We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Criterion

The Criterion
Ranked #7 of 188 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We had been there 8yrs ago and knew when we visited Rockhampton we had to go again... Great atmosphere and a yummy dinner...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PetaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    70
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top bar/club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've not had food there. Live bands are great. It's worth popping in on a night out........................

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pub meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Went for dinner. It is what it is, a pub meal at a price a little above a pub meal. Chicken parmi was a bit dry, needed some actual sauce.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredndust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Pub rooms are very reasonably priced and represent times past. Friendly service & good food available at steakhouse

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank rowie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dreadfull steak not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We ate here Saturday night Feb 4.
Kahlee? at the order window was very helpful and friendly.
The unsmiling short hair red head at the drinks counter could not have been ruder. As I approached to order she decided to walk away and take some lemons out of a fridge. She tilted her head up as a replacement for asking what I wanted.
After I said "Thank You" for the drinks she placed the change on the counter and walked off without a word. If she has a problem at work or home she should look for work where contact with the public does not exist.
The steaks came fairly quickly - scotch fillet - cooked as ordered but extremely tough. chips were cold and salad limp. Mushroom gravy just a premix base and "find the mushies" the game of the night.
Very disappointing at $35 x 2 for the steak and $14 for 2 glasses of unmemorable wine.
Never again on our frwquent trips through Rocky to the Whitsundays.
Kaytee

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaytee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Criterion also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to The Criterion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing