd player supplied for her long term tenancy. She was given all the correct 2 months notice to leave under our regulations.

I look forward to meeting you again and thanks very much appreciated. The weather is great at the moment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked 5 nights at The Sands in a 2 bedroom apartment on the sixth floor. The 120 degree ocean views are wonderful. The beds were lovely and comfortable. Some of the lounge furniture was a bit old but generally we were in heaven and increased our booking for another 2 nights. The evening night markets are just outside the door too - on 3 nights. And, of course, the beach is just over the road. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qaatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would rather pay a little more for a little better quality.
It is cheaper than many other apartments in the area; but it is in a good convenient location and has all the facilities we needed.
Not sure we would book this one again.
They were not particularly friendly.
Good spot and excellent view of the coast line.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarinnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#14 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing