We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointing”
Review of The Criterion

The Criterion
Ranked #7 of 195 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Yeppoon
1 review
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

While the meal was quick it was very disappointing. My steak was tough and was well done not medium rare as ordered. My husband ordered sausages. This was meant to come with gravy, mash and veges. There was no gravy and a small piece of pumpkin. We mentioned this to the waiter and asked for more vegetables and gravy. He didn't return. The sausages were meant to be 'criterion sausages'. They wee the cheap supermarket pork variety and a little sour. Our friend ordered lasagna. There was hardly any mince with some pasta layers having no mince. This was mentioned to the waiter who cleared the plates but was not acknowledged. We will not return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    79
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Interesting building”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The Cri sits opposite the Fitzroy River in Rocky. It wasn't busy on the Thursday night we visited. Bar and wait staff were very friendly. Meals were a good size and reasonably priced. The Rump steak was cooked as ordered and the crispy breast chicken while not crispy was good. Wine list limited but overall good value and we would visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimleyCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

brilliant old pub on teh water with great dteak at a reasonable price with old country Queensland style, got to eat good steak when in teh beff capital

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pre wedding gathering”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great atmosphere, good food, well located and easily handled our numbers on a Friday night that was clearly busy indicating its popularity

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best steaks!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the third time we have eaten at The Criterion and it was once again a fantastic meal. It was a very busy Saturday night but they found us a small table for two which was fine. Line up to order your meal moved fairly quickly and it only took half an hour for our meals to arrive. Our steaks were perfectly cooked as ordered and just melted in our mouth. A two man band started at about 9.30 and the whole place had a great atmosphere. Would definitely return for another mouth watering meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Criterion also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
 

Been to The Criterion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing